Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good knowledge,cheap book
For those who are into buildind their own spaceframe racecar this is a must have book.Many chassis building techniques explained.All popular suspension systems also explained.A++
Published on 25 Dec 2008 by Evangelos Tsekouras

versus
24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A reasonable introduction to peformance dynamics
Unfortunately, I read Alan Staniforth's 'Competition Car Suspension' just before reading this and was not too impressed by the lack of depth of this work. Mainly aimed at the American market, it concentrates on large, heavy and relatively crude saloons and how to improve them. These methods are not necessarilly valid in the European market. It does, however, cover most...
Published on 12 Jun 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A reasonable introduction to peformance dynamics, 12 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Chassis Engineering HP1055 (Paperback)
Unfortunately, I read Alan Staniforth's 'Competition Car Suspension' just before reading this and was not too impressed by the lack of depth of this work. Mainly aimed at the American market, it concentrates on large, heavy and relatively crude saloons and how to improve them. These methods are not necessarilly valid in the European market. It does, however, cover most suspension layout basics, the does and don'ts of spaceframe chasis design and basic aerodynamics. All in all a reasonable introduction to performance car dynamics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good knowledge,cheap book, 25 Dec 2008
By 
Evangelos Tsekouras (Athens,Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chassis Engineering HP1055 (Paperback)
For those who are into buildind their own spaceframe racecar this is a must have book.Many chassis building techniques explained.All popular suspension systems also explained.A++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book for the budding chassis designer, 3 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Chassis Engineering HP1055 (Paperback)
As it is an American publication, I expected this book to be greatly biased towards oval track racing but was pleasantly surprised to find this is not the case. Although some chapters are given over to the subject, it does not dominate the book and so, no matter what the form of racing, this book is useful.
Good explaination is given of the various forms of suspension and their respective advantages and disadvatages as well as methods of tuning them.
Some may find the book a little simplistic if similar books have already been read but I feel that the purpose of this publication is to provide an introduction to the subject. As such, it performs this task admirably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 8 Dec 2010
This review is from: Chassis Engineering HP1055 (Paperback)
Although fairly basic this book is an excellent read and is easy to follow. Aimed more at the enthusiast than a guide to designing your own Chassis. the explanations it contains are very logical and it gives a good insight into the reasons how a car handles the way it does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good balance between theory and practice., 5 Mar 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Chassis Engineering HP1055 (Paperback)
A good book that has an excellent blend of the theory AND practice of the subject. I particularly liked the worked examples and the fact that it gave actual values to the concepts discussed. The diagrams and explanations are clear and easy to understand. The book is not too race oriented but also very applicable to those wanting to make their road cars handle better.
Two (small) criticisms: 1. Far too much space is given to the characterisrics and setting up of circle track cars ( left/right turn only ) which cannot be of general interest. 2. Pictures are included that do not add to the content in any way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read and reference in a easy to read format, 2 Dec 2010
By 
A. Warren (Mars) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chassis Engineering HP1055 (Paperback)
This is the second time I've actually bought this book as I lost the first one, so that gives you an idea of how useful it was to me!
I've converted a front wheel drive Renault 5 to a rear engined and rear wheel drive car so my suspension was completely different to the out of factory setup. I needed a guide to help me understand design and implement the suspension changes and it's worked a treat. I will be competing in next years sprint and hill climb championship in the knowledge that my car will go round corners and know what to do if it doesn't.
The book is written starting with the basics chapter by chapter then from design to implementing then testing. It's a brilliant read that you won't want to disappear from your bookcase.
One of my favorite things about the book is that it doesn't go into unnecessary theory like other books I've read just the essentials and what you need to get your car handling!
My car can be seen at my website [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It was good but..., 9 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. Richard Smith (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chassis Engineering HP1055 (Paperback)
Chassis Engineering for HP Cars is a good overall introduction to Chassis Engineering. Being a car enthusiast with very little experience in the subject, for me it was an excellent beginners book... however I felt it skimmed over some vital topics too quickly and (due to it's time of printing) misses out more modern replacements of older technology. By all means buy it... it's a good book and a great introduction, but be prepared to buy another book on the same topic afterwards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Introduction, 21 Oct 2004
This review is from: Chassis Engineering HP1055 (Paperback)
As a beginner in Chassis tuning I found this book excellent at explaining the principles of suspension design. Every chapter is well laid out, and all design aspects clearly explained. While it includes useful tips for constructors it is not a detailed hands on formula for constructors, but then it's not meant to be. Its great strength is in clear explainations, giving me lots of inspiration to design and build my own set up. It should be on every enthusiasts book shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chassis Engineering, 20 Aug 2004
This review is from: Chassis Engineering HP1055 (Paperback)
A very comprehensive read explaining the 'nuts and bolts of suspension design' extremely well. THere are a number of simple formulae enabling the reader to calculate the essentials of their supension design e.g, cornering force and lateral weight transfer. In all its a great book which guides you from the basic theorys of suspension to the practicallity of uprating your current setup. Only dissapointment was the breifness of the chapter on actual chassis / frame design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice "covers all the basics" book, 2 April 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Chassis Engineering HP1055 (Paperback)
I bought this book, to just try to understand the machinations of my rear/live-axle vehicle. This book covers that, and, goes into the different indep-suspension setups, so this book will be applicable to most chassis setups.
Highly recommended, as a starter book, and as a reference book for the library....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chassis Engineering HP1055
Chassis Engineering HP1055 by Herb Adams (Paperback - 19 Nov 1992)
18.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews