Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece
This is probably the best Batman story ever written - it reinvented and renewed the character, made the Dark Knight a more frightening and frighteningly real person and made the graphic novel into a modern art form. Not bad comic book...

Miller's writing here is excellent (unlike the bizarre angry, sweary, trying-so-hard-to-be-gritty-it's-just-funny style he...
Published on 10 July 2009 by Saul Jones

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Completely unreadable on kindle
I'm sure this is a fine graphic novel. Unfortunately Kindle's read mode for this means that without a microscope you can't actually read the text. Poor.
Published on 11 Aug 2012 by Dr. Ian C. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 10 July 2009
By 
Saul Jones (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is probably the best Batman story ever written - it reinvented and renewed the character, made the Dark Knight a more frightening and frighteningly real person and made the graphic novel into a modern art form. Not bad comic book...

Miller's writing here is excellent (unlike the bizarre angry, sweary, trying-so-hard-to-be-gritty-it's-just-funny style he seems to be stuck in post Sin City) and the story moves along excellently. At first, things look a little to 'episodic' to really come together, but the more you read the better it seems to get. The art work itself seems a little odd to start with - it's a lot less 'comic book' like than most - but the style shouldn't put you off as it really suits the atmosphere of the story (something that becomes obvious on the Caped Crusader's first full page appearance).

If you've got no previous knowledge of the Batman, this is not the place to start. Try Miller's also excellent 'Year One' instead. But make sure you DO get round to reading this gem. Just quit before you read 'All Star's Batman and Robin'...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 4 Jan 2002
Despite all the talk of a vital adult comic scene there are actually only two creators really pulling it off: Alan Moore and Frank Miller who together pretty much started it all off with Watchmen and Dark Knight respectively.
Rereading Dark Knight now it still reads very fresh having lost none of it's intensity or originality either in technique or narrative. The only thing that dates it as a product of it's time are Miller's pot shots at 80's American politics and the Cold War.
It's a pity Miller never hit these heights again but with the sequel, Dark Knight Strkes Again, in the shops there's never been a better time to revisit this revolutionary comic. Truly excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is it a bird? No, it's a plane. It's Frank MIller, 5 Nov 2007
By 
DrG (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
You don't have to like Batman to enjoy this (although you probably will after reading it :D). This *amazing* graphic novel will grab you by the throat, and you'll struggle to put it down until you are done.

Believe it or not, this is better than his Sin City work (by a long way) and better than the popular 300 (by a long long long long way).

Guaranteed to make your heart beat faster, claustrophobic and tense, this is sheer genius, and definetely in the Top Ten graphic novels of all time. Many would say it is #1. If you have any interest in comics, BUY it now.

The only downside to readig this, is that you will look long and hard before you reach these dizzy heights again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius piece of graphic novel..., 26 Jun 2007
I have to admit, I was pretty hesistant about buying this graphic novel. Being very inexperienced in reading such a genre (had only read Sin City 1-6 graphic novels previous to this one) I didn't really want to branch out to anything vastly different from what I had already experienced. With that in mind, I thought Frank Miller would be a pretty good bet. From his Sin City series, I had grown a certain respect for his art and storytelling so was eager to find something by him. After finding Batman: Dark Knight Returns and seeing its average of 5 stars, I was pretty reassured that this was the right graphic novel to buy. Thankfully Miller reproduces his gritty images and language to give a whole new perspective to the life of Batman. Throughout the book you see the darker side of the 'Dark Knight' and the troubles he has to cope with in such a plagued city. The whole story is excellent, both in the polictical aspects as well as the action sequences. I would seriously recommend this to an inexperienced graphic novel reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Batman, 12 Aug 2009
By 
C. Cardwell (Wigan, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Dark Knight Returns was recommended to me by a friend who suggested that without it, there would be no cinema Batman as portrayed by Michael Keaton and Christian Bale (let's leave Val Kilmer and George Clooney aside!)

In it, Batman is ageing and bitter, and has suppressed the Dark Knight to live full time as Bruce Wayne. But looking around an increasingly liberal and permissive world, he finds that he cannot stand by and do nothing.

Batman is portrayed as the real man, for whom Wayne is a mask, and he is an unapologetic right-wing militant. Whilst I disagree with Miller's portrayal of a liberal world as an inherently wrong one, it is an exemplary study of what drives Bruce Wayne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is no better graphic novel available., 29 Dec 1999
By A Customer
I bought and read this book at Xmas 1986,having not read a superhero comic/graphic novel for about 10 years.It made me realise how much I loved and missed the world of DC and Marvel.Since then I have been as avid a fan as I ever was, but I have to say that this novel is unmatched by anything I've read either before or after.Bruce Wayne is old,Batman is a story parents tell their kids to frighten them and Gotham City is more violent than ever.All the ingredients are there for a dramatic and violent return of the dark knight.A lot of the old characters are in there-Superman(and the showdown that was always on the cards)Green Arrow,Catwoman and THE JOKER.If you really thought you knew how much of an evil psycopath this guy is then read this novel and think again.There is only one true super villain-buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If Clint Eastwood were cast as Batman..., 1 May 2009
...I think would be the result.

It doesn't get much grittier than this. Right from the off it's a great story and doesn't let up with the action. Embittered and forced out of a self-enforced retirement, Bats rocks up with a lot to do. Again, I'm a shameless fan of the big, black bat but this should serve as a great read to anyone interested to see what happens when superhero's grow old.

There's more than a few faces from his past that show to help and hinder in varying measures in a bleak situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best modern graphic novel, 18 Sep 1999
Batman: The Dark Knight Returns is the ultimate Batman novel. Without reverting to murder, an older Batman becomes the ultimate vigilante, violent, sage and ultimately efficient. While Superman becomes a slave to a bureaucratic legalistic policital system, Batman remains an icon of pure justice, a force of biblical retribution and redemption. Despite its age this remains an incredibly drawn novel and the story is extremely well scripted. For now, this is the ultimate graphic novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the reason adults still buy comics, 18 July 2002
'Comic' just doesn't apply to some of the mature and intelligent graphic novels available on the market today. Dark Knight Returns is a prime example. Here Frank Miller brings his gritty, gothic, noir style and stamps it all over the franchise. With an aging Bruce Wayne slowly going round the bend as he battles to lead a 'normal life', fighting against his conscience to turn the other cheek, the Joker is released from jail after a 'full mental recovery'.Gotham City is plagued by a new breed of criminal and soon the Batmans voice will have to be heard.
This graphic novel is a landmark in the comics book industry, being one of the biggest and longest selling novels ever. With appearances from old flames, brothers in arms and the perfectly handled appearance of a new Robin, this is familiar territory in a futuristic Gotham on boiling point. Add to this the ultimate showdown between the All American Boyscout (Superman)and the Dark Knight himself (yes, the movie question on everyones lips today was answered years ago) and you STILL haven't scratched the surface.
Buy it.
Read it.
Love it.
'Peel'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A modern Batman for a modern age., 9 July 2013
This review is from: Batman Dark Knight Returns TP (Paperback)
The way people have gone on and on about this book, it didn't seem logical not to read it. People have promoted this as being the greatest graphic novel of all time. I don't really agree, but it was nonetheless a good read.

An aged Batman comes out of retirement, with a new Robin and a new approach to crime fighting, into a Gotham that has fallen to ruin under the new crime wave of the criminal gang 'The Mutants' and corruption of the law. Along the way, he encounters old nemeses and old comrades as well as new ones as he continues the seemingly un-winnable fight against crime.

One thing that I will say is that this book really helped to get Batman out of his awkward 1960s campiness and reintroduced him into a cynical and dark approach to comics. Much like Alan Moore's Watchmen, this book views the mythos of Batman in a more satirical, gritty and realistic light, showing that there are consequences to everything that happens. Miller's writing shows that things are never so black-and-white as in more mainstream comics. Batman's unwillingness to do bad things and to follow a moral code can only take one so far, and sometimes tough decisions haave to be made for the greater good. If only Frank Miller hadn't turned into the narcissistic, sexist and racist writer he has become today. At least in here, there was a point to everything that happened.

Miller's art varies between good and bad. I don't know how to describe it. Many times the art is scary and dynamic and badass, as we want, but then come sequences such as the television broadcasts, where the panels (shaped as tv sets) are so small that the characters look almost comically underdrawn and rather painful to look at. I couldn't say I hate the art, considering how it is reflective of the bleakness of the storyline, but if there had been more consistency, that would have helped a little.

So, while I do not agree that it's as good as its reputation, it's still a must-have for any Batman fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Batman Dark Knight Returns TP
Batman Dark Knight Returns TP by Frank Miller (Paperback - 25 Jan 2006)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews