Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crisis in my bank account
With Infinite Crisis now hitting comic stores across the World this is an excellent time to re-evaluate the origin material from where it all started. Although there is a cheaper, more accessible trade paperback available this edition is exactly what it says on the tin, the Absolute Edition. Two volumes are enclosed in the gorgeous slipcase. The first is the original 12...
Published on 25 Feb 2006 by M. Crossman

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Crisis in Writing Talent
What on Infinite Earths is this? It's a massive mess. The plot, the endless 'we fought a battle and just won, oh wait the villains are back again', fight another battle. We've just won, oh wait the villains are back again. Terrible writing, awful plot, and the dialogue was the worst ever. Villains like the genius Lex Luthor using dialogue that sounds like a stereotypical...
Published 2 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crisis in my bank account, 25 Feb 2006
By 
M. Crossman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
With Infinite Crisis now hitting comic stores across the World this is an excellent time to re-evaluate the origin material from where it all started. Although there is a cheaper, more accessible trade paperback available this edition is exactly what it says on the tin, the Absolute Edition. Two volumes are enclosed in the gorgeous slipcase. The first is the original 12 part maxi-series, recoloured and resized whilst the second volume is a wonderful commentary and index to the whole series. Both volumes are a treat for the eye, and the writing snaps and crackles just as it did all those years ago in the eighties. This is an Absolute edition which should sit on any comic book fan's shelf. Pricey, yes, but worth every damn penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lively, creative - the best cross over title ever written, 30 Mar 2001
Despite what Amazon's synopsis says, by the time this came along multi-part "event" cross overs were very well established. The problem was they were normally [rubbish] - and have continued to be so, by and large, ever since. "Crisis" is the exception that proves the rule, in that previous charactertization is maintained and - most importantly - real changes happen. When you remember that the same period saw such hideously aweful non-events as "Secret Wars" (to name but one) Perez and Wolfman's achievment is all the more impressive. For anyone with a serious interst in comics this is a must, as so many lose ends were tied up (for a while at least), and so many promising characters were killed off (the original Huntress was the gretaest waste of promise, while we all grieved over Kara). On top of that it's great fun to read and Perez' art has never been more stunning. As a long time fan boy, who got this issue by precious issue when it first came out, I can't recommend this highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Crisis in Writing Talent, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What on Infinite Earths is this? It's a massive mess. The plot, the endless 'we fought a battle and just won, oh wait the villains are back again', fight another battle. We've just won, oh wait the villains are back again. Terrible writing, awful plot, and the dialogue was the worst ever. Villains like the genius Lex Luthor using dialogue that sounds like a stereotypical street thug. Same for Brainiac, who is an alien A.I. Like I say awful, awful.
I really enjoyed the DC revival of this period and wanted to read the story that created this revival, but I really wish I hadn't.
I can't believe that this was allowed to be published.
What a sorry mess. I'd give it no stars if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic!, 3 Mar 2012
By 
G. R. Patel (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crisis On Infinite Earths TP (Paperback)
God, I remember collecting the series when it first came out. However in the proveeding 20 odd years they have been lost( gutted)along with the rest of my comic collection!!! However recently have found myself reading a few graphic novels, especially when I visit bookshops so decided to buy this again and glad I did. still a good read and loved the art work. All in all a good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crisis - impossible to sum up in a title., 24 April 2010
By 
Mr. A. J. Mann (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This crossover includes all the DC characters you are familiar with and hundreds more, either invented for the story or obscure characters no one remember. It set out to reinvent the Dc comic world forever and Marv Wolfman was given the mammoth task of doing that in 12 issues. The Multiverse is no more since 1985 and Crisis. For something that undertook so many goals before it started the plot is very good. many of the minor superheroes do have to keep repeating their names so you know who they are. This comic is definitely worth reading as it is a good plot, the good guys against the ultimate bad guy(s). Works very well as a crossover. it also absolutely radicalised DC history and reinvented (and in some cases got rid of/killed off) many characters. The artwork is very good including some very impressive pages with literally hundreds of superheroes crammed in. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Secret Wars looks like Shakespeare compared to this mess, 26 Jun 2014
By 
P. Brown (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crisis On Infinite Earths TP (Paperback)
This is a dreadful book. A failure on every level. It's a project that was meant to simplify the DC Universe but only made it more complicated, requiring endless ret-cons. Those saying how emotional it is, how much they feel for the characters, how shocked they were at those who died - every major character 'killed' in this book has since been brought back in some form or other. I also laugh when I see this compared favourably to Secret Wars. Believe me, Secret Wars looks like Shakespeare compared to this mess. There is zero characterisation here because there are so many characters involved that none of them get time to breathe. Some of them are barely afforded three panels in the whole book. I like George Perez but he's asked to cram so much into every page that it's like reading page after page of Where's Wally puzzles. And the villain. My word. Really? A tin robot with a big helmet and a booming voice. Ooooh. Scary. Utter drivel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Take your time, the universe wasn't built in a day!, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can honestly say that Crisis has occupied more of my time than any other comic, it is an epic story that warrants careful attention and patience. This story will keep you hooked and throw some real curve balls, leaving you astounded and enthralled. The only known side for me.....not enough Batman!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for me daughter at Christmas, she loves it!, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crisis On Infinite Earths TP (Paperback)
Bought for me daughter at Christmas, she loves it! Just as I remember it, fantastic art work work and a classic story that shaped the DC universe for years to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and epic, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crisis On Infinite Earths TP (Paperback)
This story was to reduce the convoluted DC Universe/multiverse. And that means death and here there is plenty of it. The story is layered so well and the art is crisp and clear. Every panel of art there is always something going on. A brilliant classic. Highly recommended reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 25 July 2013
Awesome - a tad long winded and laborious at times but once it gets going it's amazing.

The only issue is that it's so dated - reading it now for the first time, in 2013 when it was originally written in 1985, it gets pretty dated pretty quick.. you don't always know (or care) who a lot of the heroes or villains are..

However that being said, it is brilliant and I absolutely recommend it. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crisis On Infinite Earths TP
Crisis On Infinite Earths TP by Marv Wolfman (Paperback - 12 Oct 2005)
15.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews