Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely little book
It's not a carving book. It's a whittling book. These are little things that you can sit and whittle in your garden, on a picnic, round a campfire.

Nicely laid out and explained. Loads of information but delivered in a style that means the stuff you need is easy to pick out.

He just goes to show that when carving and whittling a small simple knife is...
Published on 13 April 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK could be better
not as good as I thought it would be.Hoped for more advanced bits will still use it but not the best
Published 6 months ago by Mrs Louise A Green


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely little book, 13 April 2009
This review is from: Little Book of Whittling: Passing Time on the Trail, on the Porch, and Under the Stars (Paperback)
It's not a carving book. It's a whittling book. These are little things that you can sit and whittle in your garden, on a picnic, round a campfire.

Nicely laid out and explained. Loads of information but delivered in a style that means the stuff you need is easy to pick out.

He just goes to show that when carving and whittling a small simple knife is all you need. Plus the wood of course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Whittling Review, 22 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. B. Campbell "WoodChip" (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Book of Whittling: Passing Time on the Trail, on the Porch, and Under the Stars (Paperback)
For someone new to whittling, or an experienced carver who needs a refresher course, or fresh ideas, this book is is an ideal fix. It gives the novice all the basics, and the intermediate, new ideas and, maybe a different perspective.
Certainly a choice for a little light reading, which opens up options
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars whittling book, 3 Oct 2009
By 
Tracie King - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Book of Whittling: Passing Time on the Trail, on the Porch, and Under the Stars (Paperback)
nice little book on whittling wood, step by step colour photos show you how it's done. Also advice on types of wood and other woodworking tips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant book, 21 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Book of Whittling: Passing Time on the Trail, on the Porch, and Under the Stars (Paperback)
What a brilliant informative book. Bought for my son explains the art of whittling simply describes best equipment were to buy and step by step instructions to get started. My son loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellint little book with lots of good ideas, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Book of Whittling: Passing Time on the Trail, on the Porch, and Under the Stars (Paperback)
The book is full of good little projects that I found relaxing to do .. sort of thing to happily pass an hour or so .... will be even nicer to do outside in the summer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whittling, 20 Oct 2011
This review is from: Little Book of Whittling: Passing Time on the Trail, on the Porch, and Under the Stars (Paperback)
little Book of Whittling was a gift for my Husband. He think's it is great!
I just have to clean the bits up!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Penknife Heaven!, 26 Aug 2010
By 
Mary Fitzgerald (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Book of Whittling: Passing Time on the Trail, on the Porch, and Under the Stars (Paperback)
I purchased this book to give some ideas to two 12 year old boys who visited me during this summer holidays. Both had asked for penknives from their respective parents, who were a little unsure. I did lots of whittling at that age, mostly at Guide Camps! I showed them how to hold their blades and ran through a few basic elfin safety rules, pointed them in the direction of the woodpile and left them to it! After several hours both had produced a fairly decent paperknife, I was impressed with the concentration and effort - most kids that age won't sit still and do practical things for long "I'm bored with this, is it my turn on the computer yet" etc are the usual cries! All in all a jolly good little book, well worth the £, I'd recommend this to adults and children alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great little beginners book, 28 Jun 2009
This review is from: Little Book of Whittling: Passing Time on the Trail, on the Porch, and Under the Stars (Paperback)
Great book for beginners with easy to follow photos, though things always seem easier than they are so will take a bit of practice to perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple Inspiration, 25 Aug 2012
By 
C. Verspeak "f*" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Book of Whittling: Passing Time on the Trail, on the Porch, and Under the Stars (Paperback)
I'm really pleased with this book.

There's a really short introduction to the author and the topic and some advice on tools and materials, then its straight in to the projects. Very little fuss, just lots of ideas of things to do with wood and a knife.

There are lots of different things to make. From toppers for walking sticks to knives, forks, and spoons, as well as ornamental flowers and trees. Each guide is accompanied by lots of clear colour photos and the writing is concise and unpretentious. Some times it feels a little 'thrown together' - one or two photos of materials have captions along the lines of 'this bit of wood is a bit bigger than it ought to be' - but these little things tend to make the book feel more like something a friend wrote than some professional tract on woodworking.

It could be more in depth as to the types of wood that are best to work with or optional tools to use, but the author has opted to keep it simple. Whittling isn't that hard or complicated. Just pick up some wood and a knife and have a go is the message here.

There are also quite a few tips for camping and hiking trips too. This is a book written by someone who just loved being outdoors but also knew that experience is really the best teacher.

I can't say how useful this book is for experienced whittlers, but for relative novices like me, its a great primer and inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars little book of whittling, 5 Jan 2011
This review is from: Little Book of Whittling: Passing Time on the Trail, on the Porch, and Under the Stars (Paperback)
Bought this for my Grandson age 12, lots of easy to follow pictures and instructions, so good that Grandad had to have one, Gloves are a must,can't wait for my mouse headed walkingstick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Book of Whittling: Passing Time on the Trail, on the Porch, and Under the Stars
Used & New from: £31.17
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews