Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WARNING about misleading reviews
This is not a review of the content of Foxe's Book of Martyrs (which is excellent). It is rather a warning to potential purchasers: please note that Amazon has copied reviews that rightly relate only to a specific edition across several different editions.

Furthermore, the "Search Inside" feature shows inaccurate views of some editions (for example, at the...
Published on 21 July 2007 by Tim

versus
32 of 40 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a good edition
My rating relates solely to the edition, and not to the content. Foxe's work is such a classic that no review would do it justice. Unfortunately, this edition doesn't do it justice either. There is absolutely no editorial material, so it's impossible to know whether the editor has made changes. The language has obviously been modernised, but there are no indications of...
Published on 2 Dec. 2002 by B. Tovey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WARNING about misleading reviews, 21 July 2007
By 
Tim (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not a review of the content of Foxe's Book of Martyrs (which is excellent). It is rather a warning to potential purchasers: please note that Amazon has copied reviews that rightly relate only to a specific edition across several different editions.

Furthermore, the "Search Inside" feature shows inaccurate views of some editions (for example, at the time of writing, a view of Kessinger's edition is incorrectly shown for both Ambassador Publications' and Hendrickson Christian Classics' editions).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "MUST" READ, 23 Oct. 2014
By 
Gillibe (West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read Foxe' s Book of Martyrs many years ago, I wanted to purchase a copy for a dear Christian friend whose surname is Fox!
First of all be careful of who you order from as the one you will receive is not necessarily the one you think you ordered!! The edition I have just been sent from World of Books seems to be an abridged, abridged version and does not contain many of the writings I particularly would like my friend to read. Having said that, World of Books have given me a refund but I presume that as I subscribe to Amazon Prime, the total amount I paid was little more. They were pretty fair in that they have let me keep the book so I can't really complain. I have now ordered again from the Book Depository Ltd., in the hope I get what I have ordered.
Having now had a gripe over editions (!), this book is an absolute "must" for Bible believing Christians. I challenge anyone to deny that these people were not given strength from God to endure the atrocities they went through by the vilest of fellow human beings for the sake of their faith. I only hope and pray I would have their courage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars every Christian should read this, 12 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a list of many persecutions suffered by true Christians by the hands of pagans and Catholics, including detailed descriptions of agonizing tortures and triumphant deaths of many martyrs.
The descriptions are sometimes so detailed that it makes it a very difficult book to read: Foxe really brings you there and you can feel the smell of burnt flesh, sometimes so much so that it makes it a disturbing read at times.
However, these episodes perfectly portray what true followers of Jesus suffered from impostors, a message of vital importance that many people nowadays don't want to hear, in the name of ecumenical togetherness .
Many Roman Catholic apologists, along with liberal theologians, have tried their best to discredit it, but this monumental work still stands, as a stark reminder of what really lies behind the teachings of popery .
All the people who believe that the Roman Catholic Church is a legitimate Christian denomination should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The 16th century at its most vivid and horrible., 12 Nov. 2011
I read this book in abridged form, and in parts, a long time ago.
This paperback version is the unabridged version of the original abridged mini-version, that needs stating.
The buyer must be aware of several points (do excuse all this if you are a historian):
1) The story narrated is savage, horrifying, and to the modern mind almost sick
2) It is from the point of view of a 16th century Protestant with a deep detestation of Rome--
expect propaganda and passion, not objectivity
3) Nevetheless the content, as to names, places and dates, has been shown to be researched and
essentially accurate. How exactly Foxe came by all this information would make a book in itself
4) If you have any feeling for either history or religion you will be disturbed
5) If the text isn't too edited and updated it will be in the English of Cranmer and Shakespeare--
though some would be fascinated by that;
6) From the ages of Elizabeth I that of Tom Paine in the 1790s it was read by more Englishmen that
anything but the Bible and the Book of Common Prayer.
None but the narrowest Protestant could call Foxe enjoyable, but he is significant.
But again--not for the squeamish--whether you "squeam" about religious bias, religious persecution, or sheer cruelty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 40 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a good edition, 2 Dec. 2002
By 
B. Tovey (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
My rating relates solely to the edition, and not to the content. Foxe's work is such a classic that no review would do it justice. Unfortunately, this edition doesn't do it justice either. There is absolutely no editorial material, so it's impossible to know whether the editor has made changes. The language has obviously been modernised, but there are no indications of how the text has been changed. The print and paper are not good quality either - it looks rather more like a cheap thriller you'd pick up at a train station than a serious work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "...play the man; we shall this day light such a candle by God's grace in England as I trust never shall be put out.", 17 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Be of good comfort, Mr. Ridley, and play the man; we shall this day light such a candle by God's grace in England as I trust never shall be put out." The 2002 Ambassador Books reprint looks to be a victorian condensed edition with information added about Piedmont, the cause of the poem by Milton. Foxe's Book of Martyrs, sometimes called Fox's Acts and Monuments, may not be suitable for children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Foxes book of Martyrs, 26 April 2011
This review is from: Foxe's Book of Martyrs (Hendrickson Christian Classics) (Hardcover)
Foxes book of Martyrs is a very challenging book to all readers. It details the suffering's of many martyrs down through history, who refused to deny the Lord Jesus Christ or accept any compromise.
Today in this world of compromise, I recomend every person to read this book and examine their own life to see whether they are truly in the faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Non-Fiction, 31 Dec. 2012
By 
Mr. G. Johns "Master Mason 6407" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I only bought this book as a reference, as I'm reading for a History Degree. I'm finding it somewhat boring, and am only glad I'm not a Roman Catholic, else I'd be having nightmares over some of the text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be passed out at churches, 6 Dec. 1997
By A Customer
This book should be read by everyone who calls themselves "Christian."Anytime I get to feeling life is too tough,and I start feeling like God isn't close,this book and the book of Job are the books to get me back to reality.When you read the book of martyrs and you read the horrible ways these Christians were tortured and killed you realize you have no reason to complain and every reason to be thankful.Thankful not only to Jesus Christ and the apostles, but to the Christians all over the world who are being killed every day for the Gospel.If you have ever wondered how the apostles died, this book tells you.Incidentally, John was the only apostle who died of old age.Humbling and educational
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book of Martyrs, 15 Feb. 2012
By 
D. Johnston (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Book arrived in good condition. As an ancester of my husband's is mentioned in the book it was great to be able to buy a copy for prosperity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Foxe's Book of Martyrs (Hendrickson Christian Classics)
Foxe's Book of Martyrs (Hendrickson Christian Classics) by John Foxe (Hardcover - 18 Nov. 2005)
£8.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews