Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A males dream come true?
Imagine waking up one morning and finding out you are the very last man alive on Earth. Billions of women and your the only hope for the survival of the human race. Sounds like a dream come true, endless late nights and not a headache in sight....Right.....Wrong!

Speaking totally from a male perspective it really does seem like heaven on earth, but throw in...
Published on 6 Nov 2006 by D. Francis

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Decent Start
When reading a long graphic novel series you have to usually remember that for the most part they get better as they go along. The first volume will lay the groundwork and this will often lead many to say that a comic is boring.

Y The Last Man Vol 1 is good enough to make you want to read the next one but has some serious flaws. For starters women are portrayed...
Published on 27 Jun 2008 by Gary Samaden


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Decent Start, 27 Jun 2008
By 
Gary Samaden (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When reading a long graphic novel series you have to usually remember that for the most part they get better as they go along. The first volume will lay the groundwork and this will often lead many to say that a comic is boring.

Y The Last Man Vol 1 is good enough to make you want to read the next one but has some serious flaws. For starters women are portrayed as rather one dimensional and Yorick can be a little annoying in his single minded attempt to get to his girlfriend when humanity is obviously in danger. On saying that
I raced through this book and while I did find it annoying in parts it is a good start and I will be picking up Volume 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A males dream come true?, 6 Nov 2006
By 
D. Francis "viapurico" (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Imagine waking up one morning and finding out you are the very last man alive on Earth. Billions of women and your the only hope for the survival of the human race. Sounds like a dream come true, endless late nights and not a headache in sight....Right.....Wrong!

Speaking totally from a male perspective it really does seem like heaven on earth, but throw in violent hoards of vigilante lesbian biker chicks, Israeli special forces on a mission to kidnap you for mass fertilization, an american government in complete chaos with no policing and countless numbers of lady nutters taking full advantage of the situation, you soon find yourself in a complete nightmare not too far off a George A Romero script.

I myself have only read the first five books and they are absolutely gripping, i have the other books on order and i am chomping at the bit waiting for them to arrive.

This is an absolutely brilliant comic series and a must have for anybody who is interested in appocolypse theories.

Oh yeah, and theres a monkey in it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a present, 15 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Y The Last Man TP Vol 01 Unmanned (Paperback)
I can't comment on this book really it was bought as a present, but it arrived well packed and in good condition, the recipient enjoyed it and put with their collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great comic book, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Y The Last Man TP Vol 01 Unmanned (Paperback)
My daughter wanted to start to read a comic book, so decided on this series. She was really pleased when it came, and is really ejoying the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely one of my favourite graphic novels series ever., 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Y The Last Man TP Vol 01 Unmanned (Paperback)
If you are brand new to graphic novels and are just trying them out for the first time, then you can go far wrong with Y the last man. It is probably one of the most ingenious concepts for a story and suceeds by keeping you gripped and wanting to know what happens in the next comic or next book. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great idea, perfectly executed, 31 Jan 2014
By 
Jamie "I'm Jamie, 32, m, Manchester (UK). I l... (BOLTON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first read a chapter of Y the Last Man via the Comixology app on my phone and was hooked. So glad I downloaded this issue after that first initial read as it doesn't disappoint. If anything it gets better!

Love the writing, the ideas and the artwork. Couldn't recommend it enough. Just trying to limit myself to only foreboding one volume a month so I don't skint myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Strong beginnings, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This has one of the best opening chapters of any graphic novel series I've ever read as in the first 30 pages or so the author manages to introduce a host of characters and the initial set up without any confusion and a clever lay out that keeps you glued. The artwork in this volume that is present throughout the series is also a perfect fit, clear and emotive allowing a focus on the drama rather than huge action. Other is always controversy around illustrations of women in comics as they usually are some sexualized and unrealistic but Pia Guerra's artwork shows a very realistic range of women, lucky as there is a lot of women to draw in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great taster to the series, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very impressed, can't wait to get the next one! Very addictive and leaves you wanting not - great read :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bumpy start to a great story., 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Y The Last Man TP Vol 01 Unmanned (Paperback)
Wasn't blown away in the slightest by this first volume. Luckily I had ordered the first three volumes due to the great reviews, otherwise I may not have bothered picking up part two.
Quite a lot is going on here in this volume which in my opinion left the story a bit all over the place. However, from part two onward's the story really takes shape and it becomes an addicting read!
If you like the Walking Dead give this a shot, has a similar vibe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars So this is how women would run the world?, 13 Sep 2013
This review is from: Y The Last Man TP Vol 01 Unmanned (Paperback)
First off, let's be positive - this is a great and bold concept for an ongoing story and could be a wonderful way in which a writer could explore the ways males and females differ in their perception of power. Whilst it's clear from the introduction to the second volume in this series that Brian K Vaughan has a great interest in the global inequalities and lack of access to power for females, he isn't really able to demonstrate this here entirely successfully. Perhaps that's partially because of the comic book medium's need to keep things focused and moving along in bite sized chunks without slowing the pace down by exploring how one gender would run the world in the absence of the other. What results instead are broad brush strokes that give very little insight into how things are now run and, at worst, presents its female protagonists as being as testosterone fueled as any male (I really could not understand the raison d'etre for the Amazon women when all the men were dead anyway). I don't think, as another reviewer did, that all the female characters are one dimensional - Yorick's mum in particular gives light and shade to this argument - and whilst the story is relatively engaging, its flaws surprised me (I was aware this was a critically acclaimed read) and, having also read volume two and not been convinced that things are getting much better, I don't think I'm going to proceed any further - apologies if it gets brilliant after that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae1169c8)

This product

Y The Last Man TP Vol 01 Unmanned
Y The Last Man TP Vol 01 Unmanned by Pia Guerra (Paperback - 23 Feb 2011)
8.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews