Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great source book
This is a really useful source for everyone who likes dressmaking and wants to know about the behaviour of different fabrics as well as how to treat them when sewing. You get advise as to how to stop fraying, what sewing machine feet to use and which seams are appropriate. However this is NOT an extention to 'fabric savvy', so if you've got that one already don't be like...
Published on 10 Jun 2006 by Mrs. J. Henderson

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very few man made fabrics
This book was purchased because of the other good reviews. Initially it seemed like a very helpful book, although the made up garments were not to my taste. After reading through the book it became obvious that the author has a dislike of modern man made fabrics. If the variations of woollen and silk fabrics were removed from the book there wouldn't be many pages...
Published on 8 May 2009 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great source book, 10 Jun 2006
By 
Mrs. J. Henderson "the fritz" (Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: More Fabric Savvy: A Quick Resource Guide to Selecting and Sewing Fabric (Hardcover)
This is a really useful source for everyone who likes dressmaking and wants to know about the behaviour of different fabrics as well as how to treat them when sewing. You get advise as to how to stop fraying, what sewing machine feet to use and which seams are appropriate. However this is NOT an extention to 'fabric savvy', so if you've got that one already don't be like me and buy this one too. It only has a couple more fabrics than fabric savvy and repeats the rest, which is really annoying. I am going to give the earlier edition to a friend and will keep 'More fabric savvy' for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very few man made fabrics, 8 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Fabric Savvy: A Quick Resource Guide to Selecting and Sewing Fabric (Hardcover)
This book was purchased because of the other good reviews. Initially it seemed like a very helpful book, although the made up garments were not to my taste. After reading through the book it became obvious that the author has a dislike of modern man made fabrics. If the variations of woollen and silk fabrics were removed from the book there wouldn't be many pages left.

I won't be keeping this book, I'm buying the one I should have bought in the first place, Claire Shaeffer's Fabric Sewing Guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wouldn't be without it, 10 Jun 2011
This review is from: More Fabric Savvy: A Quick Resource Guide to Selecting and Sewing Fabric (Hardcover)
This book has been extremely helpful when using most types of fabric. It instructs on layout,cutting, handling, washability, type of stitch and needle to use, how to mark, type of facing to use and much more including a helpful tip on each page. I am a confident sewer but need help on the behaviour of fabrics I have never used before and it is in this area that I find this book most useful. The ring binding makes it easy to lay flat and read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Fabric Savvy - A must for your library, 26 Mar 2009
This review is from: More Fabric Savvy: A Quick Resource Guide to Selecting and Sewing Fabric (Hardcover)
If you are a sewing enthusiast and you intend on sewing with different fabrics and are unsure of what foot, needle or what seam finishes to use this book is definitely for you. Along with my reader's digest sewing book this is the main staple to my sewing library. The only thing I have negative to say is that I wish the fabrics mentioned had actual swatches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fabric Savvy, Fabric Explained, 27 Aug 2010
By 
Kiwi (Loughborough, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: More Fabric Savvy: A Quick Resource Guide to Selecting and Sewing Fabric (Hardcover)
This book is a brilliant source of information about fabric. It explains which feet to use, how to wash it, sew it etc. I highly recommend this book to be very useful in your sewing collect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Fabric Savvy: A Quick Resource Guide to Selecting and Sewing Fabric (Hardcover)
Great book that provides loads of insight into all the different types of fabric. Would be great to have had it pocket size to take around the fabric shops with you but this way it has loads of info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quick delivery - good condition, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: More Fabric Savvy: A Quick Resource Guide to Selecting and Sewing Fabric (Hardcover)
Very pleased to receive extra copies of this book which is already a firm favourite - bought for friends and they are delighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

More Fabric Savvy: A Quick Resource Guide to Selecting and Sewing Fabric
£17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews