Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 77 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Step-by-step mad stuff to make, or, toys for the boys.
A handbook for bored, thirty-something children (like myself) on how to make potato cannons, tennis ball mortars, catapults and the like from the comfort of their garden shed.
Twelve projects from the ridiculously easy to the fairly time consuming, packed into 169 pages of juvenile playhem. Good instructions, clear pictures and photos, and all done with the emphasis...
Published on 7 Nov. 2001 by red_monkey

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read
A short book with boyhood ideas that as a grown up I really want to try. Now that I have a son I can have an excuse to try them out.
Published 21 months ago by yellowman100


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 77 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Step-by-step mad stuff to make, or, toys for the boys., 7 Nov. 2001
By 
red_monkey - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backyard Ballistics: Build Potato Cannons, Paper Match Rockets, Cincinnati Fire Kites, Tennis Ball Mortars and More Dynamite Devices (Paperback)
A handbook for bored, thirty-something children (like myself) on how to make potato cannons, tennis ball mortars, catapults and the like from the comfort of their garden shed.
Twelve projects from the ridiculously easy to the fairly time consuming, packed into 169 pages of juvenile playhem. Good instructions, clear pictures and photos, and all done with the emphasis on safety.
There is also a fair amount of explanation concerning the actual physics behind the projects and a look at historical figures such as Newton and Archimedes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievably mad, incredibaly fun, 19 Jan. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Backyard Ballistics: Build Potato Cannons, Paper Match Rockets, Cincinnati Fire Kites, Tennis Ball Mortars and More Dynamite Devices (Paperback)
Unlike most books like it this is a manual is genuinely full of easy to do projects. If you looking for something special in coimbination with this I reccommend "Home Workshop Explosives" by Uncle Fester. This combination is not for the faint of heart! Overall an excellent addition to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow., 30 July 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Backyard Ballistics: Build Potato Cannons, Paper Match Rockets, Cincinnati Fire Kites, Tennis Ball Mortars and More Dynamite Devices (Paperback)
A superb, but sadly probably marginally legal in my jurisdiction, introduction to the destructive delights of the hairspray powered potato gun amongst many, beautifully detailed little projects.
For all of us who watch "junkyard wars", or as we have it "Scrapheap Challenge", this book is a rallying call to visit the plumbers supply house and detonate some spuds.
The book is strong on details, suggestions for further "research" and lots of pertinent history.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for kids, small or large, but is it legal in UK?, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you want to build simple or complex devices to launch stuff this is a book for you. The more complex kit is all sized in imperial measures but some things are universal like pringle cans.

We have built a couple of the devices listed in here but don't underestimate the complexity and time it could take you to build the more complex stuff. Even the pringle tennis ball mortar is something that takes a while, and copious amounts of duck tape, to build. I think the results can be a little hit and miss for things fuelled by spray or lighter fuel but when it works well it is glorious, even if you can't find your tennis ball again.

The book is well written with clear explanations of the physics, and the compromises needed when building devices to shoot things and decent diagrams. There are warnings in the right places about safety which are worth heeding.

The big question is whether a pneumatic potato cannon or lighter fuel tennis ball mortar is legal under UK law. If you live in a big city then making loud bangs might draw some unwelcome attention so we obviously haven't made any of those devices in this country. Plenty of more permissive places exist though. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the under 12vs!, 24 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent detailed descriptions of each project with interesting additional educational commentaries. A full parts list is included for each project. The only down side is that these projects are not made of scraps and household items unless you happen to be a plumber or builder. The expense of purchasing these materials might put a lot of people off attempting a build. On the plus side these projects all seem rather dangerous - in my case too dangerous to attempt with a 4 year old grandson - he will have to wait many years before his parents will countenance such dangerous activities as causing explosions to launch various missiles great distances. My mistake but nevertheless an interesting and worthwhile read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a BLAST!, 18 Aug. 2013
By 
R. Townhill "Rob Townhill" (Bratton, wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased the original copy and again I have not been disappointed. There are lots of tips for the DIY enthusiast, and you do need to adapt bits and search a little harder for some parts in the UK. If you hadn't gathered by now this is an American publication, though the safety aspects and the science behind the many different projects are generally universal.
Take special note to the amount of area required and the environment we are in, especially as there is much more space available in the US in which to launch your project.
There is something for everyone but I would suggest this is very much for the adult audience with enthusiastic support from you teenager!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take cover, 16 Mar. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Backyard Ballistics: Build Potato Cannons, Paper Match Rockets, Cincinnati Fire Kites, Tennis Ball Mortars and More Dynamite Devices (Paperback)
This is a really fascinating read.
Strong emphasis is placed on safety and is ideal for Parental supervision of all the projects.The story of the atomic spud gun is worth buying the book on it's own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Does what it says on the tin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fun an physics for all abilities, 22 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My grandson and I love this book. He is only 4 years old so we are sticking with the easy stuff for now. Far better than colouring in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 20 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A short book with boyhood ideas that as a grown up I really want to try. Now that I have a son I can have an excuse to try them out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews