Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coming - of - age classic
As one reviewer said of this book, "Unashamedly high - spirited and romantic". Written in 1895, when Miles Franklin was only sixteen, the story is autobiographical without being an autobiography.It tells of a young girl's ardent wish to leave the hard existence in the Australian outback on her father's farm, which she shares with her unsympathetic mother and many...
Published 7 months ago by ABC

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars As a stand-alone it has many flaws and was not a great read for me
This was a book club read in the context of the life of the author and was interesting in that context. As a stand-alone it has many flaws and was not a great read for me.
Published 2 months ago by pyewacket


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coming - of - age classic, 1 Oct. 2014
As one reviewer said of this book, "Unashamedly high - spirited and romantic". Written in 1895, when Miles Franklin was only sixteen, the story is autobiographical without being an autobiography.It tells of a young girl's ardent wish to leave the hard existence in the Australian outback on her father's farm, which she shares with her unsympathetic mother and many siblings. Escape comes in the form of her grandmother and then wealthy Harry Beecham, a handsome landowner. But Sybylla is no conventional heroin.
The descriptions of the Australian bush are beautiful and evocative without being sentimental.The views expressed concerning women's emancipation are well ahead of their time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old favourite, 3 July 2014
By 
ejcw (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An old favourite and always will be for me. Captures the atmosphere of Australia in its most formative years. The best of her works, I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Modern woman in outback Oz!, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very thought-provoking story. A real page-turner which evoked the spirit and feel of Australia. (Especially the heat and dust which I remember very well from my teenage years!). Was surprised at the ending....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very unusual biography, 30 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was surprised by this book. It is a very unusual approach to an autobiography and kept me reading. Lots of wonderful descriptions as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars As a stand-alone it has many flaws and was not a great read for me, 25 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a book club read in the context of the life of the author and was interesting in that context. As a stand-alone it has many flaws and was not a great read for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A teenage heroine to love, 10 Jun. 2008
I read this book first when I was about 15, and 24 years on I still love it. The vividness of the Australian settings: countryside, small town and city, the heroine, her relationships with family and friends- all are utterly absorbing and convincing. Sybella, of course- ho could fail to love such an exasperating, feisty teenager?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Read, 5 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this book. She captures the essence of bush life in Australia, the hardship and the beauty and how if fashions the community. The strength of character and sense of self is as relevant for women today as it was when it was written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Character and voice, 16 July 2007
I first read this book in my teens and adored the wayward Sybella. The writing has such vitality and youthful passion, it carries you along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Brilliant Career
My Brilliant Career by Miles Franklin (Paperback - 6 Jun. 2006)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews