Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well set out, simple to follow and beautiful colour photos.
An enjoyable guide to making chocolates. Lots of ideas to create beautiful gifts for friends and family. It explains the process of tempering the chocolate in detail for beginners like me.
Published on 3 Jan 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful but nowhere near perfect!
This book gives an excellent and reassuring introduction to making truffles. I'd also bought Andrew Garrisons 'Making Artisan Chocolates' book and was feeling a little overwhelmed!!

It is clearly an american book but luckily there is a conversion table in the back. Unfortunately the author didn't think to include both imperial and metric in the actual recipes...
Published on 9 Sep 2008 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful but nowhere near perfect!, 9 Sep 2008
This review is from: Truffles: 50 Deliciously Decadent Homemade Chocolate Treats (Hardcover)
This book gives an excellent and reassuring introduction to making truffles. I'd also bought Andrew Garrisons 'Making Artisan Chocolates' book and was feeling a little overwhelmed!!

It is clearly an american book but luckily there is a conversion table in the back. Unfortunately the author didn't think to include both imperial and metric in the actual recipes so I had to manually work it out for each recipe, painless but a trifle annoying! My other gripe is that there is no troubleshooting guide so on my first attempt the ganache split and there was nothing to say how to fix it so I had to use google instead (add a bit of cold cream and whisk like crazy).

Also there aren't enough pictures so for some of the recipes there is no indication of what the finished product will look like.

There are some lovely recipes though despite the books shortcomings so it will be well used and at the price it's easy enough to supplement it with other books that have clearer guides to the methods and technicalities of making a ganache.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well set out, simple to follow and beautiful colour photos., 3 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Truffles: 50 Deliciously Decadent Homemade Chocolate Treats (Hardcover)
An enjoyable guide to making chocolates. Lots of ideas to create beautiful gifts for friends and family. It explains the process of tempering the chocolate in detail for beginners like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Truffles, 21 Aug 2013
By 
Dmajam (London England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Truffles: 50 Deliciously Decadent Homemade Chocolate Treats (Hardcover)
I did not realise when I purchased book it was American, but, it is a nice book. The cover is different to the one I ordered, I presume it has the same recipes. You will have to decide the equivalent chocolate to be used, as with all ingredients, which are for the American market. However, I am looking forward to making and trying many of the truffles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic sweets, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Truffles: 50 Deliciously Decadent Homemade Chocolate Treats (Hardcover)
I have just got interested in making my own sweets and this book was brilliant with recipies and clear instructions on what to do full off good ideas which you can ajust to your likes and tastes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Truffles: 50 Deliciously Decadent Homemade Chocolate Treats (Hardcover)
nice book with plenty of simple recipes to follow.
lovely pictures also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Truffles: 50 Deliciously Decadent Homemade Chocolate Treats (Hardcover)
Delicious recipes! Can't wait to try them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I have been ripped off., 14 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered this book by mistake. Immediately cancelled it, but it has remained on my Kindle and I have been charged for it. Not amused!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Truffles: 50 Deliciously Decadent Homemade Chocolate Treats
Truffles: 50 Deliciously Decadent Homemade Chocolate Treats by Dede Wilson (Hardcover - 1 Nov 2006)
£8.35
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews