Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Africa by Road
The authors of Africa by Road do a great job of presenting an overview to planning and undertaking an overland African trip. They assume the reader has a decent degree of common sense and independence and point the would-be traveller in all right directions without producing that 'hand-holding' feeling.
Anyone who needs to know where to start or what needs to be...
Published on 10 July 2002

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Might be good for real beginners...
Might be good for real beginners - I thought Chris Scott's "Sahara Overland" was a better pre-expedition book and I am looking forward to reading his "Overlander's Handbook".
Published on 18 Jun. 2009 by Enzo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Africa by Road, 10 July 2002
By A Customer
The authors of Africa by Road do a great job of presenting an overview to planning and undertaking an overland African trip. They assume the reader has a decent degree of common sense and independence and point the would-be traveller in all right directions without producing that 'hand-holding' feeling.
Anyone who needs to know where to start or what needs to be covered in planning an African Adventure shouldn't be without this guide. All the important aspects are covered and combined nicely with notes of personal experience and amusing anecdotes that accentuate the 'African feeling'.
Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab info for potential Gullivers, 18 July 2002
By A Customer
Well, what can I say. This is the(underlined) most comprehensive guide to overland travel in Africa I have ever seen. Everything from getting you kit together to amusing anecdotes that Charles and Illya had along the way.
Don't go driving to Africa without this book in your bag.
It is the essential guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading!!!!!, 17 May 2009
By 
Edward Griffiths (London, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you are traveling anywhere in Africa by road, you MUST take this guide!

The guide begins with a complete rundown of what you will need and what you wont need, what works and what doesnt, where to go and where to stay clear and so on.

The individual run-downs of each country contain exactly what you need to know, from fuel prices to road conditions and distances. As with all Bradt guides the recomendations for hotels are the most up-to-date you will find.

Very good, very detailed, an essential travel companion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for overlanders, 11 Jan. 2011
By 
D M. Breakwell "Pathfinder" (Englefield Green Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a must for anybody planning an overland trip across Africa.Its packed with useful information and amusing anecdotes that entertain,inform and will scare the hell out of you, especially the Nile crossing at Wadi Halifa, and there is no other way across. I was also fortunate to get a telephone call from Bob Gibbons regarding a question that I e-mailed to his company.Anyone that takes the time to do that is worthy of a fine recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 19 May 2009
If you are planning to overland thru Africa, do not leave home without this guide. It contais all the information you will ever need in an easy to read format which covers all angles.

The contry by counrty guide is good, as with all Bradt guides, but the ovreall info in the first few chapters is an absolute goldmine of priceless advice and information.

Well done Bradt, another excellent guide!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very handy, 2 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I used this book for some research I was doing and got some valuable information. My advice would always to be to get the most up to date copy as you can as things change in Africa very quickly and information can become out of date. This along with other books and using the internet, is the only way of planning such a long and sometimes difficult journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Buying from this seller, 3 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had taken out this book from my local library and wanted to buy it thereafter. The seller sent me the book on time and it was in much the similiar condition as the book I'd borrowed from my own library: used but in excellent condition. It will be a good travel companion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I feel ready., 5 July 2011
A travel guide is good when it opens your eyes to things you had not thought of for yourself yet. And when talking of an overlanding trip, that can be quite a lot. And this guide covers it. I absolutely feel ready, along with the individual country guides naturally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Might be good for real beginners..., 18 Jun. 2009
Might be good for real beginners - I thought Chris Scott's "Sahara Overland" was a better pre-expedition book and I am looking forward to reading his "Overlander's Handbook".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The essential companion, 15 May 2009
Not long been back from my latest trip for which we took a vehicle for the first time. Being experienced travellers we thought we knew most things there were to know, but this guide just opened our eyes. Without some of the small details regarding paperwork at borders and modifications to the vehicle (to name a couple) our trip would have been so much harder, and consequently less enjoyable. This is another wonderful guide from Bradt and was our third friend in pretty much every situation, absolutely essential if you are taking a vehicle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Africa by Road: See ISBN 1-898323-29-1 (Bradt Travel Guides)
Used & New from: £1.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews