Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars29
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 27 November 2009
This is the follow up to The Long Halloween, and picks up directly after that storyline finished. This book deals with the rise of Two Face from the ashes of Harvey Dent, and continues the story lines of Commissioner Gordon, Catwoman, Bruce Wayne, and of course, the Falcones'. Someone is copying the crimes of Holiday from the Long Halloween, who goes by the name of the Hangman, and it is up to Batman to solve these crimes whilst keeping all the other threads of his life going.
Like the Long Halloween before it, this is quite along graphic novel and has quite a few twists and turns in it. The artwork is of the same style too, so if you didn't like it before, you won't like it now! The introduction of Robin is quite nicely handled too, though i did feel it didn't have enough time to develop properly and could have meritted a third volume dealing with this storyline a bit more.
The reason i can't give this five stars is that it is almost an exact replay of the Long Halloween with a few adjustments, and while that is no bad thing, this just doesn't offer enough that is new and original. The Long Halloween was quite different to anything out at the time, and this book doesn't really spark enough for me. That isn't to say that this is a bad book - it isn't. It just needed something extra to put it up in the top echelon of Batman stories.
This is definitely one for your collection, but only if you have read The Long Halloween, or it won't make much sense!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2003
In this sequel to Batman: The Long Halloween, a new District Attorney has plans to clean up Gotham, and her plans include cleaning up Batman. But, someone is playing Hangman, and with each new game, someone in the police department gets hanged. As if things aren't bad enough, a mass breakout from Arkham puts a lot of super-villains on the street (including Two-Face, Joker, Solomon Grundy, Poison Ivy, Mr. Freeze, and Penguin).
This is another great graphic novel, and a worthy sequel to The Long Halloween. I thought the story was nice and gripping (just like a Batman story should be!), while the illustrations were wonderfully done, making the whole read that much better. I enjoyed the Catwoman character once again, and thought that the author did a great job with the Robin character. I highly recommend this book to any, and every, Batman fan!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2003
The Long Halloween was a stunning trade paperback, and this sequel is the same. Unfortunately, a bit too much the same!
Basically someone is killing the mob family leaders one by one, on different holidays, leaving a clue each time in the form of a hangman game. Batman tries to unravel
the clues but then the killings start targeting cops too.
The story is very similar to TLH, but that isn't such a bad thing, as it is a great story, with Batman, Catwoman and Gordon all desperately trying to unravel the
mystery of the killer. The artwork is dark and gothic, exactly as Batman should be. Tying in the debut of Dick Grayson as Robin is a great move, especially as he
plays a minor role which proves important without overshadowing the main story. Definitely recommended.
There are rumours that the author and artist will do a follow up to cover Catwoman's journey to Italy.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
Dark Victory captures the events following Long Halloween. Loeb and Sale provide more of the same twists and turns that made Long Halloween so encapturing, as well as showcasing a number of Batman's finest foes and introducing Dick Grayson as Robin.

A lot of people criticise Dark Victory for its similarity to Long Halloween. However, I believe the similarity is a good thing as it's supposed to be a continution of that tale. So I don't believe the story telling process should change.

If you liked Long Halloween, you'll like this because it follows on. If you like Batman, you'll like this because it involves so many familiar faces from the lore. A win-win situation really!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
This is the follow up to The Long Halloween which is fantastic, and it's rare to get a worthy follow up to a story so good and Dark Victory does not disappoint. If you truly are a batman fan and liked the first one than you should get this, it gives you the ultimate ending to the story.
Like the first one you get a rich roster of characters, a rogues gallery that uses a lot of characters well and most of all BATMAN, all the richness of story, supporting characters and villains do not take away from the dark knight himself. This is a book that I'll definitely be revisiting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2011
I would recommend reading Long Halloween before this. Although not essential it will help get you up to speed on the story. The story can plod a long a little at times but overall its a very enjoyable read. The artwork is quite interesting and a different take on Batman & Co. Robin is actually a fun little inclusion here as well. Its a good length and will keep you entertained throughout and its littered with a lot of charachters from Gotham's underbelly. All in all a good addition to any collection along with The Long Halloween.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2013
A great story of 'who done it' that keeps you in suspense till the end of the book. Its great to see a Batman comic which focused on the gangsters of Gotham city and also gave screen time to well known villains such as the Joker, Two Face, etc. I thought seeing these two groups of people develop as the book went along was great, especially the gangsters as we don't see them much in comics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
People seem to place this as second against long halloween but this definitely contends as a story line!

I've never been a big fan of robin and was actively avoiding reading anything with him in, since reading this I have immediately purchased Robin: year one just to fill what can only be described as a unhealthy need for more boy wonder!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
It this compelling story Batman and Commissioner Gordon see their friends fall one by one, the conclusion of the story is not just in revealing the killer but in Batman finding a kindred spirit to share hid secret with. The artwork has to be some of my favourite graphic work ever, Tim Sale' s work gives real tension and drama to the script.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2014
These two guys really tick all my boxes regardless of the subject matter. Great to see characters from 'Year One' love the continuity. Good meaty story although I wasn't aware of it this book should be read after 'The Long Halloween' don't make the same mistake, they are related. Well done guys. This is how the Batman should be portrayed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.