Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Consciousness Workout in a Book!
Prometheus Rising has a terrible new-age cover. Don't let that put you off. Inside lies a truly remarkable book that will turn your thinking about the world on its head, or at least illustrate how everyone else in the world sees it differently.
Full of humour, fascinating thought experiments and plenty of exercises (like believing that your mail is being intercepted...
Published on 17 Nov 2002 by ohbounder

versus
12 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Abit dissapointed after good reviews..
This is a book about how you can make the most out of your brain. The author is clearly very intelligent and knows the subject very well but alot of the book is very hard to understand because its written in so much jargon. I think the book would have been so much better if it were made simpler and easier to read. You do learn why we behave the way we do and how first...
Published on 21 Sep 2008 by bookreader


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Three, 4 Dec 2009
By 
A. C. Green - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prometheus Rising (Paperback)
Hardcore Zen, the Dice Man, Prometheus Rising. Spend your life meditating and reading only these three books and you will become spiritually Enlightened. Promise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book which explains consciousness most lucidly., 11 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Prometheus Rising (Paperback)
This book is a truly excellent one. It deals with Timothy Leary's 8-circuit model of consciousness, and explains it in an exciting fun way. I couldn't put it down until I finished it, and then I read it again. This is one of the most important books of the 20th century, and if you even have an inkling that you might like it, I urge you to buy it. You will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lot of great ideas and it will give you a greater understanding of yourself, 2 Feb 2008
By 
David Hampson "kuma" (Reading, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prometheus Rising (Paperback)
I read a double-header of RAW books, this and Quantum Psychology and made the mistake of reading this earlier book second! Prometheus Rising is adapted from a PhD thesis for some hippy university. It seems largely derived from ideas of Timothy Leary but then RAW is an old hippy and it is not entirely surprising! Basically it discusses the idea that our brains have 8 different circuits of consciousness which are continually in development, and being aware of these can help us make better uses of our brains.

The downside of the book is that it is a little bit theory heavy which goes against the structure, but really that is down to RAW knowing so much and having so much to say. However, Quantum Psychology goes beyond the ideas in this book and I'd recommend going straight to that unless you're a completist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The reason this book is so great..., 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prometheus Rising (Paperback)
...is that it offers you an opportunity to radically challenge everything you believe in about the world and yourself. And that it gives you an unique, fresh view at human personality. The description of the four "basic" levels of consciousness is spot-on and much easier to understand than in Leary's work. A lot of the stuff later in the book may be hard to verify, but unlike other New-Agey authors, R.A.W. doesn't want you to believe him, no he wants to inspire you and make you question everything.
Indeed, it is wise, to take this book with a grain of salt - especially when science is discussed, much in the book is either inprecise or outdated or both. But that doesn't cut away at its signifiance. Oh, and it can be ridiculously funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expand your boundaries of thought, 6 May 2010
By 
D. Campbell (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prometheus Rising (Paperback)
Simply a fantastic book.

Witty, challenging, deep thoughts written with a certain lightness.
Wilson doesn't ever pretend to "know" anything but merely presents A model of information.
What you make of his points of view and observations is entirely up to you. This makes
it a great read because I hate being told what to think because anyone who "knows"
what they're on about simply hasn't lived long enough or done enough to know you
can always be wrong.

As a side note, the relationship between Wilson's ideas about immortality and
his death shows how even R.A.W get's it wrong sometime, however his optimism
shows how he chose a more useful more fun way of living.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The thinker thinks, the prover..., 3 May 2010
This review is from: Prometheus Rising (Paperback)
Good book. Really good book. Can't say that I agree with everything Wilson says, but the book isn't about agreeing. Its well written, engaging and covers such a wide range of topics, ideas and insights that's really made me go back and rethink life the universe and everything, and then rethink how I rethink. Guerrilla ontology at its finest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank You Mr. Wilson, 25 Mar 2010
By 
Jb Shubitz - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prometheus Rising (Paperback)
This book already understands you so take some time to understand it. Even if you don't agree with it all, let it soften your ego a bit. There are great benifits for the individual and the world in this work and I admire that people think on this level. Empowering, enlightening, delighting, frightening, heightening. It's ALL in here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars proethius rising, 24 Oct 2009
By 
Y. yakesh "autism" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prometheus Rising (Paperback)
This book gave me insight into psychologicl, spiritual and philisophical ideas i knew existed and found them here - i recommend this book to anyone interested in human thinking and behaviour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something to wrap your mind around, 31 Oct 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Prometheus Rising (Paperback)
I have read a great many of Mr. Wilsons books, including "Illuminatus","Masks of the Illuminati","Cosmic Trigger", and this one,"Prometheus Rising". Robert has the most incredible wit, along with the most free-thinking mind I've encountered outside Hakim Bey. His prescription for breaking free of our "reality tunnels" and his depiction of Tim Leary's 8-circuit model of consciousness makes this my favorite. It was one of those books that excited me from start to finish. I wanted to tell everyone about it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book., 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prometheus Rising (Paperback)
Wilson's book is actually very practical and can be applied to day to day life and experience. The 4 higher circuits of the brain that he describes are (I believe ) actually used all the time by most of us. They are not as rare as you may at first think. Anyone who has smoked weed has probably accessed the 5th circuit. The 6th and 7th circuits are most likely reserved for those of us who have had extreme mental trauma; Very painful and troublesome childhood, taking some class A drugs, having a psychotic experience. The 8th circuit is special; supposedly you become capable of using ESP while in this circuit according to Wilson, and Wilson reputes that you can access it with LSD. My theory about this circuit is that if you happen to suffer from schizophrenia, you might be able to access this circuit, maybe.

Its a practical piece of work, this book. Read it if you want your mind blown and life changed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb1b8830c)

This product

Prometheus Rising
Prometheus Rising by Robert Anton Wilson (Paperback - 1 May 1988)
£12.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews