Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be required reading for all so-called Christians.
Perhaps the best review is to let Jefferson speak for himself: "To the corruptions of Christianity I am indeed opposed, but not to the genuine precepts of Jesus himself. I am a Christian in the only sense in which he wished anyone to be: sincerely attached to his doctrines in preference to all others and ascribing to him every human excellence, believing he never...
Published on 29 Jun 1999

versus
8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not quite the whole message
I completely understand what Jefferson was trying to do with this bible. I think he should have explained the miracles instead of simply removing them. I am religious educator and the miracles need not be removed but merely understood as moral teachings (i.e. the feeding of the 5000 is not a magic trick that turns one small boy's lunch into food for all, rather it is...
Published on 29 Dec 2009 by J. Mcdonald


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be required reading for all so-called Christians., 29 Jun 1999
By A Customer
Perhaps the best review is to let Jefferson speak for himself: "To the corruptions of Christianity I am indeed opposed, but not to the genuine precepts of Jesus himself. I am a Christian in the only sense in which he wished anyone to be: sincerely attached to his doctrines in preference to all others and ascribing to him every human excellence, believing he never claimed any other" (from a letter to Dr. Benjamin Rush, April 21, 1803).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant mans take on morality., 23 Jun 1999
By A Customer
This book goes deep into the root of what is missing in America today. Morality. Written by possibly one of the greatest minds ever, Jefferson goes into the meaning of the Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable man was/is Jesus, 30 May 2014
By 
SJB (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Jefferson Bible: The Life and Morals of Jesus of Nazareth (Hardcover)
No matter your view whether the son of God or man, miracle performer or moral storyteller, theologians and historians agree Jesus was/is real. His life has stood the test of time, which is likely the ultimate proof anyone really needs that he lived and embodied the views and teachings he espoused.

The book is an abridged rendition of the bibles message with the emphasis on Jesus as natural rather than supernatural as Mr Jefferson veers away from what he likely understood as religious fantasy in the miracles portrayed. It's decent as another perspective but not definitive.

Anyone who took what they believed and likely knew to be real to the ultimate lengths as Jesus did is truly extraordinary. I hope his act was validated to him on death as he certainly deserved it to be so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No happy ending, 25 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jefferson Bible: The Life and Morals of Jesus of Nazareth (Hardcover)
...but no need for one either. Jefferson's Jesus is a real man, doesn't do miracles, doesn't rise from the dead, and doesn't need to. When he dies, that's the end, but he leaves you with so many good examples & parables explaining what it is to be a good person, that you don't need any supernatural stuff. Here is a Jesus for the agnostics & atheists, a man *anyone* can believe in & follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not quite the whole message, 29 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jefferson Bible: The Life and Morals of Jesus of Nazareth (Hardcover)
I completely understand what Jefferson was trying to do with this bible. I think he should have explained the miracles instead of simply removing them. I am religious educator and the miracles need not be removed but merely understood as moral teachings (i.e. the feeding of the 5000 is not a magic trick that turns one small boy's lunch into food for all, rather it is another form of parable that shows how when we share even what little we have with everyone in need then we will have heaven on earth, by today's standards we produce enough food on a daily basis to feed 8x our population and yet there are nearly 1/3 who starve every day, if we would share all that we have there would be no need for hunger and it would fulfill one of the main precepts of the 'kingdom of heaven'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
whilst being 'what it says on the tin' I didn't find the grouping of texts by Jefferson to be particularly helpful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 18 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
POOR
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excerpts from the bible, 14 Jan 2011
By 
Kari Lindeman (Minneapolis, MN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Jefferson Bible: The Life and Morals of Jesus of Nazareth (Hardcover)
This is nothing but Jefferson's chosen excerpts from the Bible. There is nothing brilliantly new about the book. It is interesting to see what Jefferson chooses to include and exclude, however, if you own a bible, you already own this book. If you're interested in Jefferson's views on religion, I would look for a biography on Jefferson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Gospels without anything supernatural, 27 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Too hard to read as the language is dated, the King James bible is easier on the brain. Having said that Jefferson didn't compile the book for publication so no surprise it's not readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Jefferson Bible?, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jefferson might have been a great man in his day but if you believe the Bible is the word of God then you can neither add to it or take away from it. Perhaps the power had gone to his head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Jefferson Bible: The Life and Morals of Jesus of Nazareth
The Jefferson Bible: The Life and Morals of Jesus of Nazareth by Thomas Jefferson (Hardcover - Aug 2006)
£6.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews