Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars from the experts
It is a great book, I've never done any scrolling before but am fairly good in using power tools.
Even when the description was gettig technical I understood what was going on.
It gives a good overview of all the techniques used with a scroll i.e puzzles + toys, inlays + reliefs, baskets + boxes, intarsia + segmentation, fretwork, portraits, materials other than...
Published on 18 Jan. 2012 by lu

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not verry good
Quality was good and so were the pattern designs but i do not recommend this book for british scrollers as the book only gives the american sizes of woods and all of the woods are not available in britain and i'm still looking for substitute woods to carry out the projects.
Published 23 months ago by peter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars from the experts, 18 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Big Book of Scroll Saw Woodworking (Best of Scroll Saw Woodworking & Crafts Magazine) (Paperback)
It is a great book, I've never done any scrolling before but am fairly good in using power tools.
Even when the description was gettig technical I understood what was going on.
It gives a good overview of all the techniques used with a scroll i.e puzzles + toys, inlays + reliefs, baskets + boxes, intarsia + segmentation, fretwork, portraits, materials other than wood and my favourit compound cutting.
The first chapter is about all the tips and tricks i.e. different woods, the blades, finishings followed by easy to do pattern.
It was definiely worth buying.
Even in the projects I will not do for now (maybe never like portraits)) are full of helpful tips and tricks.
And with a bit of time I will be able to make my own pattern.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scroll Saw, 15 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Book of Scroll Saw Woodworking (Best of Scroll Saw Woodworking & Crafts Magazine) (Paperback)
An ideal book for the guidance of experienced woodworkers trying scroll saw activities, and like myself, for the first time. My interest specifically relkated to the types of blade that can be used to style objects being produced, `this book is quite revealing in this respect and I now possess a much more clear understanding of what respective scroll saw blades can do and hoiwm best to select the best blade for the project in hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars big book of scroll saw woodworking, 8 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Book of Scroll Saw Woodworking (Best of Scroll Saw Woodworking & Crafts Magazine) (Paperback)
good book with plenty of patterns for novice and advanced scroller.easy shapes at
the front then harder as you progress
novice scroller des
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful book, 5 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Book of Scroll Saw Woodworking (Best of Scroll Saw Woodworking & Crafts Magazine) (Paperback)
Nice book to get me started on using a scrollsaw. Yet to use it properly, but does appear to have lots of projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars woodworking book for my husband, 12 May 2014
This review is from: Big Book of Scroll Saw Woodworking (Best of Scroll Saw Woodworking & Crafts Magazine) (Paperback)
His comments - this is an excellent book giving me just the information I was seeking and containing some very good designs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Starts you in the right direction., 17 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Book of Scroll Saw Woodworking (Best of Scroll Saw Woodworking & Crafts Magazine) (Paperback)
Well written, starting with the basics, such as describing what each type of blade is used for. How to make turns when cutting and how to place your hands on the material you are cutting. There are about 60 projects and each is supported by drawings and each project is explained in detail. If you are thinking of getting into scroll sawing this is a great book to start with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Big Book of Scroll Saw Woodworking, 4 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Book of Scroll Saw Woodworking (Best of Scroll Saw Woodworking & Crafts Magazine) (Paperback)
A very good book for the beginner, providing many different techniques of scroll work with very clear instructions. Good product worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Scroll saw Woodworking, 12 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Book of Scroll Saw Woodworking (Best of Scroll Saw Woodworking & Crafts Magazine) (Paperback)
This book has some excellent starter ideas for the scroll saw, and makes the reader aware of all sorts of follow-on possibilities!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 28 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Book of Scroll Saw Woodworking (Best of Scroll Saw Woodworking & Crafts Magazine) (Paperback)
Love it great help to a beginner need all the help I can get woodturning trying scroll saw new challenger
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great bok for the beginner, 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Book of Scroll Saw Woodworking (Best of Scroll Saw Woodworking & Crafts Magazine) (Paperback)
Very useful book for the beginner, saved me buying the wrong equipment and blades. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Big Book of Scroll Saw Woodworking (Best of Scroll Saw Woodworking & Crafts Magazine)
Big Book of Scroll Saw Woodworking (Best of Scroll Saw Woodworking & Crafts Magazine) by Editors of Scroll Saw Woodworking & Crafts Magazine (Paperback - 1 Jan. 2009)
£15.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews