Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolute Must-Have!
This book is absolutely FANTASTIC. A genuine insight into the mind of one of the best ever cult movie makers and some of the early films he made - straight from the horses mouth (so to speak).
John Waters writes with ease about his own inimitable fashion and includes some fantastic rare pictures of many of the superb people cast in their roles, both on and off set...
Published on 10 Aug. 2007 by Echoplex

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars I thought that this was another book by Waters and ...
I thought that this was another book by Waters and find this a bit unreadable...he wrote a book that I read in the 80s about movies and B movies where he spoke about how cinemas got punters interested in the 50s but this was not that book. Wish I could find it
Published 8 months ago by sapitt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolute Must-Have!, 10 Aug. 2007
By 
This review is from: Shock Value: A Tasteful Book about Bad Taste (Paperback)
This book is absolutely FANTASTIC. A genuine insight into the mind of one of the best ever cult movie makers and some of the early films he made - straight from the horses mouth (so to speak).
John Waters writes with ease about his own inimitable fashion and includes some fantastic rare pictures of many of the superb people cast in their roles, both on and off set. Mink Stole, David Lochary, Divine, Edith Massey etc....theyre all in here plus many more.
Often adored, always scorned but never equalled, John Waters gives the reader EVERYTHING they want here and much more.
If you are a John Waters fan, this book is a Must-Have and will not fail to delight. If you're not a John Waters fan or know nothing or very little about him then treat yourself to this gem. It's definitely a book that anyone will find difficult to put down - for whatever reason!
Fantastic Stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Filthy Waters, 6 Mar. 2010
By 
S. C. Mcfarlane (Kilmarnock, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shock Value: A Tasteful Book about Bad Taste (Paperback)
If you're reading this review then you probably know all about John Waters anyway, and you won't need me to tell you how deleriously funny, shocking and outrageous his early movies are, even by today's standards. "Female Trouble", where the acid-scarred Divine goes from juvenile delinquent to monstrous beauty queen and ultimately fame-obsessed mass murderer; and "Desperate Living", with its fairy-tale like depiction of fascism, homosexuality, graphic genital mutilation and rabies aren't exactly the type of films to watch with your loved one on a Saturday night, but once seen they're NEVER forgotten. Surprisingly though, from a man who freely admits that his ultimate intention was to shock the cinema-going public, this autobiography cum celebration of trash is an accessible and often warm and homely read (honestly!) Beginning with his childhood, which consisted of a Catholic education and an unhealthy obsession with car crashes, Waters leads us a merry dance through his twisted little world of freaks, female impersonators and dinners of dog poo, giving us the low-down on the making of his movies and the "multiple maniacs" who starred in them. It's an old book though, written in 1981, when the "Polyester", his scratch-n-sniff movie, was in pre-production, but there's a retrospective introduction at the beginning, which brings the text up to date. So if you only know of Waters through "Hairspray", which is still his most publicly accessible film to date, then chances are you're going to be unpleasantly surprised by the outrageous recollections documented herein (my favourite being the family who tried to take him to court because they were shocked at "Pink Flamingos." If however you are familiar with Waters's output from his less mainstream days, then you'll love this little trip into the memories and obsessions of the Pope of Trash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I thought that this was another book by Waters and ..., 18 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shock Value: A Tasteful Book about Bad Taste (Paperback)
I thought that this was another book by Waters and find this a bit unreadable...he wrote a book that I read in the 80s about movies and B movies where he spoke about how cinemas got punters interested in the 50s but this was not that book. Wish I could find it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible!, 18 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shock Value: A Tasteful Book about Bad Taste (Paperback)
Really whacky book, i admired JOhn Waters because he seemed nuts and after reading this book i know for sure that he is! A must have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 16 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shock Value: A Tasteful Book about Bad Taste (Paperback)
Love John Waters and wish he made more films
This is a great rad about this mad genius and i love the relationship with Divine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shocking in a good way!, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shock Value: A Tasteful Book about Bad Taste (Paperback)
He shocks, but he writes very well. It's as if he's speaking to you. Great stories, great photos. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shock Value: A Tasteful Book about Bad Taste (Paperback)
Arrived in good time as a Christmas present. As described. Gratefully received by my nephew. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Mar. 2015
By 
C. McKissick (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shock Value (Paperback)
Outstanding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shock Value: A Tasteful Book about Bad Taste
Shock Value: A Tasteful Book about Bad Taste by John Waters (Paperback - 5 April 2005)
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews