Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quintessential drywall
This book thoroughly covers the subject and now introduces the latest automated taping equipment available. Whilst this is an American publication all the Drywall application in the UK uses American/Canadian equipment and even tapes. Great finishes are possible with the simplest of equipment though and it should be borne in mind that the end result is dependent on the...
Published on 13 Jan 2006 by t a moore

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
As described and arrived within specified time.
Published 5 months ago by Peter K


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quintessential drywall, 13 Jan 2006
By 
t a moore (sittingbourne, kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Drywall: Professional Techniques for Great Results (Paperback)
This book thoroughly covers the subject and now introduces the latest automated taping equipment available. Whilst this is an American publication all the Drywall application in the UK uses American/Canadian equipment and even tapes. Great finishes are possible with the simplest of equipment though and it should be borne in mind that the end result is dependent on the quality of the original boarding/sheeting job. It is entirely possible and indeed desireable that the finish matches that of the plasterer, provided the speed at reaching that finish is greater then the decision to use this technique has been justified. Still trying to catch on in the UK this book will thoroughly convert any Drywall sceptics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 7 Sep 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drywall: Professional Techniques for Great Results (Paperback)
I'm a moderately competent DIYer - who has managed to get through life without getting directly involved with plasterboard and 'drywall'.

Bought this book as we moved to a house built using drywall - and wanted to know how it 'works'.

Although written by an American writer - everything is clear and simply explained.

In fact I found the book strangely addictive - and very informative.

Sections on different types of drywall, their applications and the best techniques to use.

Takes the fear out of using drywall for novices - but also helps understand what a professional is doing - if you choose to 'get someone in' to do the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 8 Aug 2010
By 
Ambercat (Cheshire,England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book very informative: well laid out with lots of helpful tips to achieve a professional finish. I dip into it for advice as and when I need to as everything is well laid out for referencing, although it also would be an interesting read for anyone wanting a comprehensive overview. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DIY Plastering, 29 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Read it, read it then read it again before you start. This was a godsend for learning how to get a smooth join in tapered plasterboard.He's also online but allow yourself 10 x as long as he does it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As described and arrived within specified time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommendable book, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drywall: Professional Techniques for Great Results (Paperback)
I am a complete beginner with drywall techniques. This book explains the technique from fundamental knowledge to practical work. It is not a full bible but I would certainly recommend it to all those wanting to learn from beginning to intermediate levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just the job, 2 April 2013
By 
G. W. Mason (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A clear and very informative book which is clearly illustrated, which makes the job a lot less daunting. an excellent purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good if you need to know the basics, 5 Mar 2013
By 
D. Caldwell (Ramsbottom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I found this book fairly useful for understanding the basic principals of drywalling like the Americans do it. I used this to find out how to board and joint fill a ceiling... after this I went on a 2 day plastering course and skimmed my other ceilings. I would say, from experience that I found it easier and quicker to skim than to joint, it's all the sanding and then here in the UK we don't have much choice in products for jointing and finally painting is much easier over a skim as I got really bad photographing on the jointed ceiling - which again is probably because here in the UK our primer paints aren't usually used on jointed surfaces.
The book itself is a good resource, but as usual it's no where near as useful as someone showing you how to do it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars just 'skimmed over' subject, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drywall: Professional Techniques for Great Results (Paperback)
The book is okay but doesn't really go into the subect and i was disappointed wit it.would not recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Drywall: Professional Techniques for Great Results
Drywall: Professional Techniques for Great Results by Myron R. Ferguson (Paperback - 28 Oct 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews