Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch out
For those who read the reviews on amazon, be aware that there are many out to bring Gardiner down. One needs only read his books to understand why. In Gnosis Gardiner has all too starkly placed before the ordinary man or "profane" as some would have it, the most sacred truths of the ancient and not so ancient secret societies. And this in itself sums up what Gardiner is...
Published on 25 Aug 2006 by Rosicrucian

versus
19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Gnosis is essentially about the road to inner enlightenment and how to achieve it. Having read other reviews of this book I have to assume that it worked for some people but I must admit that I found it a real effort to even finish. However, I did finish it but it was with gritted teeth and disappointment at the jilted style, the factual errors and Gardiner's propensity...
Published on 14 July 2006 by Philip Unsworth


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 14 July 2006
By 
Philip Unsworth (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Gnosis is essentially about the road to inner enlightenment and how to achieve it. Having read other reviews of this book I have to assume that it worked for some people but I must admit that I found it a real effort to even finish. However, I did finish it but it was with gritted teeth and disappointment at the jilted style, the factual errors and Gardiner's propensity for 're-interpreting' previously well researched theories and ideas to substantiate his revolutionary new message.

For a book purporting to be unveiling a great truth, I thought Gnosis contained an awful lot of secrecy and implication. It also seemed at times to be overly dramatic - like a conjurer trying to establish an aura of expectancy before pulling a rabbit out of the hat. His assertion of being forced to join a 'secret society' because he had stumbled across the truth sounds a lot like somebody trying to add weight to his argument because he knows the argument alone won't bear scrutiny. The fact that this story is impossible to corroborate does not help his case.

Some people will be more inclined to believe in the central theme of this book than others but the point is clearly made that if you don't 'get it' then you need to read the book again because you must have missed the point first time around - a bit condescending I thought. The "Secret Code" (assuming it exists - I haven't checked) I dealt with in my review of The Shining Ones - my views have not changed. Why draw so much attention to something you are trying to hide so securely?

There were some genuinely interesting and thought provoking issues brought out in the book but they were spoiled for me by many glaring inconsistencies and contradictions that left me trying to sort the wheat from the chaff and then wondering why I was bothering to try.

I was left wondering if he really believed what he was writing or if this was a contract filler. The overall impression that I was left with was that of a book that had been rushed out from memory on a Sunday afternoon in order to meet a Monday morning deadline.

Gardiner may well be right and his road to enlightenment may, in fact, be what humanity in general (as opposed to a select few) has been searching for all of these years. The problem for me is that, having read this book with its errors, half truths, misrepresentations and unwarranted drama, I just do not believe him.

Gardiner is capable of better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watch out, 25 Aug 2006
This review is from: Gnosis: The Secrets of Solomon's Temple Revealed: The Secret of Solomon's Temple Revealed (Paperback)
For those who read the reviews on amazon, be aware that there are many out to bring Gardiner down. One needs only read his books to understand why. In Gnosis Gardiner has all too starkly placed before the ordinary man or "profane" as some would have it, the most sacred truths of the ancient and not so ancient secret societies. And this in itself sums up what Gardiner is about - revealing the truths that we should all be allowed to see. There are many who would wish that these secrets remained secret, not least of which are members of the Catholic Church and it is often these that place reviews across the web to destroy Gardiner's work. In this book Gardiner tells it as it truly is, that the Temple never existed and that we are all fighting over a piece of land for no reason. There is great power in this sentiment - for power is held by those who are funding the fighting.

Gnosis points us instead towards a new direction and one that many will not be too happy with - towards the mirror. The true Temple lies within us, says Gardiner, and he is absolutely right, but this diverts man away from the creations of the power brokers - their deities and saints and so his only error is to risk all.

Remember these things when reading reviews and make up your own mind as I myself have and remember that the truth is for you to discover for yourself.

In conclusion, this book is worthy of the greats and the grammatical errors from the first edition are now corrected in the new edition. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Changes your life, 17 Sep 2005
By A Customer
I started this one, thinking, oh yeah right, what secret? I also thought it would be a boring diatribe like Laurence Gardner's latest attempt at re-writing something he has already written. Instead, and although, Gardiner here has to repeat some things, he quickly moves on and impresses the socks off you. Slowly, he bends your mind into the ancient way of thinking and bang - you end up suddenly understanding the true Gnosis!! At last, I said to myself. I have been searching for this all my life and here it all is in one book. Never by another book in your life - this will do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 44 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars marketing initiate, 22 Jan 2006
Absolute dross.Author says he's an initiate into a secret society he was told to join because he'd discovered the secret that the 2nd world war was a fixed match!!This sums up the book.
He can't say which organisation but not the freemasons.(obviously as in the craft one can check on membership)He says his seminars have helped many (for a fee no doubt) but only those who have the ability to understand,the clasic emperor's new clothes concept.
The book is full of hand picked quotes from religious texts and other authors work, that support his views but full of contradiction and error.Two examples out of hundreds will illustrate my point. On Solomons temple he alludes to excavations by the templars but with no mention of Warren 1800,s
or the lesser known sweedish mission in 1910 and then states that the temple is only allegory.
He says that the masons 'nowadays'have the royal arch degree.In fact this degree has been worked for hundreds of years.
Although I have some sympathy with his general idea,indeed masonry promotes the idea of many paths to the same goal, this work is a marketing triumph and now't else. He's not an initiate
in anything(no initiate would rubbish any organised religion as he does)And the way he sets the scene with his mythical tale of
conspiracy theory/ secret societies is a joke.(If he was made to join and can't name them isn't he a tad scared that he's published their big secrets and now that we all know about the war result are they going to set traps to find out who also knows and make us join ??)
Or are 'they' aliens living in a hollow earth.
It's pants
Read Dr Lomas,Alan Butler,JSM Ward,Wilmhurst even Baignet/Hancock rather than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Religionists will hate this book, 30 Jan 2006
By A Customer
Those in the world who are tied to the animal of state, religion or even capitalism will hate this book, why? Because it speaks about freedom in the mind, freedom from the constraints of the man-made-world. What is hidden beneath the layers of deceipt is the truth about our very selves and Gardiner tells it simply how it is. This is just too much for those who are tied down with the dogma and doctrine of their religious belief system. At the end of the day this book uses evidence and fact, not faith and belief. There is no "Temple" structure that can stay standing if it is built upon something that has no basis in truth and Gardiner is shaking their foundations with this book and his work. Only because this book is touching people so strongly are those without the eyes to see rising up against him. It is a good thing that this book stirs controversy, for if it did not, then it would not be the truth. So many have been burnt at the stake for proclaiming the truth and it seems nothing has changed.
Throw off the shackles of belief and faith in things you are told to believe and seek for your SELF!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars absolute drivel, 11 Mar 2007
By 
R. Kaye (manchester, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i gave this a single star for one reason, you cant give it a zero!

its basically a book of other people's quotes and inuendo. anyone can write a book and claim to be "in the know", without showing any proof

here's something for prospective buyers of this book

i am in a secret society. i cant/wont prove it. i know that the second world war was pre-arranged. i cant prove it. i know other secrets that i cant prove too. oh, and there is a world wide conspiracy that i cant tell you about as well, but i cant prove it

there you go amazon people. i have just saved you a tenner. and hours of reading this drivel

if you want to learn something, buy a book that is well researched and has proven theories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Knowledge, 19 Sep 2005
By A Customer
Gnosis: The Secret of Solomon's Temple Revealed
By Philip Gardiner, author of The Shining Ones and The Serpent Grail
A review by Ernest Scott
In a way I have never seen before attempted, Gardiner creates a road into the world of the esoteric that unbelievably the majority us ought to be able to go down. For centuries, and maybe even thousands of years, the mystics and alchemists of the world have hidden their experiences and discoveries deep within the folds of a finely woven and hermetically sealed series of conundrums. Those with the eyes to see and ears to hear were the only ones that could unravel the secrets. Now, in this remarkable and thought provoking book Gardiner has literally undressed the sacred mystical language of our ancestors and reveals one of the most profound Biblical concepts to be exposed in recent times.
Like a gentle shepherd, Gardiner slowly unfolds the ancient tapestry of secrets and along the way he shows how modern science and psychology can be used to prove that our ancestors were equally, and often more intelligent than us today!
This book is a perfect follow on from The Serpent Grail, co-authored with Gary Osborn, and both books are an aid to each other. In the first book Gardiner and Osborn set about proving that there was in ancient times a serpent cult around the globe. In Gnosis, Gardiner takes this one step further and shows what this serpent cult believed, why, and how the secrets of this often, mythical group were placed within the religious texts and structures of the world. This of course then takes us on to the secrets of Solomon's Temple and I can truly say, that the results of Gardiner's labours will upset a whole bunch of people.
I can recommend this book to everybody and anybody. It's easy to read, easy to understand and I have spoken to several other people who have read the book and in each case they report that the contents truly changed their lives. I can too report, that I now see the world in a completely different light!
ISBN 1904126049
See also [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gnosis: The Secrets of Solomon's Temple Revealed: The Secret of Solomon's Temple Revealed
11.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews