Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars20
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 December 2013
I bought this Haynes book expecting that it would be UK-focused. It isn't - instead it is very much US focused. For example, a chapter on US legal/insurance aspects. The fault code list includes the main US manufacturers and some Japanese ones, but no European ones. It's also quite old (something I was aware of when I bought it).

Only about half of the book is OBD-II related, the rest is general stuff that seems to have been pulled from other books just to make it thicker. And I didn't find the explanations all that clear.

Overall a disappointment.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2015
Having checked the Haynes website this book appears to be for the US market. If you want a European related book consider the Haynes book "Fault Codes". Check before you buy.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
The mysterious electronics and black boxes under the bonnet simply explained and than are just plain sense.
Great book to understand car emissions and electrics. Explains in simple terms what every black box, sensor, actuator, etc does and how it works. Explains how to test all of the above with both multimeter and fault code reader/scan tool.
If you like to look after your own vehicles, get this book and a fault code reader and wave goodbye to main dealer and mechanics prices.
Although I didn't have an engine warning light on the dash, the car was not running right and using more fuel. By looking at the live data on a hand held scanner I was able to trace the problem to the O2 sensor.
Book took 10 days to arrive. Worth the wait.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2012
This book was purchased with the OBD 11 scanner very informative and easy to use, without it the scanner doesn't make a lot of sence unless you already use one of these
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2013
Book explains why codes became and why the systems we have today are full of electronics. very helpful and quite interesting to be honest. arrived quick. very useful item.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2014
Previous buyers slated the book , however if you have a basic understanding of simple battery / earth in dc circuits I believe this book will be of great value to you. If you only read it , without applying any of the test procedures you will have a much better understanding of all the engine management systems of your vehicle especially the wall important emissions section.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
easy to read and follow information and instructions on diagnostic problems with the first book you have a complete guide to solve your engine problems
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2016
Only used it once so far and it fleshed out the reason for the fault code found when testing a car with AL319 code reader
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2015
Got most information needed to understand cause of problem's
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2016
Happy with book. maybe learn something from it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)