Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential !, 31 July 2002
By 
Andy Dingley "andy_dingley" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Understanding Wood: A Craftsman's Guide to Wood Technology (Hardcover)
I cannot praise this book highly enough. The information contained in here is essential for any woodworker. Perhaps there are other ways to find this out, but this is by far the best book I know that contains all the useful things you need.
Wood is tricky stuff. It shrinks, expands and splits. It can't be used until it has gone through a complex drying and seasoning process. If you want to design furniture that doesn't open up gaps or, worst of all, split, then you need to understand this.
An incredibly well-written book. Just the right depth to be useful, yet readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now I understand!, 28 Jan 2004
By 
This review is from: Understanding Wood: A Craftsman's Guide to Wood Technology (Hardcover)
This is a fascinating book covering all aspects of wood as a raw material in furniture production etc. The color illustrations of the book are absolutely beatiful and the text is well written. There are indeed some very technical sections in the book (dealing e.g. with bending moduli and water content of wood), but the important points remain clear troughout. If you are thinking about drying your own fresh lumber and cutting it to make furniture, this will be a valuable ressource.
Highly informative and strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic read for the wood enthusiast.., 19 Mar 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Understanding Wood: A Craftsman's Guide to Wood Technology (Hardcover)
Bought this item as a Christmas present for my partner..a carpenter..he absolutely loved it..!Commenting that it was a fantastic informative read and would therefore highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book., 13 July 2013
This review is from: Understanding Wood: A Craftsman's Guide to Wood Technology (Hardcover)
This is the sort of book you look at and think "It would be nice but there are other things I need first", finally I bought it!

Other reviewers have said it all, when you get it you wish you had bought it long before. It's an indespensible item on any woodworkers book shelf.

The only minus point is that being written by an American primarily for Americans the woods discussed are native to the USA.

UK readers will need to seek out any data they need from sources closer to home; a good place to start and you may need go no further is, TRADA, Timber Research and Development Association, at: [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars understanding wood, 25 May 2012
By 
A. Cunningham (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understanding Wood: A Craftsman's Guide to Wood Technology (Hardcover)
a massively detailed book which im sure in years to come will provide countless advice and resource, alot to get my head round but a great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Look no further, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understanding Wood: A Craftsman's Guide to Wood Technology (Hardcover)
A wonderful book, I go back and read it every couple of years, it's a bit like wood, never ages! It's a must for any serious wood lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understanding Wood: A Craftsman's Guide to Wood Technology (Hardcover)
The fact that i have read 9 other books having references to this book... says it all!
A great collection of knowledge on wood & woodworking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read. Informative., 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understanding Wood: A Craftsman's Guide to Wood Technology (Hardcover)
Very useful information to be found in here, my girlfriend used it to help with her Conservation and Restoration degree. Definantly helpful if your looking to find out any information regarding wood and treatment of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understanding Wood: A Craftsman's Guide to Wood Technology (Hardcover)
An excellent book very clear and thorough. I just wish I had bought it years ago. A 'must' for any woodwork teacher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Understanding Wood: A Craftsman's Guide to Wood Technology
Understanding Wood: A Craftsman's Guide to Wood Technology by R.Bruce Hoadley (Hardcover - 1 Dec 2000)
26.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews