Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars complete and essential
Information and illustrations are very thorough, complete, easy to understand. Essential book for all levels - beginners to experienced craftsmen, from students to veterans in design. The title is misleading (in a good sense) because this book is not just about cabinet making, there are sections for doors, tables, beds and boxes. I would highly recommend this book to...
Published on 14 Dec 2010 by Maria Gaston

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cabinet Making
I would say it is an average book, the instruction are limited and not always very clear. The drawings in some cases have been squashed in so that it makes it difficult to understand them. Not for the absolute beginner.
Published on 1 Feb 2012 by Rick


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars complete and essential, 14 Dec 2010
By 
Maria Gaston "cg113" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Cabinetmaking: How to Design and Construct Furniture That Works (Paperback)
Information and illustrations are very thorough, complete, easy to understand. Essential book for all levels - beginners to experienced craftsmen, from students to veterans in design. The title is misleading (in a good sense) because this book is not just about cabinet making, there are sections for doors, tables, beds and boxes. I would highly recommend this book to anyone interested in furniture design and construction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of joints - some experience needed, but that's fine, 1 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Cabinetmaking: How to Design and Construct Furniture That Works (Paperback)
This US book is split into two major parts.

The first part covers just about every kind of wood joint you can think of, along with examples of use and strengths/weaknesses (literally). You should be able to construct most joints with a router or by hand (some are a bit complicated though).

The latter part of the book provides many kinds of examples of tables, chairs, book cases, wardrobes and even beds. While not providing specific dimensions and so on, it gives a clear method for designing to the "average" sized human.

As a bonus it describes the various kinds of styles, e.g. "Shaker" and "Queen Anne" amongst many others. That in itself is useful if you're looking at antiques and ever wonder why they are called what they are.

It is more of a "source book" of ideas than a book of blue-prints. If you can draw and think, it is possible to work out dimensions and the build order if required. However because it is not a cut-by-cut or pin-by-pin book, it's not fully for beginners, but that's fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good informative book, 2 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Cabinetmaking: How to Design and Construct Furniture That Works (Paperback)
The book is a good source of information with lots of clear professional drawings but it is not for the absolute novice with no knowledge of woodworking. After reading it, you'll find that it can also be a good reference book that you will use alot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cabinet Making, 1 Feb 2012
This review is from: Illustrated Cabinetmaking: How to Design and Construct Furniture That Works (Paperback)
I would say it is an average book, the instruction are limited and not always very clear. The drawings in some cases have been squashed in so that it makes it difficult to understand them. Not for the absolute beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rattling good read, 19 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Cabinetmaking: How to Design and Construct Furniture That Works (Paperback)
This book is going to help me a great deal. I am new to this type of working with wood and was unsure where to start. The detail in the book will help me plan and be realistic about what my skill level is. I'm looking forward to trying to produce something, who knows it might even look something like illustrations in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great even for beginner, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Cabinetmaking: How to Design and Construct Furniture That Works (Paperback)
This book isn't as much a guide, as it is a book where you can get some ideas to improve your projects. It holds a lot of different designs of closets, tables,...and also an import section about joinery, which i found extremely usefull!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 26 Dec 2012
This review is from: Illustrated Cabinetmaking: How to Design and Construct Furniture That Works (Paperback)
Endless project ideas with exploded views of construction and detailed explanation. From stools to book cases. Superb quality detail. This will sit on my shelf in my workshop and be used constantly. My only worry is that as it's paperback it may not stand the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Sep 2012
By 
Mr. P. A. Bryant "Tut" (Bassettlaw / Notts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Cabinetmaking: How to Design and Construct Furniture That Works (Paperback)
I have been making furniture for quite a number of years and I have nearly worn this book out, through use I might add.
It lives in my workshop as a quick reference guide. It is very well put together and comprehensive, Excellent Book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cabinet making, 25 May 2012
By 
A. Cunningham (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Cabinetmaking: How to Design and Construct Furniture That Works (Paperback)
a very informed book, worth every penny, clear diagrams, great reference material, wriitten for american market but still very relevent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great book and illustrated beautifully, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Illustrated Cabinetmaking: How to Design and Construct Furniture That Works (Paperback)
This is a great book and illustrated beautifully, would recommend even if just to own it and not use the plans.

I should also point out that this book is based more around inspiring you than giving you direct measurements and instructions to build something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Illustrated Cabinetmaking: How to Design and Construct Furniture That Works
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews