Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent starter book
The book met all my expectations, it has a number of projects which are explained in good detail and written in a manner which is easy to read and in places comical. I highly recommend this book for anyone of any age who wants to learn the basics on whittling.
Published 15 months ago by paul t

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok....i guess
I bought this to add to my small collection of wood carving/whittling books. I guess it's a light hearted introduction to using a knife to carve wood into pretty basic objects. I have to say most the objects will be of no interest if you're over the age of 8. Some of them are quite nice, like the spoon I guess. I was pretty disappointed that in some of the tutorials he...
Published 1 month ago by M Davidson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent starter book, 26 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Book of Whittling, The (Woodcarving Illustrated Books) (Paperback)
The book met all my expectations, it has a number of projects which are explained in good detail and written in a manner which is easy to read and in places comical. I highly recommend this book for anyone of any age who wants to learn the basics on whittling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy Gloves, 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Book of Whittling, The (Woodcarving Illustrated Books) (Paperback)
Whittling is a great little past time. Fun and easy enough but remember to buy a good pair of gloves as there is a good chance you will have a V shaped cut in your thumb. 2 of my friends have had stitches this week and I've had a hook knife trying to remove skin.

Anyway the book is great and gives some lovely ideas on how to, what to, and what to look for...
You don't need all the whittling kit that Amazon will tell you need. A good blade. I use my Mora knife and a Spoon knife (hook knife) and works fine for most things.
Spoons are great for making around the camp fire. Worth getting a small folding hand saw.

Book came the next day. It is what it is really a book on whittling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect 'non-screeen' gift, 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Book of Whittling, The (Woodcarving Illustrated Books) (Paperback)
Gave away 4 of these books over Christmas to recipients ageing from 10 to 50 - all received it with delight and intrigue. The projects inside vary from quick and easy to complex. Makes you want to pick up your pen-knife and have a go. Over Christmas it proved to be the perfect antidote to the sea of electronic screen-based devices. Definitely recommendable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Pastime, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Book of Whittling, The (Woodcarving Illustrated Books) (Paperback)
Started messing about carving a piece of a branch which I then turned into an animal. This started off my interest in whittling and then I found this book which had great reviews. Very helpful with great hints on techniques and full of ideas. A must for anyone wanting to take up this hobby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Book of Whittling, The (Woodcarving Illustrated Books) (Paperback)
Whittling away the hours, more fun than I realised. Stopped teenage son using his i pad to come back to nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book!, 18 Sept. 2013
By 
Mr. G. Keefe (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Book of Whittling, The (Woodcarving Illustrated Books) (Paperback)
This book is brilliant! Loads of attention to detail and well written throughout. When reading it feels like the author is talking to you, really engages with the reader. Lots of good pictures, tips and ideas. Will buy more of his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars whittling for fun, 14 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Book of Whittling, The (Woodcarving Illustrated Books) (Paperback)
My friend for whom the book was a gift thought it was very informative with a subtle hint of humour wich she just loved
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for the wistle., 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Book of Whittling, The (Woodcarving Illustrated Books) (Paperback)
Made the whistle from an apple breach trimming. My 6 Yr. old was exceedingly happy. Need to use seasoned wood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool, 5 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Book of Whittling, The (Woodcarving Illustrated Books) (Paperback)
Had a look through it and like it. Gift for Christmas bought along with opinel knife. Delivery was quick. Makes a great gift
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for the carver and whittler, 3 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Book of Whittling, The (Woodcarving Illustrated Books) (Paperback)
Being a carver and Whittler for 40 years or more, I found it very informative, and has given me lots more ideas, the illustrations are clear, and shown stage by stag
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Book of Whittling, The (Woodcarving Illustrated Books)
Little Book of Whittling, The (Woodcarving Illustrated Books) by Chris Lubkemann (Paperback - 25 Jan. 2013)
£7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews