Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, well researched, humane and fascinating
Ed Sanders was a leading 60s counter-culture figure himself, singing with The Fugs and involved with the Diggers and the Chicago 7. He became involved with the Manson case shortly before the trial commenced, and interviewed many members of the Family and their associates - even went on a rather scarey camping trip with Clem. He presents an extensive and fascinating...
Published on 23 Jan. 2006

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Eye Opener
Sanders definitive book on "The Family" is a compelling read for those interested in this fascinating, yet brutal story.
Based on the authors own clandestine and sometimes (allegedly) downright dangerous research on the activities of Manson and his followers, the book follows Manson from the early fifties through to his days in California in the late sixties where he...
Published on 18 Aug. 2005 by bloo_toon_red


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, well researched, humane and fascinating, 23 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Family (Paperback)
Ed Sanders was a leading 60s counter-culture figure himself, singing with The Fugs and involved with the Diggers and the Chicago 7. He became involved with the Manson case shortly before the trial commenced, and interviewed many members of the Family and their associates - even went on a rather scarey camping trip with Clem. He presents an extensive and fascinating portrait of the Family, picking up on various leads that the Bugliosi book neglects, such as the evidence of an international network of Satanist groups, of which the Family formed a part, and casting some doubt on the truth of the "helter skelter" motive for the Tate-La Bianca murders. The book was recently updated, with an interesting "where are they now" section.
My only quibbles - I found the slightly hippyish style a bit annoying to start off with, but warmed to it as the book progessed - you just can't help liking Sanders. Also in my edition the pages keep falling out, which is a bit annoying for an expensive large format paperback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Eye Opener, 18 Aug. 2005
Sanders definitive book on "The Family" is a compelling read for those interested in this fascinating, yet brutal story.
Based on the authors own clandestine and sometimes (allegedly) downright dangerous research on the activities of Manson and his followers, the book follows Manson from the early fifties through to his days in California in the late sixties where he merged into the hippie scene. From here, the book describes the formation of the burgeoning family and the principles of those within.
The era of "anything goes" certainly seemed to exacerbate the activities of the family and the author describes in some detail, some of the hideous ritualistic gatherings and the religious cults that seemed to influence and precede the teachings of Manson. It is important to know something about these sickening activities to understand the twisted mindset of Manson et al, and what led them to brutally murder at least 10 people.
Unlike Bugliosi's "Helter Skelter", this book does not at all focus on the trial, but the life and times and vagabond existence of "The Family" itself.
The book is not in itself a literary masterpiece (it is the factual content that makes it what it is), the author at times uses what appears to either US or hippie slang words completely off the cuff, and uncalled for, one particular favourite of Sanders being "oo-ee-oo". I could hazard a guess at what this might mean, but any prospective readers will understand how annoying it is when they see it in the context. It is, however quite well put together and its structure does lend to a better understanding of the story.
The activities depicted within this book are likely to shock you, but is an essential read (if you can get hold of a copy) for those interested in this, one of the most fascinating murder cases in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating., 26 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Family (Paperback)
This is a fascinating book with lots of detail about the life,times and crimes of Charlie and the crew, including interesting material concerning his involvement with various outlaw biker gangs and shadowy Satanic organisations.
Whether all this is true is open to debate but it is food for thought nevertheless.
Author Ed Sanders was on the scene at the time and had marginal dealings with the Family, so this is probably the nearest we'll get to a first hand acount of this bizarre epoch.( Unless you count Charlie's own book ).
I enjoyed the book immensely, but i have deducted a star because of Sanders' writing style which might have seemed cool and hip to him, but to me was highly irritating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 20 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Family (Paperback)
Have the original, but like the update. Ed Saunders has spent a great deal of time and effort keeping this up to date
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars oo-ee-oo, 6 Jun. 2006
This review is from: The Family (Paperback)
Throughout the book Ed Sanders keeps stopping at the end of paragraphs and whatnots with Oo-ee-Oo, which kind of gets annoying after awhile. But dont get me wrong this book is really, really well written.

The book gives you a whole background on manson and the family which is really interesting to read about. Although i think i'll have to read again as there are so many people in it that i sort of got confused on the way, but you get the gist of it.

My book was brand new when i got it and the pages starting coming out of mine as well...was not impressed. But i suppose the content of the book made up for it. And at the end of the day you can always stick the pages back in.

I suggest if your contemplating whether or not to buy it you should.

The book starts of with the 1967 summer of love hippy theme then gets deeper into the whole satanic cults and whatnot. Certainly gripped me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars healter skelter..oh little piggies what have you done.., 14 Jun. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Family (Paperback)
the dream is over...and what a long strange trip it has been....from innocence and idealism to the ugly realities of war..[not only for vietnam, damaged beyond relief]..... prankster to freak, ohio to the weathermen, the children said... hell no.. we wont go...there is a better way...and... we want it now...,open the door,tear down the walls, this is the garden of eden...,love is the key... all can be seen through the lens of a sugar cube......from millbrook,to the warehouse where kesey laughed and plotted..hog farm to spahns movie ranch.. the tapestry is rich...and the fugs played on,tongue firmly in cheek...but this book is no laughing matter...it tells a tale of how the dream turned nightmare.....ed sanders {a head of the times} digs deep and unearths many a story..some welcome, others not... naughty but nice,to downright evil....the bus was painted black,and charlie was the driver.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a load of rubbish!, 23 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Family (Paperback)
Fiction would be the best description for this book. Ed Sanders delved deep into his own imagination to come up with what I can only describe as a lurid, salacious and untrue account of the victims. He makes legends out of killers, and a mockery out of the victims. Ed Sanders was once photographed with the mother of Sharon Tate and had she have seen this book, she would have been horrified. He is from the school of Who Shot JFK, where he will pull together so many outlandish theories and stories and turn them into a conspiracy. The worst victims in Sanders' 'account' is Voytek Frykowski and Abigail Folger. Voytek is a man who has had his reputation dragged through the mud simply because he was hard to catagorise. No author wants to write about Frykowski's relationship with Abigail Folger, unless they add the usual Polish-immigrant-sponging-off-rich-heiress. Why is there no mention of how much these two people loved each other, even when they were reportedly having problems? Why turn him into a sleazy playboy when no woman has ever come forward to sell her story (when everyone else and their mothers have.) and then there is the theory that the classy Abigail Folger was having a sexual affair with Charles Manson! Come on! My advice to anyone who buys this book would be to treat it like a work of fiction because that is exactly what it is. It is a disgrace to the memories of the victims, particularly Voytek Frykowski and Abigail Folger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE FAMILY, 29 Jan. 2010
By 
F. Moseley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Family (Paperback)
I have not yet read this book. I am currently reading a list of titles dealing with religious terrorism, I will get back to criminals in America soon. Anyone wanting to know more about crime in America should definitely read "THE ULTIMATE EVIL" by Maury Terry, and "PROGRAMMED TO KILL" by David McGowan. I personally think that these mass murderers are operating as death squads, for maybe a right wing of the government.
With over six thousand unsolved murders each and every year, perhaps police death squads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Family
The Family by Ed Sanders (Paperback - 18 Oct. 2002)
Used & New from: £4.76
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews