Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiration for building beautiful boxes
Contained within the pages of this book is everything to inspire you to have a beautiful container for holding your tools. The history starts from the earliest simple chests to hi-tech tool boxes as used in space. The photographs are very well shot, with the copy being very readable. The toolboxes shown in this book will supply more than enough material for any...
Published on 10 May 2000 by hughes.d@bhwg.com

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Left me a little underwhelmed
There are some highlights in this book, but I think that it falls short of the standard set by similar contemporary books on workbenches.

The study of early tool chests is well researched, detailed and nicely illustrated, but the treatment of more modern boxes is inconsistent, lacking in breadth (no reference to any European style boxes) and often misses the...
Published on 18 Dec. 2010 by John the Joyner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiration for building beautiful boxes, 10 May 2000
This review is from: The Toolbox Book: A Craftsman's Guide to Tool Chests, Cabinets and Storage Systems (Craftsman's Guide to) (Paperback)
Contained within the pages of this book is everything to inspire you to have a beautiful container for holding your tools. The history starts from the earliest simple chests to hi-tech tool boxes as used in space. The photographs are very well shot, with the copy being very readable. The toolboxes shown in this book will supply more than enough material for any competent woodworker make their own unique toolbox. One section that is particularly inspiring is about work of the school in Boston. Just because a tool box is very practical it does not mean it cannot be beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great ideas and styles, 28 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Toolbox Book: A Craftsman's Guide to Tool Chests, Cabinets and Storage Systems (Craftsman's Guide to) (Paperback)
A great history of the toolbox with some good ideas. I hoped for some more detail on fitting out options but am still glad I own this book. I review it often for design ideas outside the realm of toolboxes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great book, 4 July 1998
By A Customer
This is a great book, but is for the advanced to professional woodworker.It gives many, many design ideas but little on how to implement them. Implementation of ideas is left to the woodworker, adding to the versatility of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great pictures, 12 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Toolbox Book: A Craftsman's Guide to Tool Chests, Cabinets and Storage Systems (Craftsman's Guide to) (Paperback)
Makes you want to go out and start building another cabinet with tools that you cant afford! have read it many times and keep seeing new details. A very nice volume and higly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice coffee table book, 12 Oct. 1997
By A Customer
This is a good book for ideas about toolboxes. It has some beautiful toolboxes from past and present. It will make a great coffee table book for the serious woodworker. Not very helpful for building an actual toolbox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good content, 16 May 2013
This review is from: The Toolbox Book: A Craftsman's Guide to Tool Chests, Cabinets and Storage Systems (Craftsman's Guide to) (Paperback)
I gathered a not of cool ideas from this book and keep it handy for reading when I have time. I enjoy learning no matter what the information is and I definitely benefited from reading this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Toolbox heaven, 6 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Toolbox Book: A Craftsman's Guide to Tool Chests, Cabinets and Storage Systems (Craftsman's Guide to) (Paperback)
This is a well produced book with good illustrations and at least one photograph which will show you how inadequate your woodworking skills are. However, there are plenty toolboxes for mere mortals to make, so its a good buy.
However, there is nothing to stop you building your own box, bag, tote or cupboard to your own design and spending the cost of the book on a tool!
I will not be trading the book in. I will re-read it for inspiration whenever I feel the need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dreams and Ideas, 4 Feb. 2010
By 
M. Herdman (Bedfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Toolbox Book: A Craftsman's Guide to Tool Chests, Cabinets and Storage Systems (Craftsman's Guide to) (Paperback)
A book of inspiration, for the storage of woodworking tools, in traditional ways, and modern twists. How to keep your tools safe, ready for use, and off the bench!
This shows how it was done, and how it can be done.
Not much in the way of instructions, but when you have this type, and quantity, of tools, simple "How to" books are not needed, this book will encourage, pushing the boundries of your skills, perhaps further than you thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Toolbox Book, 20 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Toolbox Book: A Craftsman's Guide to Tool Chests, Cabinets and Storage Systems (Craftsman's Guide to) (Paperback)
A great woodworking workshop book. Lots of diagrams and lovely photographs of exquisite tool cabinets and boxes and also less exquisite ones which are nevertheless highly functional and full of nice touches. The range of craftsmanship and ideas enables the reader to envision his own ideal setup. I continue to get inspiration from the book even though my efforts are strictly in the utility camp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A marvellous book, 10 Jan. 2014
By 
C. Gadsby (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Toolbox Book: A Craftsman's Guide to Tool Chests, Cabinets and Storage Systems (Craftsman's Guide to) (Paperback)
Bought this as a present for my son who loved it. Has excellent illustrations and is ideal for anyone who loves real craftsmanship. Doesn't have detailed info for making individual projects but gives lots of inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews