Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing
This is THE most amazing book I have ever red, when it comes to losing weight.
For years I've had weight problems, and I had come to the point where I was sick and tired of all those different diets. Yes they work for a bit, but then it's back to old habbits, and here we go again.
Finally after I red this book, I know why I've been eating, and witch emotions...
Published on 22 May 2009 by M. L. Suarez

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Probably great for someone who has been abused!
I got it because I like Doreen Virtue's books and thought it would help me to loose some weight. But though there were good things in there I found that it didn't really appertain to me. As I said it will probably great for someone who has been abused as it takes you through stages and it could be a comfort to them!
Published 10 months ago by janedoe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 22 May 2009
By 
M. L. Suarez (Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Losing Your Pounds Of Pain: Breaking the Link Between Abuse, Stress and Overeating (Paperback)
This is THE most amazing book I have ever red, when it comes to losing weight.
For years I've had weight problems, and I had come to the point where I was sick and tired of all those different diets. Yes they work for a bit, but then it's back to old habbits, and here we go again.
Finally after I red this book, I know why I've been eating, and witch emotions have been hidden beneath all of these pounds.
Suddenly I'm listening to my body's signals, which I have never done before, my hunger is not there any more, I feel content inside myself. and it's such a huge relief, and the best part is that I'm losing my pounds.
Every body who has a weight issue and who really is ready to get to the core, because there is no point if you are not ready to go deep inside yourself, should get this book, and open up, get rid of all these ghosts which is hiding inside our pounds, and be FREE.

Get this book
She has managed to get
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This book helps to lessen the pain, 29 Dec 2008
By 
Danica Thomas "Daniera_xXx" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Losing Your Pounds Of Pain: Breaking the Link Between Abuse, Stress and Overeating (Paperback)
To an extent I believe everyone is an abuse survivor. This world is crazy.

I only give this book 4 instead of 5 because i tend to undereat rather than overeat. overall i found this the book interesting to read, honest and helpful.

you may find the stories in the book helpful even though the stories and examples are in graphic detail. some readers may find the stories disturbing. some may even resonate with them.

Doreen makes it quite clear throughout her book that everything that has happened to you at that time WAS NOT your fault. (innocent, irresponsible, naive little child)

i have read and re read this book countless times as a reminder to stop living life as a victim. doreens does give solutions which are practical and easy to follow.
she also gives her own examples of abuse that she endured as a young 20 something housewife.

to help "lose the pounds of pain" she give examples of things for you to do such as cardiovascular exercise and also counselling/therapy and the use of affirmations written and audio (audio are more powerful when recorded in our own voices (it is very effective on our own sub consciousness)

i think that this book is an essential collection to any abuse survivor and that the healing process is an on going experience with no time limit.

expect many emotions and locked memories to surface from your subconscious mind but if you continue this book will help you and you'll experience the end result of feeling; peace of mind, self forgiveness and weight loss and body relaxation (ease of tense muscles, fists, clenched jaws etc)

i believe theses are well worth it.

invest in this book, be brave and courageous and take your time there is no time limit and release the pain from the past as well as the misery and excess pounds on your body.

good luck xxxxxxxxxxxx

this book will help you to release the FATS on your body. she has turned the word FATS into a very powerful affirmation

I Forgive Accept and Trust my Self (FATS). and also
i can Forget All That Stuff (also spelling FATS)

because as Doreen states it is never too late to have a happy child hood and life.

100% recommended to any survivor of any abuse. give it a chance to help you lose your pounds of pain possibly forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is so me!, 15 Dec 2009
By 
Ms. J. Round "lightseeker" (midlands uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Losing Your Pounds Of Pain: Breaking the Link Between Abuse, Stress and Overeating (Paperback)
I am halfway through this at the moment and don't want to put it down.I found myself reading this thinking "Gosh,this is so me".I am always thinking i am not an overeater,i am an undereater.This book makes you look at yourself and shows you the patterns you tend to ignore.It opens your eyes up to emotional abuse from your upbringing that you class as "normal".You don't feel you were abused but when it's pointed out to you,realisation hits.I was astonished when Doreen Virtue says if you have parents who drank a lot of alcohol,you're probably a sugar and carb fiend.Hands up!That's me.She tells you not to lay blame ,just leave it lying there and move on.You can't change the past but you can change the future,your future.Very inspirational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book to deal with difficult issues in your life, 12 Oct 2009
I thought this was a great book by Doreen Virtue. I love her books and I think this would help someone through some difficult times they have been through. It names especially areas like sexual abuse and violence and traumatic experience that make us over eat and then out on weight. Its very interesting and well worth a read if you are into that type of book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Losing Your Pounds Of Pain: Breaking the Link Between Abuse, Stress and Overeating (Paperback)
This is another one of Doreen's well written books. It does concentrate mainly on the effects of abuse/neglect on overeating and if you fall into this category then it will be the book for you. If like me, you just love food and too much of it, you might be better reading "Break the Pattern of yo-yo dieting forever" which covers a bit more about emotional eating rather than the effects of abuse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish!, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very poor example of metaphysical writing, a rehash of much better previous books by other authors, what a rip off..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Probably great for someone who has been abused!, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Losing Your Pounds Of Pain: Breaking the Link Between Abuse, Stress and Overeating (Paperback)
I got it because I like Doreen Virtue's books and thought it would help me to loose some weight. But though there were good things in there I found that it didn't really appertain to me. As I said it will probably great for someone who has been abused as it takes you through stages and it could be a comfort to them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing great, 19 Jun 2013
By 
Edith "brookie" (Woking, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Losing Your Pounds Of Pain: Breaking the Link Between Abuse, Stress and Overeating (Paperback)
I bought this book after watching an interview of Doreen Virtue. This book did not do much for me, infact reading all the stories of people who overate was depressing after a point. I thought it was pointless filling chapter after chapter with these stories of people who were suffering from eating disorders. Then again I have read a lot of similar books. So didn't work for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Right On, 2 May 2013
By 
R. M. Cole (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Losing Your Pounds Of Pain: Breaking the Link Between Abuse, Stress and Overeating (Paperback)
Doreen Virtue is so amazing. This book is brilliant in every way. Both I and my wife think it's a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Losing your pounds of pain, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Losing Your Pounds Of Pain: Breaking the Link Between Abuse, Stress and Overeating (Paperback)
This book is very positive and helps to understand life problems. I would recommend this book to anyone who feels the need to explore into certain means of unhappiness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Losing Your Pounds Of Pain: Breaking the Link Between Abuse, Stress and Overeating
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews