Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Consciousness Workout in a Book!
Prometheus Rising has a terrible new-age cover. Don't let that put you off. Inside lies a truly remarkable book that will turn your thinking about the world on its head, or at least illustrate how everyone else in the world sees it differently.
Full of humour, fascinating thought experiments and plenty of exercises (like believing that your mail is being intercepted...
Published on 17 Nov 2002 by ohbounder

versus
13 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Abit dissapointed after good reviews..
This is a book about how you can make the most out of your brain. The author is clearly very intelligent and knows the subject very well but alot of the book is very hard to understand because its written in so much jargon. I think the book would have been so much better if it were made simpler and easier to read. You do learn why we behave the way we do and how first...
Published on 21 Sep 2008 by bookreader


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wilson can fix your reality tunnel!, 16 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Prometheus Rising (Paperback)
Robert Anton Wilson said that we only really have two choices when we get out of bed in the morning. We can choose to be pessimists or we can choose to be optimists; there is no third way, it truly is that simple, you know, but Wilson points out that most people don't get it because they are so bogged down in their life situation, they become what they experience. A dark cloud replaces the sunshine for these experiencers of the mass culture, and they end up believing in the sh't that they are consuming; they believe that the box is the reality and some even become deterministic in character. Wilson said that lost souls always choose pessimism and the more rational choose nihilism, all of the time. Wilson, on the other hand, chose babbling optimism, all of the time and so shall I. Optimism is the best way of seeing the world because we do have a choice, which is the point, isn't it?

So this is why Robert Anton Wilson chose to be an optimist; because he would rather write about he himself being God Almighty than the other guy being God Almighty, the trendier, and easier, moaning about materialism and science and the darkening of colour that these ontologies cause in our lives, and, to add to this moaning, also the way intelligent people choose a nihilist picture, instead of recognising the God within; you get the picture, I hope. Robert Anton Wilson was not belittling the nihilists because, well if we are honest, most people see the world as a machinery of hell, with little purpose but to war, die and to ruin even that! For nihilists, the shattered God still dwells in his ruins; but He is a ghost who is never to be taken seriously again because no one believes in him anymore, like Father Christmas, a skeleton of stones amongst the ruins of the world. Do you see how this worldview easily turns into the belief, no, the worship, of nothingness? Now for optimists to deny this logic would be disrespectful to their life situation. History confirms the evil, they say, and science argues that they are void anyway, or biological robots and, to paraphrase Marc Antony, I have neither the wit, nor the words, nor worth; action, nor utterance, nor the power of speech, to stir men's blood. Instead, I choose optimism and this is as good as it gets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful and entertaining, 18 Dec 2011
By 
Laura De Giorgio "hypnotherapist" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prometheus Rising (Paperback)
This book explains human experience in terms of biological circuits and imprints. It is one "model" of the experience and as such it is interesting and it is valid. Together with the outline and explanation of different imprints and how they are formed, Wilson provides exercises so that the reader can come to his own conclusions through his own experience. After all, the only way to truly understand something is through experience - the rest will remain mere theory and speculation.

I have conducted number of the experiments from this book, even before I picked up this book and can attest to their validity. Some were spontaneous discoveries due to my life-long interest of experimenting with influence of one's mind, beliefs and expectations upon the experiences in one's life; other experiments were inspired by reading numerous other books and wanting to find out what happens if I do this or that.

The exercises provided in this book are only a starting point, but a very good one.

It is entirely true that a person who has been meditating for years, will have certain realizations and will be able to intentionally do things which are still considered impossible to those who have not activated certain neuro-biological circuits.

And as far as the coin experiment goes - I have friends who have found few hundred dollars lying on the street, or rather, in the subway, not ony one coin.

As the popular motto in quantum physics goes: "the expectations of the Observer determine the outcome of the experiment."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book which explains consciousness most lucidly., 11 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Prometheus Rising (Paperback)
This book is a truly excellent one. It deals with Timothy Leary's 8-circuit model of consciousness, and explains it in an exciting fun way. I couldn't put it down until I finished it, and then I read it again. This is one of the most important books of the 20th century, and if you even have an inkling that you might like it, I urge you to buy it. You will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lot of great ideas and it will give you a greater understanding of yourself, 2 Feb 2008
By 
Kuma "kuma" (Reading, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prometheus Rising (Paperback)
I read a double-header of RAW books, this and Quantum Psychology and made the mistake of reading this earlier book second! Prometheus Rising is adapted from a PhD thesis for some hippy university. It seems largely derived from ideas of Timothy Leary but then RAW is an old hippy and it is not entirely surprising! Basically it discusses the idea that our brains have 8 different circuits of consciousness which are continually in development, and being aware of these can help us make better uses of our brains.

The downside of the book is that it is a little bit theory heavy which goes against the structure, but really that is down to RAW knowing so much and having so much to say. However, Quantum Psychology goes beyond the ideas in this book and I'd recommend going straight to that unless you're a completist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Three, 4 Dec 2009
By 
A. C. Green - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prometheus Rising (Paperback)
Hardcore Zen, the Dice Man, Prometheus Rising. Spend your life meditating and reading only these three books and you will become spiritually Enlightened. Promise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gives you a completely new perspective on reality..., 6 Oct 2006
By 
J. Anderson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prometheus Rising (Paperback)
In my opinion offers a view of human psychology that is more valuable than NLP. This book will enable you to 1) gain a great deal of insight into yourself, and how your psychology, personality and emotions have been shaped by genetics and circumstance 2) offer you methods which you may use to take hold of your own consciousness, break out of your conditioning and start to experience completely different aspects of reality. Most of us are still asleep mentally, running on autopilots shaped by genetic predispositions and past condition, what the author refers to as "domesticated primates". This book will give you the tools and insight you need to really exercise freedom of choice, better understanding yourself and others. Truly brilliant, I've never read anything like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars proethius rising, 24 Oct 2009
By 
Y. yakesh "autism" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prometheus Rising (Paperback)
This book gave me insight into psychologicl, spiritual and philisophical ideas i knew existed and found them here - i recommend this book to anyone interested in human thinking and behaviour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mindblowing, 26 April 2012
This review is from: Prometheus Rising (Paperback)
Wilson not only explains the cognitive ideas of such disparate thinkers as Leary, Korzybski, Crowley and Sagan in a manner most laymen readily understand, he also convincingly points out just what these guys have in common, and where they differ. This book clarifies so many issues on consciousness I have always wondered about and few issues I haven't even thought of wondering about.......Yet!
An enlightening book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The thinker thinks, the prover..., 3 May 2010
This review is from: Prometheus Rising (Paperback)
Good book. Really good book. Can't say that I agree with everything Wilson says, but the book isn't about agreeing. Its well written, engaging and covers such a wide range of topics, ideas and insights that's really made me go back and rethink life the universe and everything, and then rethink how I rethink. Guerrilla ontology at its finest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank You Mr. Wilson, 25 Mar 2010
By 
Jb Shubitz - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prometheus Rising (Paperback)
This book already understands you so take some time to understand it. Even if you don't agree with it all, let it soften your ego a bit. There are great benifits for the individual and the world in this work and I admire that people think on this level. Empowering, enlightening, delighting, frightening, heightening. It's ALL in here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prometheus Rising
Prometheus Rising by Robert Anton Wilson (Paperback - 1 May 1988)
£16.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews