Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best on this subject..
This is a very good book. The author has some very good principles and structures and makes it easy to read. It is one of those books where you read and you know the author knows what he is talking about. You will learn alot from this book. I dont get people who write massively long reviews about all the contents in books all i can say is if your into this subject buy...
Published on 3 Sept. 2008 by bookreader

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you have to choose ...
Let's face it; money's tight for most of us. You'll see this book and also his later The Science of Influence: How to Get Anyone to Say Yes in 8 Minutes or Less!. If you want to buy one, go for the newer book. It's better written, more authoritative and less cheesy.
Mike Clayton, author of Brilliant Influence: What the Most Influential People Know, Do and Say.
Published on 11 Nov. 2010 by Dr. M. Clayton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best on this subject.., 3 Sept. 2008
By 
This review is from: The Psychology of Persuasion: How to Persuade Others to Your Way of Thinking (Hardcover)
This is a very good book. The author has some very good principles and structures and makes it easy to read. It is one of those books where you read and you know the author knows what he is talking about. You will learn alot from this book. I dont get people who write massively long reviews about all the contents in books all i can say is if your into this subject buy it and find out some good techniques top proffessionals use eveywhere. This is one of the best selling books on this subject and you will see why. Buy this and Robert Cialdini's psychology of persuasion ( this is a must for anyone interested in this subject ) because it is the bible of all persuasion books and you will learn the best information there is out there. Hogans book uses alot of Cialdinis theories aswell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If you have to choose ..., 11 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Psychology of Persuasion: How to Persuade Others to Your Way of Thinking (Hardcover)
Let's face it; money's tight for most of us. You'll see this book and also his later The Science of Influence: How to Get Anyone to Say Yes in 8 Minutes or Less!. If you want to buy one, go for the newer book. It's better written, more authoritative and less cheesy.
Mike Clayton, author of Brilliant Influence: What the Most Influential People Know, Do and Say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great addition on the subject of persuasion., 3 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Psychology of Persuasion: How to Persuade Others to Your Way of Thinking (Hardcover)
This is my 2nd or maybe 3rd book on the subject. Its useful to learn to be persuasive and to learn when such tools are being used on you!

Unlike other books this one stood out because not only did it cover the major aspects of persuasive techniques it also provided a framework of how they can be applied through the 'Paradigm of Persuasion'. This does help you to understand how persuasion techniques can be applied to an even greater level of effectiveness.

The book manages to cover all the major topics in the field and is a bit more of a how-to book than others that are available. What I also liked about this book was that it provided a few good example scenarios of the "Master Persuader" and how one would apply said techniques. Overall the book is well written and concise and most importantly it delivers.

A downside to the book is that it does seem to be oriented towards consultative salespeople and I am concerned that this might deter people from what is otherwise a very good book. And what you learn from it can be applied to nearly all social interactions from motivating family or dealing with co-workers. Assuming you take the time to practice it.

While the book does provide great tips, it is however much harder to apply "on-the-fly" without a lot of experience and practice. If however you are a salesperson these techniques would be really valuable in developing a sales pitch or sales script. For everyone else I'm afraid its going to be a little more involved to practice in real life situations.

However, the best thing about this book is that it highlights the techniques so well that you develop an awareness of when these techniques are being used on you. This was the case with me, only a few days after finishing this book I was approached by agressive charity workers that bombarded me with a few techniques including the law of reciprocity, the law of social proof, and the law of consistency. It was a first hand experience of how powerful these techniques were and how difficult it was to say no. However the awareness that this book brings you allows you to develop a conscious choice rather than a psychological and mechanical YES. So this is where the book shines and provides a great deal of value for the reader.

If you're a salesperson (I'm not) or a person thats just looking to be a little more persuasive, or even just a person whose tired of being manipulated by persuasive people, this is a great book and a welcome addition to anyones collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read for all - Spot the tricks used on you, 10 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Psychology of Persuasion: How to Persuade Others to Your Way of Thinking (Hardcover)
This is definitely one of my better purchases. Insightful, well explained and presented with an excellent structure. And if that didn't warm the cockles of your heart - Kevin Hogan also approaches the idea of persuasion from a moral and positive PoV. His fundamental principle is 'WIN/WIN' - How to ensure a situaiton benefits both parties. A handy little thing to keep in the back of your mind... "am I benefitting enough for what I'm being requested?", "can I sway the other person with a more certain WIN?"

So am I writing to tell you all how, using the tactics in this book, I single-handedly convinced the Government to put £1 million of tax-payers money towards Neopolitan ice cream? No. In fact, I've barely used the tactics at all (I may have used some without knowing, but that's not particularly helpful). I don't work in a field requiring selling/persuasion and generally aren't in a position where I need to persuade peers to my way of thinking... So why the glimmering review? What results could I possibly have seen? (After all, results are what matters with books like these - it's all well having a nice theory, but it needs to work!)

Simple - I have saved myself a ton of time, money and hassle by spotting the times when these very same tactics are being used against me.

Y'see - Even if you don't intend to use the tactics for your own purposes, it pays off to arm yourself with this knowledge. Knowing how the media, con artists and companies will attempt to sway you, will allow you to become resistent to their tricks and spot them before you end up signing your life away... something well worth the price of the book.

To read this is a bit like equipping yourself with a 'persuasion radar'... you suddenly start becoming aware of tricks being used against you. Even if you cannot identify them immediately, you still get a funny feeling telling that something's wrong. I've had it several times, where I've rejected a seemingly logical and fair deal because something didn't sit right. On referring to the book later on, I generally found it was one of the tactics - almost word for word.

So whilst I can't accurately comment on the effectiveness of the materials - What I will say is that this pretty much covers every trick in the proverbial book, and gives you several real-life examples of how each is used. It also brings in elements of sociology, psychology and non-verbal communication - which is always handy

To be honest though, I can't see why this wouldn't be a brilliant study-aid to those who want to use the materials inside. The structure is very well laid out (Splitting up the persuasion process into its vital elements) and you're given several examples and exercises to help practice and ingrain the ideas for your own purposes. Whilst I haven't had a chance to put these to rigorous testing - the fact that I've seen all the tactics he's outlined at least hints he knows what he's talking about!

Peace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Power of the brain, 24 July 2009
By 
L. Blair "LB" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Psychology of Persuasion: How to Persuade Others to Your Way of Thinking (Hardcover)
a good book, quite concise with reminder points after each chapter. handy for those seeking to influence people and understand how peoples minds work and what their motivating factors are.

putting it into practice however, is another thing altogether. but still a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be Persuasive or Persuaded, 29 Mar. 2005
By 
Elliott Wald (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Psychology of Persuasion: How to Persuade Others to Your Way of Thinking (Hardcover)
Awesome, Kevin really nails the art of communicating, persuassion really works.
We can't not communicate, the psychology of persuasion is the tool to use, to enhance your ability to persuade and how to defect negative persuaders.
You have a choice influence or be influenced, the great structure of the book allows you to specifically apply this stuff to your every day communication.
Elliott Wald (London UK) Psychology of Persuasion Licencee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Actually, it's the psychology of persuasion + sociology, 2 Nov. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Psychology of Persuasion: How to Persuade Others to Your Way of Thinking (Hardcover)
With regard to sales, you get a reserve of persuasive vocabary from which you can choose to build a very effective pitch. He uses sociology in a large amount to help guide your approach to certain sectors of the population. The latter really helps those more in the marketing/ad. realm. The goal-setting section and the OBT are exemplary for people like you and me who get lost without having a hold on what you ACTUALLY WANT from life. YES! SAY IT! Following those principles WILL make you look important AND powerful to others. The latter part of the book, which relies heavily on NLP is a nice summary of the books INSTANT RAPPORT (Rob. Brooks) and SELLING THE WAY YOUR CUSTOMER BUYS(Sadovsky, Marvin). I gave it a 4 because I'm still stuck on the latter books in relation to my job & life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Psychology of Persuasion: How to Persuade Others to Your Way of Thinking
£18.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews