Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


154 of 159 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last - a Map of Consciousness!
I think this is the most interesting, inspiring and useful book I've ever read. Dr Hawkins has the capacity to make even the introduction and Appendices completely fascinating! A rare being, where a scientific mind is connected to a spiritually enlightened heart, Dr Hawkins reports on over 20 years of muscle-testing on the theme of human consciousness. In this method,...
Published on 7 July 2002 by J. Rees

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pseudoscientific New Religious Movement
"The International College of Applied Kinesiology and its current and past two presidents, John Diamond and applied kinesiologists in general, as well as scientists and scientific skeptics, do not accept as workable Hawkins applied kinesiology." -Arjuna Aletheia, Secrets of David R. Hawkins: Hawkins Applied Kinesiology

"L. Ron Hubbard's emotional tone...
Published 14 months ago by Edmund Knightley


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

154 of 159 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last - a Map of Consciousness!, 7 July 2002
By 
J. Rees (london, enfield United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Power vs. Force: The Hidden Determinants of Human Behavior (Paperback)
I think this is the most interesting, inspiring and useful book I've ever read. Dr Hawkins has the capacity to make even the introduction and Appendices completely fascinating! A rare being, where a scientific mind is connected to a spiritually enlightened heart, Dr Hawkins reports on over 20 years of muscle-testing on the theme of human consciousness. In this method, where subjects either go weak or strong, the human body itself proves to be the amazingly sensitive and responsive tool needed to construct a complete map of every level of human consciousness. Dr Hawkins presents his findings in such easily understood forms as the Map of Consciousness, where he relates God view, Life-View and Emotions with levels of awareness on an ascending scale from Shame (20) to Enlghtenment (1000). He also calibrates the Truth rating of each chapter of the book! It all makes perfect sense of the world and people's different views and realities. Having proved that higher levels of consciousness bring greater levels of Power, the point of seeking enlightenment becomes a bit easier for the Western mind to understand! The secret of raising our level of consciousness is to choose the thoughts and influences that add to our power - ( a truthful statement adds to our power, while a lie takes our power away.) It's what all the great spiritual teachers of the past have been trying to get across to us, but in Dr Hawkins, I think the message may finally have found a presenter who can get through to us!
It's a must-read for anyone wanting to understand themselves, and society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intense and Intelligent Spirituality, 1 May 2003
This review is from: Power vs. Force: The Hidden Determinants of Human Behavior (Paperback)
One of very few spiritual books where you actually learn something new, exciting and of everyday value for the rest of your life or even the next 10 000 lives. In a mix of Kinesiologic muscle testing, emotional scales and advanced science Hawkins maps out an extremely accurate map of conscioussness that has up to now never failed me in evaluating the vibrational quality of everything else...teachings, books, foods, products, beliefs, states, moods, people, events, movies...anything that exists. A must read for anyone interested in spirituality, enlightenment, psychology, human behaviour, and life in general. The main realization of the book: True Power does not come from Force, but from...well, read it for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars profoundly important, 18 Dec 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power vs. Force: The Hidden Determinants of Human Behavior (Paperback)
This book draws upon insights from the field of kinesiology and energy psychology. It is based on the findings of psychiatrist John Diamond and others, that the body's muscle strenght can indicate the truth or falsehood of any particular idea or statement - and also that it is possible to ascertain the strengthening or weakening effect of any object, person, or idea. The body seems to have access to an extraordinary 'library' of information beyond conscious awareness. It is possible to 'muscle test' the validity of any statement or system of ideas or knowledge, including religious systems. This is a profoundly important and thought-provoking book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A new perspective on spiritual awareness, 7 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Power vs. Force: The Hidden Determinants of Human Behavior (Paperback)
Taken at face value this book offers a quite sensational technique (kinesiology) for establishing the level of truth surrounding just about anything one would care to think about. This assumes the question is asked in the correct way, the level of interaction with one's assistant is kept to a minimum, and that ones own 'calibration' level is sufficiently high enough to access the vast cosmic database that we are all purported to be connected to. My first nagging doubt is why Jesus, Buddha, Krishna, and other enlightened Avatars haven't pointed this out before now, it might have saved a lot of suffering!
Also I'm somewhat suspicious that America comes out as having the highest national 'calibration' level. Even though America may have a few very enlightened people that raise the average 'calibration' level of the nation, It strikes me there is a high degree of polarization. I am surprised that countries from the east such as India, Pakistan, Tibet, Nepal, and China to mention but a few don't calibrate higher. Their populous has been aquatinted with the concepts of Karma and rebirth, and the 'oneness' of man with the universe, as an integral part of every day life for millennia.
I also became quite confused trying to establish what my own 'calibration' level might be. I know that I am quite capable of experiencing the whole range of calibrated emotions outlined in the book from one day to the next, and I'm sure I'm not alone. How do I find my average?
However a very stimulating and interesting read for anyone seeking a new perspective on the world of spiritual knowledge and understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Incredible, 9 July 2004
By 
Mrs S K Chima (Camberley, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Power vs. Force: The Hidden Determinants of Human Behavior (Paperback)
This book is one of the most inspirational you will read. The preface hits you hard and you won't be able to stop reading. I sat down to read this at around 1am just to see what it was like before going to bed and found my self still reading at 5am. I recommend this to anyone and everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most important book I've ever read, 16 Mar 2009
This review is from: Power vs. Force: The Hidden Determinants of Human Behavior (Paperback)
I typically do not read many books, but this one came highly recommended and now I know why. It took me to a state of peace where all my thoughts stopped and you come to realize that your more than just yours thoughts and feelings.

I've never felt this way before, I don't know what more I can say other than you should read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pseudoscientific New Religious Movement, 17 Aug 2013
This review is from: Power vs. Force: The Hidden Determinants of Human Behavior (Paperback)
"The International College of Applied Kinesiology and its current and past two presidents, John Diamond and applied kinesiologists in general, as well as scientists and scientific skeptics, do not accept as workable Hawkins applied kinesiology." -Arjuna Aletheia, Secrets of David R. Hawkins: Hawkins Applied Kinesiology

"L. Ron Hubbard's emotional tone scale...may be considered as the most proper genesis of Hawkins' map..." -Arjuna Aletheia, Secrets of David R. Hawkins: Map of Consciousness

"Lee Iacocca, Sam Walton, and Mother Teresa...replied to having received the manuscript [of Power vs. Force]--they did not offer endorsements of it...Hawkins twisted the replies of Walton, Iacocca, and Mother Teresa to make them appear to be endorsements...[T]his was untruthful and unethical...After being introduced to Hawkins' work, many of his students (including myself) stopped questioning. We came to the conclusion that Hawkins had the truth, putting our faith in his calibration method...[Be cautious of] the destructive side of the Devotional Nonduality cult." -Scott Jeffrey, Power vs. Truth: Peering Behind the Teachings of David R. Hawkins (pp. 20-22, 196-97)

"It seems David's not interested in details and the accuracy of his statements...He has a tendency to exaggerate and a flair for the dramatic." -Scott Jeffrey, Doctor of Truth, The Life of David R. Hawkins (p. xiv)

"Terrifically interesting ideas, but caught in subtle reductionism and the myth of the given. All the `hidden determinants' [Hawkins] mentions in the subtitle are monological instead of tetra-logical." -Ken Wilber, Integral Spirituality: A Startling New Role for Religion in the Modern and Postmodern World (p. 286)

"One of the things [Hawkins] does is use [applied] kinesiology, which is muscle testing, to test the truthfulness of statements...making a kind of lie-detector test out of it...The hidden ego hook is that now the student's attention is being put on the wrong place, focused on an illusory test of an illusory thing in an illusory world...[Hawkins] calibrates different teachings at various levels, from 1 to 1,000. People love it...[But] the Course [says]...'Spirit has no levels, and all conflict arises from the concept of levels.'...Enlightenment has no levels...things like tests and calibrations distract the student...and all it really leads to is a lot of wasted time...Add the lie-detector test to the mix and you have a lifetime's worth of distractions...Don't be discouraged by those who borrow from the Course instead of teaching it." -Gary Renard (fellow controversial, Wayne Dyer-endorsed Hay House author), Your Immortal Reality: How to Break the Cycle of Birth and Death (pp. 196-98)

"There is a heavy use of pseudoscience when it fits and leaping to spirituality to fill in the gaps. If you are cautious about the leap, then you just are not sufficiently spiritual. Try a dab of appeal to authority combined with ad hominem to fill in the holes, i.e., the enlightened master has spoken and who are you to challenge these words?" -"Dr. Doctor David Hawkins's AK Quackery," The Skeptic's Dictionary Newsletter 58, August 23, 2005

"Dr. Hawkins has apparently taken a grandiose road less traveled, and...may have morphed into a malignant pied piper." -Peter Olsson, M.D., author, Malignant Pied Pipers of Our Time: A Psychological Study of Destructive Cult Leaders

"Special Thanks to...My spiritual teacher & Lord, Dr. David R. Hawkins...Literally growing up in a community which was deeply routed [sic] on a blind faith of the God of Kinesiology...At one point people would calibrate to form a cult, at another to commit to immoral or even illegal activities because their muscle testing would tell them to do so...[including testing] unlawful things like killing somebody." -Jakob Merchant, Hawkins student, CommunionWithLove.com

Muscle testing (applied kinesiology) "is no more useful than random guessing." -PubMed.gov

"Hawkins uses applied kinesiology, a New Age pseudoscience, to calibrate everyone and everything's level of consciousness in the universe. Jesus is at 1000 in his system, and Hawkins himself calibrates one of his books at 999.8. He believes he is God." -Cults.co.nz

"Hawkins Ph.D...was earned from Columbia Pacific University, an unaccredited diploma mill that was shut down by court order." -Dr. Robert Todd Carroll

"Hawkins...assertion that what he does is AK [applied kinesiology] is akin to suggesting that lancing boils is total medical practice. This type of testing is not part of any `approved AK material'..." -Eric Pierotti, President, International College of Applied Kinesiology (ICAK)

"Hawkins should certainly be able to use his arm-pressing technique to win our million-dollar prize!...But will he apply? No, of course not. Why? The answer is obvious." -James Randi, James Randi Educational Foundation

"Dr. Hawkins refers to the `absolute replicability of test results,' yet makes no mention that [applied] kinesiology has never been verified by [authentic] double-blind studies..." -Spiritualteachers.org

"David Hawkins attended one seminar of my husband's [John Diamond, M.D.] way back in the mid 1970's and that is it...Hawkins has had no training in Applied Kinesiology..." -Susan Diamond

"[A]ll [experts] consider Dr. Hawkins' version of applied kinesiology to not be true...[Offers] nothing more than his own personal delusions as your objective spiritual truth." -Guruphiliac

"When I heard that Hawkins was claiming to be able to use AK/muscle testing to discern the Truth of A-N-Y-T-H-I-N-G, I could instantly find a few major holes in such a proposition." -David Portney, AK expert

"Hawkins...has leaned rather too heavily on what turns out to be a thin stick...and [utilizes] a classic cult invalidation tactic..." -Sarlo's Guru Rating Service

"Hawkins...is a cult [leader] masquerading as a 'scientist' and making a lot of money in the process on his false claims." -quoted by International Cultic Studies Association (ICSA)

"I'm far from the only one disenchanted with this cult." -Marilyn Gang, Dowsers.info

"[A] truly twisted theory...cleverly [removes] the foundation on which we normally stand to detect deception..." -Mary-Sue Haliburton, PESWiki.com

"Most other cult leaders don't even pretend to be scientific and so they cannot be falsified by science...This is a cynical exploitation of science..." -John Smith

"I would caution against book [sic] as a tool of judgement to 'measure' the consciousness level of other people..." -Ilchi Lee (fellow controversial New Age practitioner, who was endorsed by David Hawkins)

"Hawkins of course is not a cult expert, so finding himself to not be a cult leader while actual cult experts do is a bit self-supporting." -from "David R. Hawkins" at Cult Education Institute Forum

"The New England Institute of Religious Research (NEIRR)...has applied [to Hawkins] Harvard Medical School psychiatrist Robert J. Lifton's cult and mind control criteria outlined in his book Thought Reform and the Psychology of Totalism." -Rev. Robert Pardon (Th.M., Princeton Theological Seminary), NEIRR (paraphrased)

"I have not been as interested in following Dr. Hawkins work...[due to] the more personality oriented following he seems to have developed." -Dr. Jonathan Reams, Gonzaga University

"Whatever use [applied] kinesiology may or may not have, it's [obvious] that it is useless for testing and calibrating historical figures, political documents, and I suspect anything else." -Reverend Keith, PathsToKnowledge.com

"Hawkins... has a way of pulling the Truth out of everything and everybody. Or maybe just pulling his own 'truth' out of his...oh, never mind." -Cosmic Connie, Whirled Musings

"[C]lassic fundamentalism...[A] rejection of Hawkins' philosophy is an affirmation of true spirituality." -EnergyGrid Magazine

"It is proper to doubt in things that are doubtful." -The Buddha

"You are already and eternally That." -Sri Ramana Maharshi

[Updated 20 April 2014]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Although the ideas are new to you they will seem obvious, 2 Jan 2007
This review is from: Power vs. Force: The Hidden Determinants of Human Behavior (Paperback)
I am an avid reader but don't care much for fiction, I spent most of my time reading about science of philosophy trying to satisfy my thirst for knowledge. I have read most of the books considered great by society searching for answers and not finding them. I have been through self help programs trying to better my self, although I made progress with some I did not find them satisfactory. In this one book Power Vs Force I found everything I was looking for. I read it in 4 days and have since purchased all of Dr Hawkins other writing. The beauty of these books is that once you have read it although the ideas are new to you they will seem obvious. I am quite a scientific person, having 2 degrees, and I found no fault with anything written here.

I have not tried the kinesiology myself but consider it a very small part of what is offered in this book. Without any kinesiology it would still be brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A spiritual classic like no other, 26 Jun 2009
This review is from: Power vs. Force: The Hidden Determinants of Human Behavior (Paperback)
This book was recommended by Wayne Dyer, I read it for no other reason but now give thanks that I did. Its awsome. It is the only book of its kind that I have read and keep reading over & over. I urge any one who is some way down their 'growth process' (and is rather an analytical person like me) to read this. I believe its one of a kind, 'a best kept secret' & I now intend to invest in his other work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 14 Feb 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Power vs. Force: The Hidden Determinants of Human Behavior (Paperback)
not being an educated person i found this book a little difficult to read as dr Hawkins is obviously an academic of some note.however i have now read it twice and starting to get a grip of the substance of this wonderful book.
i am lucky enough to have been practising muscle testing on my own for several months before reading this work and i now calibrate everything and everybody with amazing results ,it makes me feel that i don't keep making wrong turns all the time.
please be aware though and dr hawkins does warn you in some of his other books it is very challenging to your precious and preconceived beliefs and not for the ridgid thinking or the faint hearted,as the saying goes "the truth hurts".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Power vs. Force: The Hidden Determinants of Human Behavior
Power vs. Force: The Hidden Determinants of Human Behavior by David R. Hawkins (Paperback - 1 July 2004)
Used & New from: £0.42
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews