Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Consciousness Workout in a Book!
Prometheus Rising has a terrible new-age cover. Don't let that put you off. Inside lies a truly remarkable book that will turn your thinking about the world on its head, or at least illustrate how everyone else in the world sees it differently.
Full of humour, fascinating thought experiments and plenty of exercises (like believing that your mail is being intercepted...
Published on 17 Nov 2002 by ohbounder

versus
12 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Abit dissapointed after good reviews..
This is a book about how you can make the most out of your brain. The author is clearly very intelligent and knows the subject very well but alot of the book is very hard to understand because its written in so much jargon. I think the book would have been so much better if it were made simpler and easier to read. You do learn why we behave the way we do and how first...
Published on 21 Sep 2008 by bookreader


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Consciousness Workout in a Book!, 17 Nov 2002
This review is from: Prometheus Rising (Paperback)
Prometheus Rising has a terrible new-age cover. Don't let that put you off. Inside lies a truly remarkable book that will turn your thinking about the world on its head, or at least illustrate how everyone else in the world sees it differently.
Full of humour, fascinating thought experiments and plenty of exercises (like believing that your mail is being intercepted and looking for the evidence), Prometheus Rising joyfully dissects how we see the universe using examples, analogies and metaphors that will have you laugh out loud. Wilson, a genius of the first order, introduces us to a new way of thinking about money (bio survival tickets) self (reality tunnels) and a zillion other things.
This is not a self help book, but you could conceivably help yourself by buying it. Insights and Profound Understanding guaranteed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone needs this Book, 5 Sep 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Prometheus Rising (Paperback)
Quite simply one of the best books ever. This book is part-philosophy, part-psychology and part-occult science. Based somewhat on Tim Leary's 8-circuit model of consciousness this is certainly the most lucid theories of mind I've ever read. No review could really do it justice, just buy it and see.
The world needs this knowledge!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars its circuits, circuits, circuits all the way down!, 16 Oct 2007
By 
AGT Lowe "ink licker" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prometheus Rising (Paperback)
i read this book first off several years ago and have re-read it many times since.

this is one of wilsons most straight forward books, that it obviously not saying much as it blends leary, gurdjief, crowley, psychology together into a multi-layered model.

if you have read any other of wilsons books you will be familiar with the term 'reality tunnels' a.k.a the reality, personlaity, belief system we are viewing the owrld thru now. a jew would view a swastika diffrently to a nazi for example, while two humanoids would have slightly diffrent staements after viewing the ame car crash.

this book explores and greatly adds to leary's 8 circuit model and shows you how these circuits operate in your life and how to change them.

another good book on this model is antero alli's 'angel tech' and any book on chaos magic that talks about beliefs like carrolls 'liber knull and psychonaught' or phil hine's 'prime chaos.'

basically by tracking and adding subtracting habits and recognizing where your machanical robot-brain circuits program your reality of life you can change your hardwired imprints and live a better life.

if you are constantly nervous and overeaat you most likely have circuit 1 (oral, survival cirucit) problems, if you have sexual issues (circuit 4), terratorial, power issues (circuit 2) and best of all how you can leap chapel perilous (dark night of the soul) and enter the fun, intelligence raising, higher circuts which used to be called enlightenment.

who is reading this right now? Is there life on earth?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning insights into consciousness, 28 Nov 2002
By 
This review is from: Prometheus Rising (Paperback)
This book completely changed my perception of how we function. Wilson not only explains the cognitive ideas of such disparate thinkers as Leary, Korzybski, Crowley and Sagan in a manner most laymen readily understand, he also convincingly points out just what these guys have in common, and where they differ. This book clarifies so many issues on consciousness I have always wondered about and few issues I haven't even thought of wondering about. Read this book now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TAKE OWNERSHIP OF SPACESHIP SELF, 27 Dec 2006
By 
A. Jackson "Astral projection" (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prometheus Rising (Paperback)
This book changed my life, direction wise anyway. I highly recommend it to each and every human entity that crosses it's path. Truth rarely comes to any of us, but this book helps to understand how we can understand.

It "is" important that you do the exercises at the end of each section though, and once you have, re-read the section before and you will get a whole load of jokes that are hidden in it. This man (Robert Anton Wilson) has a rich and diverse way of threading gut wrenching humour in at all points in his writing, and I applaud him for this.

I read this book 3 times in a row and noticed so much more with each read, it truly showed me how we blind ourselves to the world around us and the world inside of us, it also explained why we are all so different and the same.

I believe this book "is" a journey book, if you get given it by a friend then read it straight away, it was meant to be in your hands. If you get it as a gift then get stuck in and don't believe everything you read, because a lot of it could be smuck.

If you are the kind of person who wishes to open their mind and go on a wild adventure known as life itself, then step on in to the wonderful map of Mr Wilson, this book seems to be a fine place to start based on my experience with this discordian pope (I am one too by the way, and now that you have read this, you are now POPE, there are quite a few popes now!)

BUY THIS BOOK, or borrow it, receive or give it, just make sure it somehow passes under your nose...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The search for truth, 19 April 2004
This review is from: Prometheus Rising (Paperback)
This is a wonderful book for anyone interested in the truth of existance. Mr. Wilson has many fresh and interesting insights into the world of the human mind - which for humans is the only world there is. I was often struck by the clarity with which this books presents rather complicated ideas and the scope of topics discussed, from magik to physicology. This book is definetely a good buy if you want to explore different ways of looking at reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Read this book with an open mind, and you will gain a lot of insight, 12 Feb 2013
This review is from: Prometheus Rising (Paperback)
"Don't judge a book by its cover" is good advice for this one. For 3 years, neither the cover nor the description on the back motivated me to read it (it was the persistent recommendation of a friend of mine).

Robert Anton Wilson connects different psychological and historical theories with neuroscience to explain levels of consciousness from which individuals and societies operate. Based on this, he explains insight-fully how the world is not the same for any one person, and how we can understand different "reality tunnels" better. If you understand his model of the 8 brain circuits, you will never again look at people, the world and concepts such as science, money, military or politics the same way. The book provides a profound understanding of the evolution of human consciousness, and brings forth the message that we are meant to rise to higher levels of futuristic circuits.

Some limitations:
=> Reading the book was at times not easy, Wilson adds many references to unknown authors or stories without explaining them adequately to the reader. His writing style is nerdy, it sometimes feels like he is writing for a circle of friends. But there are nuggets of brilliant insights all throughout the book.
=> It is sometimes difficult to distinguish scientifically proven facts from personal speculation. Some of his predictions in the book about the future of mankind have been proven wrong (e. g. that life extension drugs will be widely available in the year 2010, and most of humanity will have migrated towards space by 2026).
=> The book is classified as Psychology/Self Help. However, it goes way beyond academic psychology and some of his exercises are very difficult/impractical to perform (e. g. "take a course in Kungfu for 3 months, then re-read this chapter"). Others are mind-blowing and foster empathy and wisdom.

Amongst others, one can find references to Transactional Analysis, Neuroscience, Yoga, Tarot, Astrology and Jung's Archetypes in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating read that challenges the way you think, 16 July 2007
This review is from: Prometheus Rising (Paperback)
I wouldn't call Prometheus Rising "life changing", as many others have (mainly the people who recommended it to me) - I think that the book should be read with a certain level of scepticism and an eye for pseudo-science. However, Prometheus Rising does present a lot of interesting theories about human thought and behaviour, and encourages the reader to engage with the text, instead of just taking everything it says at face value. In a way, the fact that I felt the need to challenge what Robert Anton Wilson writes, and mentally argue against certain sections, is a sign that the book has succeeded.

But what is the book actually about? It's a selection of cherry-picked theories across psychology, economics, politics, evolutionary biology, language, and many other fields, presented in a clear and humorous style. Sometimes it slips into a flavour of B.S., but whenever it does you get the feeling it might be intentional and parodying.

In terms of expanding the scope of one's thoughts and breaking out of conventional ways of looking at things, Prometheus Rising is a must read book. As I've tried to explain, the point of the book is not so much the precise content (though several of the theories seem entirely plausible and almost all have agreeable components), it's the style: the, at times confrontational, and at other times informal, way that new, revolutionary, and sometimes crackpot ideas are thrust at the reader, who is simply told "deal with it". The constant references to Finnegan's Wake only add to the intrigue.

Well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gives you a completely new perspective on reality..., 6 Oct 2006
By 
J. Anderson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prometheus Rising (Paperback)
In my opinion offers a view of human psychology that is more valuable than NLP. This book will enable you to 1) gain a great deal of insight into yourself, and how your psychology, personality and emotions have been shaped by genetics and circumstance 2) offer you methods which you may use to take hold of your own consciousness, break out of your conditioning and start to experience completely different aspects of reality. Most of us are still asleep mentally, running on autopilots shaped by genetic predispositions and past condition, what the author refers to as "domesticated primates". This book will give you the tools and insight you need to really exercise freedom of choice, better understanding yourself and others. Truly brilliant, I've never read anything like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LIfe altering:prepare for reality to melt, 4 Mar 2005
This review is from: Prometheus Rising (Paperback)
What the thinker thinks the prover proves. I simply was not prepared for the path which Mr Wilson led me down. Since reading this book 3 years ago I have never looked at the world in the same way. The author is erudite,witty and not at all condescending. By writing in E-Prime he leads you easily into chapel perilous...hinting at other avenues of exploration which if you follow will be rewarding in the extreme. PLease read this book!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prometheus Rising
Prometheus Rising by Robert Anton Wilson (Paperback - 1 May 1988)
£15.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews