Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good project management practice in a new context
Good project management practice doesn't change with the advent of new technologies. Therefore, many of the fundamental principles underlying this book should be second nature to any project manager with more than a couple of years experience. Where the book scores is in 2 areas:
1. Setting these principles in the context of the new kind of projects which the web...
Published on 11 April 2001

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Handy if you have a big project to get to grips with and you're in a hurry.
This is a good reference book to have to hand and I went back to it quiet a few times. But it's no page turner! Partner it with something like Steve Krug's 'Dont Make Me Think'.
Published on 6 Sep 2010 by James Mccobb


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good project management practice in a new context, 11 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Web Project Management: Delivering Successful Commercial Web Sites (Paperback)
Good project management practice doesn't change with the advent of new technologies. Therefore, many of the fundamental principles underlying this book should be second nature to any project manager with more than a couple of years experience. Where the book scores is in 2 areas:
1. Setting these principles in the context of the new kind of projects which the web makes possible. This benefits project managers (like me!) who have managed software developments before but need a view of how to apply their experience.
2. Introducing good project management principles to people who have arrived at the 'manage a website development' role by other routes.
Overall, a good summary of how to approach the job. But it does worry me slightly that some people think the book is a blinding revelation of how to manage a project - how have they been doing the job before?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars UK-focused, real-world insight from a real PM, 14 April 2001
This review is from: Web Project Management: Delivering Successful Commercial Web Sites (Paperback)
This was a good purchase: He has launched Channel5.com with a TV producers background, and it is good to see how he translated his skills across. Also, it is UK-focused and very much this-is-what-I-did. Lovely. Not too long either, very detailed, lots of lists and bullets - "scannable".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Someone else's hindsight is VERY valuable, 20 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Web Project Management: Delivering Successful Commercial Web Sites (Paperback)
Having just reached the final stages as a contractor on a mammoth commerical site I can echo Ashley's recommendations in this excellent book.
Whether you are a designer, a manager, 'The Client' or a programmer, please buy this book, READ IT and save everyone a lot of hassle.
Set limits on the client - project manage properly - be real about the whole project and document thoroughly. I was the designer on our project and was shunted all over the shop. With Ashley's book in my hand I would have been able to tell the managers, programmers and clients where to go. Very, very much an indispensible read. The Dilbert cartoons are spot on too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Handy if you have a big project to get to grips with and you're in a hurry., 6 Sep 2010
By 
James Mccobb (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Web Project Management: Delivering Successful Commercial Web Sites (Paperback)
This is a good reference book to have to hand and I went back to it quiet a few times. But it's no page turner! Partner it with something like Steve Krug's 'Dont Make Me Think'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roadmap to success, 1 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Web Project Management: Delivering Successful Commercial Web Sites (Paperback)
This book is compulsory for ANYONE involved in ANY phase of commercial website development from initial strategy to marketing. Along with David Siegel's publications, Web Project Management is one of the defining volumes of the digital era. I hope to see it appear as a standard text for many university courses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nearly brilliant, 20 April 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Web Project Management: Delivering Successful Commercial Web Sites (Paperback)
I read this book and was dissappointed, mainly because I was expecting some revelation, or some way of approach that would really gel. In fact it wasn't very revealling, I can't say I learned a great deal but thats because I've learned by experience myself. I think there is a book out there on this subject that has yet to be written, the web link mentioned doesn't exist anymore. I would say if you are completely new to web project management then this book is worth reading. If you've already being doing it for a number of years then this book should not tell you anything new, if it does then it was worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Godsend, 3 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Web Project Management: Delivering Successful Commercial Web Sites (Paperback)
Rarely do management books break the mould in the way Mr. Friedlein's excellent project management tool does. Having dredged through numerous so-called 'expert' works, it's a genuine pleasure to come across a book that cuts the fluff and tells you what you need to know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Web Project Management: Delivering Successful Commercial Web Sites
Web Project Management: Delivering Successful Commercial Web Sites by Ashley Friedlein (Paperback - 1 Oct 2000)
31.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews