Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Beware. This book may be fatal to your blind faith"
I'm quoting one of the reviews on the back of this book and it is a warning to some of the sort of Beatles fans who frequent fan clubs and Web forums. I know this from bitter previous experience of trying to start a debate on this and getting utterly cold-shouldered because the book trashed the reputation of 'our John'. I would tend to agree with the other reviewers in...
Published on 6 Jun. 2005 by Antony

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a skewed portrayal
First off, I am a huge John Lennon fan and had avoided this book for years due to its vile reputation among Beatles and Lennon fans. I finally succumbed and sort of wish I hadn't. To be honest, this is a well written and entertaining book. However, to John's fans it's extremely hard to read. Some 'facts' I cannot see how they were verified as they seem like pure...
Published 10 months ago by hannah balsom


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good research, 17 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
fascinating to find out about the guys life - didnt know much about lennon and was fascinated by a well researched book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book, 19 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lives of John Lennon (Paperback)
There is a lot of truth in this book but there is also a lot of exaggeration and unfounded allegations. Some of it seemed to be wild speculation from the author himself and other stuff from friends of friends. It's a good book if you are interested in Mr Lennon and keep an open mind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Goldman's Spite, 20 Feb. 2011
I was on holiday when this came out in 1988, and it was shocking.It was run in the Daily Mail as " Lennon UnMasked ", it was discussed on TV as to if it would damage Lennon's long term reputation . Paul McCartney advised people not to buy it claiming he was there and none of it happened . Goldman then called Paul McCartney a Marshmellow of a man , U2 name checked the book on their " God" Track on their new album " Rattle and Hum " , so heady days !
Several years later , I bought the book second hand , so as not to give Albert Goldman much , if any cash .I've read most Beatles Books and John Lennon books, so curiosity got the better of me eventually.
And so to the book. Its writing style is sanctimonious , there is an obvious dislike for the subject , and he never misses an opportunity to take " pot shots".
To me the people he interviewed all give exagerated versions of old tales , including the Hamburg stories, some of them have since fallen out out Lennon , or fallen on hard times , how reliable are these stories ?
He makes errors on Beatles projects , which always loses credibility . He critises the Beatles music , and makes remarks such as they lacked ambition and never recorded in America . If you listen to say Revolver , its sonically much better than most music produced from any other band around the World in the 1960's . Abbey Road, SOUNDS like it could have been made last year . The New 2009 CD's prove this, they sound SUPERB .
Most of Albert Goldmans most shocking claims , are around John's relationships with people like Brian Epstein , with claims that have no evidence what so ever .
So approach with care .John Lennon in his life time, gave interviews and wrote songs , far more honest than most people , let alone famous people , and that was part of his charm .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book., 5 Sept. 2008
By 
David Stewart (Glasgow, United Kingdom.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lives of John Lennon (Paperback)
This is an exhaustively researched and easy to read look at the life of John Lennon and those around him. The book is very well written and is definately an addictive read, it is very in depth and thought provoking. I recommend this book to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the lives of john lennon, 15 Jun. 2009
By 
M. E. Williamson (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this book if very detailed and goes deep into how john lennon was. after reading this book you feel you know more of the man he was rather than the celebrity we all knew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A filthy, disgraceful volume of lies, deceit and tricks!, 24 July 2013
McCartney: Goldman made up "any old bunch of lies he sees fit", "a piece of trash"

Bono: "Don't believe in Goldman, his type is like a curse, Instant karma's gonna get him, if I don't get him first"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 21 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The quality is excellent, the transport was fast and accurate, i would recommend it to everyone. Just a good experience :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lives of John Lennon
The Lives of John Lennon by Albert Goldman (Paperback - Dec. 2001)
£16.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews