Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars8
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£17.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 June 2006
This is a really useful source for everyone who likes dressmaking and wants to know about the behaviour of different fabrics as well as how to treat them when sewing. You get advise as to how to stop fraying, what sewing machine feet to use and which seams are appropriate. However this is NOT an extention to 'fabric savvy', so if you've got that one already don't be like me and buy this one too. It only has a couple more fabrics than fabric savvy and repeats the rest, which is really annoying. I am going to give the earlier edition to a friend and will keep 'More fabric savvy' for me.
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2009
This book was purchased because of the other good reviews. Initially it seemed like a very helpful book, although the made up garments were not to my taste. After reading through the book it became obvious that the author has a dislike of modern man made fabrics. If the variations of woollen and silk fabrics were removed from the book there wouldn't be many pages left.

I won't be keeping this book, I'm buying the one I should have bought in the first place, Claire Shaeffer's Fabric Sewing Guide.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2011
This book has been extremely helpful when using most types of fabric. It instructs on layout,cutting, handling, washability, type of stitch and needle to use, how to mark, type of facing to use and much more including a helpful tip on each page. I am a confident sewer but need help on the behaviour of fabrics I have never used before and it is in this area that I find this book most useful. The ring binding makes it easy to lay flat and read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2009
If you are a sewing enthusiast and you intend on sewing with different fabrics and are unsure of what foot, needle or what seam finishes to use this book is definitely for you. Along with my reader's digest sewing book this is the main staple to my sewing library. The only thing I have negative to say is that I wish the fabrics mentioned had actual swatches.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2010
This book is a brilliant source of information about fabric. It explains which feet to use, how to wash it, sew it etc. I highly recommend this book to be very useful in your sewing collect.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
Great book that provides loads of insight into all the different types of fabric. Would be great to have had it pocket size to take around the fabric shops with you but this way it has loads of info.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
Very pleased to receive extra copies of this book which is already a firm favourite - bought for friends and they are delighted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2016
This book was recommended by a sewing tutor and have proved very useful for identifying fabrics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)