Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wood chipper
Excellent beginers guide to spoiling wood. I found the patterns and instructions helpfull for my first venture into wood carving and i am pleased with the results. The photographs and detailed guide were a major contributor to my first neraly succesfull project. Without this book i would not have had a clue where to start. A good buy and a good reference book for my...
Published on 19 Dec 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Carving Gargoyles
I have other Shawn Cipa books and bought this one as I have an interest in carving gargoyles. The books well written with a decent historic patter about gargoyles. The step by step pictures are also excellent. My only problem with this book is that it seems to be aimed only at those with access to a bandsaw. I would have liked to have seen a gargoyle carved from a log...
Published on 6 Oct 2009 by Mr. Craig Harris


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Carving Gargoyles, 6 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Carving Gargoyles, Grotesques, and Other Creatures of Myth (Paperback)
I have other Shawn Cipa books and bought this one as I have an interest in carving gargoyles. The books well written with a decent historic patter about gargoyles. The step by step pictures are also excellent. My only problem with this book is that it seems to be aimed only at those with access to a bandsaw. I would have liked to have seen a gargoyle carved from a log or block of wood without the need for any pre-cutting with power tools. Sayiong that, it is only my opinion and there are plenty of pictures to possibly copy and tryout myself. Over all this is another good book by Shawn and I shall try one regardless of having no access to a bandsaw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wood chipper, 19 Dec 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (west yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carving Gargoyles, Grotesques, and Other Creatures of Myth (Paperback)
Excellent beginers guide to spoiling wood. I found the patterns and instructions helpfull for my first venture into wood carving and i am pleased with the results. The photographs and detailed guide were a major contributor to my first neraly succesfull project. Without this book i would not have had a clue where to start. A good buy and a good reference book for my library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carving Gargoyles, 10 Sep 2010
This review is from: Carving Gargoyles, Grotesques, and Other Creatures of Myth (Paperback)
The book is fantstic, an ideal source of information and inspiration. The guides are easy to follow and you can produce really detailed carvings from it, an important addition to your book collection. The carving produced by following the book is really effective and there are many more to come. I would encourage everyone to purchase this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First Class Gargoyle, 7 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carving Gargoyles, Grotesques, and Other Creatures of Myth (Paperback)
This is a first class book for any one contemplating carving a Gargoyle the plates are of good quality with a first class write up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking Book, 5 Feb 2011
This review is from: Carving Gargoyles, Grotesques, and Other Creatures of Myth (Paperback)
A really good book to learn how to carve gargoyles in wood easy to understand nice diagrams and clear photographs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Like a cookery book, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carving Gargoyles, Grotesques, and Other Creatures of Myth (Paperback)
Books like this are a bit like cookery books; you buy them, read through them then rarely do you try the projects out or at least not as presented. They are great as sources of inspiration and encouragement; that said it's worth buying for that reason alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carving Gargoyles, Grotesques, and Other Creatures of Myth (Paperback)
Step by step guides on carving gargoyles in the round. Buy it before you buy the wood. I didn't realise it but there is often the need for a band saw to cut the basic shape from the wood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars diy, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carving Gargoyles, Grotesques, and Other Creatures of Myth (Paperback)
A realy good book for a new starter in wood work has a realy good history about gargyles and how to make them if you want to do something differnt this book is for you!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great designs, mainly (as mentioned) for bandsaw owners though., 15 April 2013
By 
ric03 (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carving Gargoyles, Grotesques, and Other Creatures of Myth (Paperback)
As another reviewer mentioned, you will need a bandsaw to get the most out of this book. Whereas many books are filled with simpler carvings you can get around (with a jigsaw or chisels), with a couple of more advanced projects, these are mainly intricate 3D designs, that are blanked out by bandsaw in the book. There are a couple you can have a go at, but I think the rest would be difficult.

The book itself is full of beautiful photos and some very good designs. As I say, it is more intermediate than beginner, but will give you a great step up to more complicated projects when you're ready for it (and serve as an excellent inspirational resource in the mean time). It also has a fairly lengthy (for this type of book) history about gargoyles, but once that is over you're straight into the practical side.

Note: Be sure, also, to check out Chris Pye's videos on his website. For about a fiver a month you can access a very good range of HD content, which I have found as helpful as anything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Gothic Gargoyles, 9 Nov 2012
By 
Karen (Basingstoke, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carving Gargoyles, Grotesques, and Other Creatures of Myth (Paperback)
The diagrams and carving instructions are clear and easy to follow in this book as with all Shawn Cipra books but what I particularly loved is that these are proper,authentic ugly gargoyles and grotesques not some Disney version. If you're into carving serious mythological creatures than I'd recommend this book - if you want cutesy figures look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carving Gargoyles, Grotesques, and Other Creatures of Myth
Carving Gargoyles, Grotesques, and Other Creatures of Myth by Shawn Cipa (Paperback - 7 July 2009)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews