Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Firing squad, gas chamber, hanging, electric chair or lethal injection? Oh! What do you want for supper?
I ordered this book after talking about this subject to some workmates! What would your last meal be before meeting your maker? :) Some may find this subject a tad odd but bring it up (no pun intended) and everyone is intrigued and starts rattling off their faves foods or meals only your mother can make, like the family Sunday roast!

Here you are given a lot of...
Published on 23 July 2012 by KM

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well....
Not enough of this book I'm afraid. Fascinating really but read the whole book in 1 hour! Still interesting enough...
Published 13 months ago by Pumpkin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Firing squad, gas chamber, hanging, electric chair or lethal injection? Oh! What do you want for supper?, 23 July 2012
By 
KM (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered this book after talking about this subject to some workmates! What would your last meal be before meeting your maker? :) Some may find this subject a tad odd but bring it up (no pun intended) and everyone is intrigued and starts rattling off their faves foods or meals only your mother can make, like the family Sunday roast!

Here you are given a lot of information such as the name of the deathrow inmate be they man or woman, the date they were executed, what they were doing time for and of course, the 'Piece de resistance' . . .their final meal requests which I found found fascinating personally. Some simple and some massive mounds of food and drink for a final blowout I suppose. There's some final words that were said by the person staring the grim reaper in the face just before they were executed too. Also given in a lot of the cases are the details of the crimes and along the way there are some very interesting facts and figures to whet your appetite! Even a few recipies from the featured jailhouses. I plan to recreate one and then I'll tell the kids once it's eaten who ate it and how they came to! I'm nice like that! :) The book is written with an injection of good humour throughout which breaks up the morbidity of some of the horrendous crimes somewhat.

A very interesting few hours worth of reading and recommended to any foodies out there! Just incase you're wondering, at this moment in my life my final meal would be a blowout effort (I'm a big eater!)

To start I would have a selection of Nachos covered in a tangy cheese sauce with spicy salsa and plenty of jalapenos, chunky chips with loads of salt and apple cider vinegar, buffalo style hot chicken wings, pork ribs cooked in a sticky BBQ/Jack Daniels sauce, deep fried mozzarella sticks, salt+pepper siu mai and a selection of sushi.

Main meal would have to be my mums Christmas roast dinner. If I'm going down I'm going full and happy! Roast potatoes, succulent turkey with sage+onion stuffing, juicy piece of beef with English mustard and lamb with apricot stuffing, sprouts, carrot+turnip mash, mushy peas, yourkshire pud and topped off with her thick made from the meat juices gravy.

Next a bowl of scouse (its gotta be done!) with pickled beetroot and buttered crusty bread.

And now the end is near its time to face the final deee-ssert! For me there can be only one. . .

Deep, very deep lemon cheesecake with a ginger biscuit base. Drizzled with fresh cream.

Heavenly :)

What's yours?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 3 Mar. 2013
By 
Miss S. S. Speakman "LuckylashesUK" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a true crime fanatic I really enjoyed this book, it gave an overview of some of the crimes as well as the 'last suppers', very enjoyable read and a lot of the meals would put Adam Richman (Man v Food) to shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely food for thought!, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really good light hearted read. A fascinating night into death row inmates, their crimes, final words and last meal requests.
Pardon the pun but the author delivers in bite sized chunks, enough to grip yet not bore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 28 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed reading this book. Had details not only of the meals but also of the crimes committed. Great book for anyone who enjoys reading about true crime
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 19 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good insight, thoroughly enjoyed reading! would recommend anyone to read this book! Will probably read again in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well...., 19 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not enough of this book I'm afraid. Fascinating really but read the whole book in 1 hour! Still interesting enough...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Last Suppers
Last Suppers by Michelle Vernon (Paperback - 1 Oct. 2005)
Used & New from: £35.82
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews