Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£29.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 July 2002
I cannot praise this book highly enough. The information contained in here is essential for any woodworker. Perhaps there are other ways to find this out, but this is by far the best book I know that contains all the useful things you need.
Wood is tricky stuff. It shrinks, expands and splits. It can't be used until it has gone through a complex drying and seasoning process. If you want to design furniture that doesn't open up gaps or, worst of all, split, then you need to understand this.
An incredibly well-written book. Just the right depth to be useful, yet readable.
0Comment|56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
This is the sort of book you look at and think "It would be nice but there are other things I need first", finally I bought it!

Other reviewers have said it all, when you get it you wish you had bought it long before. It's an indespensible item on any woodworkers book shelf.

The only minus point is that being written by an American primarily for Americans the woods discussed are native to the USA.

UK readers will need to seek out any data they need from sources closer to home; a good place to start and you may need go no further is, TRADA, Timber Research and Development Association, at: [...]
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2010
Bought this item as a Christmas present for my partner..a carpenter..he absolutely loved it..!Commenting that it was a fantastic informative read and would therefore highly recommend it.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2004
This is a fascinating book covering all aspects of wood as a raw material in furniture production etc. The color illustrations of the book are absolutely beatiful and the text is well written. There are indeed some very technical sections in the book (dealing e.g. with bending moduli and water content of wood), but the important points remain clear troughout. If you are thinking about drying your own fresh lumber and cutting it to make furniture, this will be a valuable ressource.
Highly informative and strongly recommended.
0Comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2012
a massively detailed book which im sure in years to come will provide countless advice and resource, alot to get my head round but a great book
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
Very useful information to be found in here, my girlfriend used it to help with her Conservation and Restoration degree. Definantly helpful if your looking to find out any information regarding wood and treatment of.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
The fact that i have read 9 other books having references to this book... says it all!
A great collection of knowledge on wood & woodworking!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2015
A great book for anyone who is interested in trees or timber whether you are a woodworker or just have a love of trees and how they work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
A wonderful book, I go back and read it every couple of years, it's a bit like wood, never ages! It's a must for any serious wood lover.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
An excellent book very clear and thorough. I just wish I had bought it years ago. A 'must' for any woodwork teacher.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.