Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 7 November 2001
A handbook for bored, thirty-something children (like myself) on how to make potato cannons, tennis ball mortars, catapults and the like from the comfort of their garden shed.
Twelve projects from the ridiculously easy to the fairly time consuming, packed into 169 pages of juvenile playhem. Good instructions, clear pictures and photos, and all done with the emphasis on safety.
There is also a fair amount of explanation concerning the actual physics behind the projects and a look at historical figures such as Newton and Archimedes.
0Comment|76 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2005
Unlike most books like it this is a manual is genuinely full of easy to do projects. If you looking for something special in coimbination with this I reccommend "Home Workshop Explosives" by Uncle Fester. This combination is not for the faint of heart! Overall an excellent addition to my collection.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2004
A superb, but sadly probably marginally legal in my jurisdiction, introduction to the destructive delights of the hairspray powered potato gun amongst many, beautifully detailed little projects.
For all of us who watch "junkyard wars", or as we have it "Scrapheap Challenge", this book is a rallying call to visit the plumbers supply house and detonate some spuds.
The book is strong on details, suggestions for further "research" and lots of pertinent history.
Highly recommended.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
I purchased the original copy and again I have not been disappointed. There are lots of tips for the DIY enthusiast, and you do need to adapt bits and search a little harder for some parts in the UK. If you hadn't gathered by now this is an American publication, though the safety aspects and the science behind the many different projects are generally universal.
Take special note to the amount of area required and the environment we are in, especially as there is much more space available in the US in which to launch your project.
There is something for everyone but I would suggest this is very much for the adult audience with enthusiastic support from you teenager!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2006
This is a really fascinating read.
Strong emphasis is placed on safety and is ideal for Parental supervision of all the projects.The story of the atomic spud gun is worth buying the book on it's own.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
My son devoured this book the instant he opened it on Christmas day and spent the rest of the holidays finding bits of drain pipe and other oddments. Thank goodness he is back at university now, so any experimenting can happen there! Definitely an inspiring read for a budding engineer!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2011
This bookibrought just to fill in a bit of time. I found it quite well explained with scope to improve the projects. Overall a fun book that will amaze you kids with your building ability although these projects should always be supervised by a adult while being operated
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
It is an interesting book that takes you through ways to make many different projectile firing things. The book details all of the parts that need to be obtained and how to build the devices
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2010
I went through a phase of interest in this type of "boys toys/science experiments" book and I think I bought 3 or 4 on the trot for toilet seat reading (puns unintentional). I can testify that of the 3 or 4 this was the best. Far less "politically correct" and more interesting than the others and definitely compelling in terms of the history of ballistics and the "sciencey bits" included. Worth a read, though I have yet to build any of the devices hence haven't managed to blow up my shed yet.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2011
A great book for when your board or those raining days which we have allot of in Wales. A lot of projects to make on your own with friends or family. Over all a great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)