Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Put simply O'Reillys Javascript book is The Bible
I bought this book two years ago because I was thinking of getting into the web development business. This is one of the most useful computer related books I have ever bought and now sits on my shelf looking battered and pawed, the way a good reference book should look!
Flanagan takes the reader from basic skills to more complicated stuff like building Crossbrowser...
Published on 17 May 2001 by polyp2000

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A thorough reference, but no good for learning JavaScript
This book is a very good reference, but like all books of this type, is a bit on the dry side. A lot more examples of database handling and interfacing with ASP wouldn't have gone amiss, but may be that's a whole new book.
Published on 10 July 2000 by Nicholas Moore


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Put simply O'Reillys Javascript book is The Bible, 17 May 2001
This review is from: Javascript: The Definitive Guide (Paperback)
I bought this book two years ago because I was thinking of getting into the web development business. This is one of the most useful computer related books I have ever bought and now sits on my shelf looking battered and pawed, the way a good reference book should look!
Flanagan takes the reader from basic skills to more complicated stuff like building Crossbrowser Sniffers. All of the examples in the book are of practical use and I found them useful building blocks to many of the early projects I have worked on.

The command reference is extremely thorough , and well documented. This is the only Javascript book you will ever need, and once your copy becomes battered and pawed like mine, the chances are you will have become an expert Javascript programmer.
Go buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good reference., 8 Nov. 2000
By 
Dewi Morgan (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Javascript: The Definitive Guide (Paperback)
As usual with O'Reilly, the book does just what it says on the cover. I am not often called upon to write anything complex in Javascript: I can usually use existing code, server-side perl, or Java. But since buying this book, I found that when I have needed to do something in Javascript, the information has been here, to hand. Unfortunately, it can sometimes take a while to find if you are not used to the way objects are organised in Javascript, and indeed to the way the book is organised. I suspect if you read the whole book rather than just dipping into it as I do, you would get a whole lot more mileage out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the Best and Only Javascript Reference you will need, 6 Sept. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Javascript: The Definitive Guide (Paperback)
I have hunted high and low for a good Javascript reference and most books came up extremely short, usually written by people who know it seems far less about the language than I did. One thing always missing from all the tutorials and docs I have collected is a definitive list of all the DOM elements and parameters you can set/read for each element. For ages I wanted to know how to check the resolution and window size of the client using my site, now I know. I have only used this book as a reference guide so far, but it is one of the best books I have ever bought, worth twice the cost. Some areas are a little sparce where I want to know more, but in general there is more here than you could ever need or find a reason to use, cover both Netscape and IE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Javascript Reference!, 12 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Javascript: The Definitive Guide (Paperback)
This book is a perfect reference for Javascript. It covers every necessary part of the Javascript language, and its statement & function reference section is perfect for looking up the syntax of a particular command, finding out variable names, checking which browsers a particular command is available in and more. This book is a Javascript programmers bible, always to hand to remind of of any command, syntax etc that you forget! Well worth it. Well done O'Reilly, another quality reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent reference (if you already know JavaScript), 26 Jun. 2000
This review is from: Javascript: The Definitive Guide (Paperback)
An excellent and comprehensive reference. Almost the definitive reference. I use this book almost every day at work. However I would not recommend it to anyone new to programming or JavaScript.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indespensible part of any JavaScript programmers library, 27 Feb. 2000
By 
David Woakes (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Javascript: The Definitive Guide (Paperback)
This isn't necessarily the best book to learn JavaScript, but it contains good working detail on what is available generally and covers both Microsoft and Netscape variations.
It is written in a clear concise manner that demonstatrates why buying O'Reilly computer books is always a good idea when building a library of reference material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Reference, 12 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Javascript: The Definitive Guide (Paperback)
I own three JavaScript books - this one, JavaScript Pocket Reference (by the same author) and Designing with JavaScript by Nick Heinle. Of the three, The Definitive Guide is very much that - a reference book. It is *not* a book for the beginner unless that beginner is already a programmer. (You want Nick Heinle's book for this). I tend to use the Pocket Reference for quick checks on syntax, but The Definitive Guide remains my JavaScript "bible". It is not a light read but when you really want the nitty-gritty details, this is the book that you should be reading. The fifth star is lost from my rating due to the rather heavy style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introduction and reference for Javascript, 14 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Javascript: The Definitive Guide (Paperback)
Probably the only Javascript book that you'll need for a long time. If you have programming experience and some understanding of object models then there should be almost nothing here that you won't understand and nothing outside of this book that you'll need. One of the best in the O'reilly series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for any programmer who is a JScript beginner, 25 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Javascript: The Definitive Guide (Paperback)
Don't buy this book if you are not comfortable with Visual Basic or a modern object orientated programming language. If you are, then this is a great way to learn JavaScript. The strength of the book is that it gives you a thorough grounding in the language before looking at how to use it on web pages. The language is very flexible and you can do most things in three or four ways; in order to be able to read other people's code examples, you need to know how to read the whole language. The book would benefit from more examples, but I cannot think of anything I would leave out from the current book to make room for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book. Is what it says it is., 22 Aug. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Javascript: The Definitive Guide (Paperback)
Long is the way and hard that out of hell leads up to light. This book was the answer to my prayers in my last job. It is logical, clear, concise, and yet at the same time complete. It is well written, and takes pains to point out the crucial little things that most other books leave out. Like setting up the correct mime-types before using .js files. That little problem stumped me for ages until this book arrived and I found the answer within a day of opening it.
Buy this book. Read and memorise this book. All of it. It contains nothing that is redundant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Javascript: The Definitive Guide
Javascript: The Definitive Guide by David Flanagan (Paperback - 11 Jun. 1998)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews