Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In-depth study of the Occult. Required reading.
This is one of the most in-depth studies on the Occult that I have come across to date.

Dave Hunt investigates a whole plethora of subjects which are Occult-based or Occult-related.
These stem from spirit communication & possession, Eastern Mysticism, the New Age movements, Holistic Medicine, Drugs, Evolution, Psychology, aspects of the Catholic Church,...
Published on 2 Dec. 2002

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very interesting book
Just to say that Dave Hunt covers all angles in this revealing book. Well worth what i paid for it!
Published on 22 Sept. 2009 by T. Cahill


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In-depth study of the Occult. Required reading., 2 Dec. 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Occult Invasion: The Subtle Seduction of the World and the Church (Paperback)
This is one of the most in-depth studies on the Occult that I have come across to date.

Dave Hunt investigates a whole plethora of subjects which are Occult-based or Occult-related.
These stem from spirit communication & possession, Eastern Mysticism, the New Age movements, Holistic Medicine, Drugs, Evolution, Psychology, aspects of the Catholic Church, UFO's, Angels, Ghosts, Near Death Experiences and Spiritual Warfare, to mention just a few.
Some 600 pages or more in length, this is quite a commendable and very thorough work.
Why have I not given it a five-star rating ? For one reason & one reason only. That being I find Dave Hunt's criticism and condemnation of many modern day evangelists, (who he names personally), to be somewhat disturbing.
Although I can see where the author is ‘coming from', I would far rather such comments to have been directed towards the reader being advised to interpret the works of these evangelists in the light of God's Word, rather than personally condemning them outright. I feel uneasy about such personal criticism.
Having said that, this book does an excellent job in describing the blatant and overt Occult practices at work today and how the deadly, deceptive tentacles of the Occult have invaded even many aspects of the Church. The book also studies how the coming one-world religion will form the basis of the Antichrist's regime/world-empire.
This is recommended reading on the Occult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a well reasoned analysis of modern American culture, 18 April 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Occult Invasion: The Subtle Seduction of the World and the Church (Paperback)
"Occult Invasion" is a look at modern American culture from the prospective of a conservative Christian. Dave Hunt has provided a well-reasoned analysis of the causes of modern social problems through the Biblical concept of the nature of man. He also deals with the theory that man, because of his nature, will not solve our society's problems, but instead man's solutions will only worsen the problems. History is moving according to a plan designed by a specific Higher Being. Mr. Hunt spends much of the book in a concern that the movement of major religious bodies to find common ground to establish a world religion will result in a false religion that will lose its fundamental purpose. He makes a very convincing argument through a number of specific examples.

Mr. Hunt's book is excellent "food-for-thought" for anyone concerned about the state of modern society and the role religion should be playing in dealing with earthly concerns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars highly insightful book, 30 May 2002
This review is from: Occult Invasion: The Subtle Seduction of the World and the Church (Paperback)
This is an utterly fascinating read, covering a whole host of topics. Many of these are highly congtroveresial, but Mr Hunt provides some very cogent arguments. Though you may not agree with EVERYTHING he says - and I can't say I did either - this book is emminently readable, and excellent value for money - Occult Invasion is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truth hurts, 17 Mar. 2004
By 
Aj Viljoen (Kuwait) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Occult Invasion: The Subtle Seduction of the World and the Church (Paperback)
So what did you expect? The Bible says that in the last days, even the elect will be deceived. This book shows us how. It's that simple.
If you don't like what it says, it might be because it is cutting a little close to the bone. Some say this book is poorly researched. Everything Dave Hunt says, is based on Scripture. If you don't think Scripture is authorative, then you are right, then this book is rubbish. If you do believe that Scripture is is inspired by the Holy Spirit, and therefore correct, you will appreciate Dave Hunt's leadership qualities and his guts, coming out with the truth, shooting from the hip, knowing he is setting himself up for lots of critisism.
As far as I'm concerned, this is essential reading. Err on the safe side. I want to be among the 144 000.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very interesting book, 22 Sept. 2009
By 
T. Cahill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Occult Invasion: The Subtle Seduction of the World and the Church (Paperback)
Just to say that Dave Hunt covers all angles in this revealing book. Well worth what i paid for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book. It was very informative, 16 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent book. It was very informative. I enjoyed it, and I learnt a lot from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but rather sour, 22 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Occult Invasion: The Subtle Seduction of the World and the Church (Paperback)
While Mr Hunt deserves credit for exposing the way the occult has invaded both the Church and the world I feel he is rather sour towards people he disagrees with. As a "born-again" Christian who still attends the Roman Catholic church I must say, though it saddens me, that Dave is right about a lot of RC teachings. There IS a tendency for SOME Catholics to put Mary above Christ. However I feel what he says about Mother Teresa is very unfair. In fact he has quoted from the atheist writer Christopher Hitchens which smacks of dirty tricks! Mr Hitchens hates the Catholic Church and is an advocate of abortion so he can hardly be relied on to write about Mother Teresa fairly!...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quasi-Fundamentalism lacking in scholarship, 5 Jun. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Occult Invasion: The Subtle Seduction of the World and the Church (Paperback)
The following review of Dave Hunt's Occult Invasion attempts to give an accurate, though admittedly somewhat simplified, account of what the book is like.
Section 1: What to expect: Expect a polemical defense of the Bible against every new age belief, and almost every religious faith. Hunt's argument generally proceeds in the following manner. Anyone who does not profess faith and trust in the Jesus Christ of the Bible (that is, in his quasi-fundamentalist interpretation of it) opens themselves up to the occult and allows Satan to use them as instruments of evil. He attacks everyone from Alcoholics Anonymous, Eastern Orthodoxy, Roman Catholics, Evangelical Christians (including Pat Robertson, Charles Colson, Bill Bright, J. I. Packer), the Dalai Lama, etc., right down to Mother Teresa of Calcutta. In the end one wonders who, if anyone, has the proper understanding of the Bible?
Section 2: What NOT to expect. Do not expect the best scholarship. Too often Hunt fails to go to primary sources to back up his point, choosing, instead, to rely on second and third-hand sources (page 602, footnote 14). This coupled with his failure to understand some of the doctrines he opposes (both theological and philosophical) severely weakens some of his arguments and the overall value of the book. Blanket statements, with no exceptions, like the following, illustrate this: "The Mass and all Roman Catholic ritual is a form of magic" (page 425). Do not expect an objective style. Cynicism abounds in this work. Hunt's at times cantankerous style goes even so far to say hurtful things about Mother Teresa. For example: "Many people who worked for years with Mother Teresa consider themselves fortunate to have escaped a cult" (page 580).
Recommendations: If you happen to share Hunt's interpretation of the Bible then this is a book you'll want to own. To his credit Hunt spends almost 600 pages attempting to draw, carefully and logically, the conclusions which follow if you accept his interpretation of the Bible. However, if you believe in God but do not share Hunt's quasi-fundamentalist view of the Bible, then you will be disappointed with his limited understanding of the theological and philosophical issues which have occupied the great minds of the West from Augustine to Aquinas to Luther, and beyond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Makes Good Kindling, 16 Jun. 2007
By 
D. Whyte "Ross" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Occult Invasion: The Subtle Seduction of the World and the Church (Paperback)
I stole a copy of this book from my work because I didn't want to be responsible for putting fundamentalist drivel on the shelf. "AIDS is the cure to homosexuality" apparently. Tell that to all the children in Africa and I'm sure they'll feel a whole lot better.

Utterly misinformed, God-fearing, hate-spreading, bigoted crap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Occult Invasion: The Subtle Seduction of the World and the Church
£10.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews