Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest comic books series I've ever read
The art, the humour, the characterisation, the dialogue - there is simply nothing not to like about Preacher.

If you're not familiar with the story, go buy Gone To Texas (Preacher Vol 1) and begin reading one of the best comic book series ever made, if you've been following till here...

In This volume Jesse is a little lost after the events of War in...
Published on 2 Oct 2010 by Mishaal M. Bayoumi

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still better than most, but not up to usual Ennis standards.
Regular readers of Preacher will be fully aware of the genius at work here. Garth Ennis has created a work of art which surpasses most of the so-called contemporary literature available, which this would be pompously excluded from simply because it also has (very good) drawings accompanying and complementing the text.
This is the seventh collection of the...
Published on 19 Oct 1999


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest comic books series I've ever read, 2 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Preacher: Salvation (Paperback)
The art, the humour, the characterisation, the dialogue - there is simply nothing not to like about Preacher.

If you're not familiar with the story, go buy Gone To Texas (Preacher Vol 1) and begin reading one of the best comic book series ever made, if you've been following till here...

In This volume Jesse is a little lost after the events of War in the Sun. Going his separate way from Tulip & Cassidy, Jesse & Skeeter wind up in the small texas town of Salvation where they decide to clean up the local scum and do a bit of old fashioned police work, encountering along the way the KKK, a Nazi dominatrix and someone Jesse thought he would never, ever see again.

A masterful installment of a masterful series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ennis proving why he is the master of his game, 26 Mar 2000
By 
D. Brewer "dark_mercenary" (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Preacher TP Vol 07 Salvation New Edition (Paperback)
After reading the previous six novels in the Preacher series, I had a feeling that this might not live up to it's previous expectations. I should have known better! Although not the strongest of the Preacher collection,(my personal favouite is Proud Americans)it shows the depth that Garth Ennis can go in to, given the opportunity. This particular installment doesn't touch too much on the main story at hand,(the main story being Jesse's continued search for God) but it is still charming and thought provoking. He also gives an insight in to his belief of what middle America looks like in his eyes. Sometimes scary, but most of the time, shocking. The story might be thought of as weak by many Preacher fans, but I don't suscribe to that opinion. Call me biased if you will, but I personally feel that I can read any work by Ennis, and come away feeling renewed.(Fans of Ennis should try Unknown Soldier and his current 12 piece issue of The Punisher, in which he is reunited with artist Steve Dillon). The characters that Ennis provides in Salvation are strange to say the least. Most notably Odin Quincannon. I won't continue to give away the story, but I will say that if you like Preacher, or graphic novels in general then you should love this. I would recommend it to anyone, no matter who they are. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still better than most, but not up to usual Ennis standards., 19 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Preacher TP Vol 07 Salvation New Edition (Paperback)
Regular readers of Preacher will be fully aware of the genius at work here. Garth Ennis has created a work of art which surpasses most of the so-called contemporary literature available, which this would be pompously excluded from simply because it also has (very good) drawings accompanying and complementing the text.
This is the seventh collection of the stories of Jesse Custer, a man of God who wants to make the Almighty take responsibility for the state the World is in today. You will need to have read the previous volumes, starting with "Gone to Texas", to know the story as I am not going to go into it now, and if you have even the vaguest interest in graphic novels, be assured that you will not regret doing so.
"Salavation" reeks of being a stop-gap. The previous volume, "War in the Sun", was an epic and finished with Jesse and his cohorts facing some monumental situations. To this end, maybe it was necessary that there should be a while for us all to reflect and take a breath, because "Salvation" does nothing to move along the main story. It does, however, answer some interesting questions from Jesse's early life that regular readers may well have forgotten about, and it is a reasonable yarn in itself. The problem with "Salvation" is that we read it expecting answers to the situations that preceeded it, and instead they are hardly even mentioned.
It's not that this book is bad - it is action-packed and follows the usual Preacher guidelines of addressing issues whilst having fun and throwing in a bit of dirty sex as well. It's still better than most other examples of the genre, and most othe rbooks generally. It's just that as a part of the series, it is almost inconsequential.
Having said all that, this review is insignificant - if you are a Preacher fan, you will buy it, and if you aren't then where have you been? Start at the beginning, and we'll see you back here in six volumes time, OK?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Returning from death..., 22 April 2011
By 
Mark Lockett (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Preacher: Salvation (Paperback)
This volume is a bit of a teaser, delaying the showdown between Jesse and Cassidy, but it prepares the way well. Ennis gives us a great story of power and perversion run wild, the return of a long-lost character and some fun action. Jesse gets to be the, un-elected, sheriff who cleans up the town of Salvation and he gets to kick some KKK backsides while doing it! Top quality and a worthy addition to the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Preacher Perfect, 6 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Preacher: Salvation (Paperback)
Jesse Custer is back! Ennis and Dillon again come up tops with the next part of the Preacher saga. Feeling betrayed by Cass and Tulip, Jesse wanders the country looking for a place to settle until he drifts into the small town of Salvation, Texas. It isnt long until his life takes another turn for the surreal and he ends up becoming sheriff. Gart Ennis never fails to amuse with his story of Jesse Custer which is, as ever beautifully illustrated by Steve Dillon. Thought provoking and amusing. Fans of the series will not be dissapointed with the lastest addition. It may not be everyones cup of tea with its frank use of language and lashings of and but for me there is no better comic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely whatever you want it to be..., 19 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Preacher: Salvation (Paperback)
This is the seventh installment of Garth Ennis's simply breathtaking work that is Preacher. Now although it is not my favourite of his Preacher installment (Proud Americans still being my favourite contribution), it still captivates me in a way that no other book will. This is without a doubt the most mind-boggling of the series. Just when you think that Garth Ennis couldn't think of any more politically incorrect scenes to come up with, he dreams up the deranged and sexually depraved character that is Odin Quincannon. Quincannon is one of the strangest creations of all time as far as I'm concerned. And his kinky, nazi of a lawyer, Miss Oatlash, compliments the meat-man perfectly. Now the story line involving Jesse's quest to search down God does tail off slightly in this book, concentrating more on Jesse's relationship with his mother, who until this time he thought had been killed by Jody (Preacher: Until the end of the World). It demostrates how not everything in your blood, means you are pre-destined for anything, given that Jesse and Christina are the complete opposite of their family members. I thought that the sickest thing I had seen previously was the reference to paedophilic ways by Jesus de Sade (again Until the end of the World), but the scene involving Quincannon and his female creation made from various animal carcasses simply stunned me beyond belief. But in a good way. Because in Ennis we have an author who is not afraid to say what he think's and most of what he thinks is deranged to say the very least... a man of my own heart. If you have never read any Preacher books, I strongly recommend that you pick one up now. And believe me, by the time you have come up to the installment that is Salvation, you will never look at the world in the same way again...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A pretender, not a contender, 1 Sep 2010
This review is from: Preacher: Salvation (Paperback)
The Preacher series get rave reviews all over Amazon. As a big fan of comics I decided to give them a try based on these recommendations, but was really disappointed by what i found. First complaint is the language. Page after page of unnecessary and repetitive swearing; i am no prude and appreciate the use of profanity to a fairly high tolerance, but the repeated and often pointless use of it in this book was actually distracting. I swiftly became inured to it, and in fact started to tune out to what was going on. There are frequent hyper violent sequences (i have never seen so many people shot in the head in a comic series) that are merely held together with profanity. If this was an infrequent structure it would be more bearable, but it is far from that. Much of the story follows this pattern.

There are some good characters in this tale, but their development remains strangely stunted and one dimensional; characters like Cass and the Allfather D'Aronique are drawn larger than life and have potential to be fascinating but this potential is rarely fulfilled, and fairly ludicrous characters like Jesse (a man whose voice is literally the Word of God but who chooses to usually use his fists - and always wins despite the odds) and Herr Starr fill the storylines with a blandness and lack of believability that strains the readers credulity.

The storylines are the biggest problem however; what starts off as a grand and ambitious story arc (the abdication from heaven of God in the face of a new creation spawned of Angel and Demon) seems to zigzag wildly, with hugely important events and themes covered in such a cursory and unengaging way that the overall story meanders horribly. After a while i found i was just reading fairly mundane events from Jesse and Tulips life that seemed punctuated with significant moments that went nowhere. Ennis's previous work has been mediocre in my opinion and this was no different - well before the conclusion of the story he appears to have lost interest and the resulting conclusion to the book is almost an afterthought, and highly unsatisfying. Even the scarcely credible strands of plot could have worked with a bit more thought and effort but as they are, they just stink.

Some of the artwork is great however, and Glenn Fabry's cover art is fantastic throughout.

So in conclusion i thought Preacher was a really poor example of a comic. They rely throughout on Ennis's ability to shock the reader with violence and profanity, and this wears off really quickly, revealing a disjointed and underwhelming story with badly realised characters punching their way through a tiresome storyline. Some good potential with story and characters is wasted in favour of yet more sex and violence. If you are a 14 yr old boy who thinks Natural Born Killers was the best film ever made then this is probably for you. If you like something a bit more cerebral with a plot and proper characters, go and buy something by Alan Moore or Frank Miller, or any of the other great writers out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Preacher TP Vol 07 Salvation New Edition
Preacher TP Vol 07 Salvation New Edition by Garth Ennis (Paperback - 13 July 2005)
13.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews