Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great book
This book is the best book I ever read about teaching yoga. It is a great addition to my yoga teacher training. It is full of tips and techniques you want to know about teaching and doing yoga. I really love this book.
Published on 11 Feb 2011 by Linda

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Yoga Teachers probably don't need this book
Perhaps it's quite good as a reminder, but if you've done a teacher training course you probably covered most of the stuff in here.
Well written and laid out. I may well refer to it from time to time. Nice to flick through and read bits and pieces as refreshers.
Published 12 months ago by Fiona Campbell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great book, 11 Feb 2011
This review is from: Teaching Yoga: Essential Foundations and Techniques (Paperback)
This book is the best book I ever read about teaching yoga. It is a great addition to my yoga teacher training. It is full of tips and techniques you want to know about teaching and doing yoga. I really love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great teaching resource, 13 May 2011
This review is from: Teaching Yoga: Essential Foundations and Techniques (Paperback)
I would strongly reccomend it to yoga teachers. No matter if you are experienced or just starting yoga teaching this book will guide you through anatomy, philosophy, pranayama and postures from different perspective and leaves you with better understanding. A lot of observation and knowledge with not too many pictures, which is great for me as it gives clear message without unneccesary speculations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an ideal gift thats different, 22 Sep 2012
By 
B. Milburn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Teaching Yoga: Essential Foundations and Techniques (Paperback)
The person I bought this for was VERY impressed and I suggest its THE gift for any qualified yoga teacher or those wishing to persue that career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and Inspiring, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having recently completed a disappointing 200 hour yoga teaching certification, this book is just what I needed to fill gaps in knowledge and regain the inspiration I have for wanting to teach and share yoga with others. I will be referring to and re-reading this book for many years to come...
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teaching Yoga Will Change Your Life, 3 Jan 2013
By 
J. Pittam "Maythorn" (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching Yoga: Essential Foundations and Techniques (Paperback)
'Teaching Yoga Will Change Your Life' - so begins Mark Stephens' book. Stephens set out, he says, to provide an essential resource for all yoga teachers and students interested in refining their skills and expanding their knowledge of yoga.

To that end there are chapters on the ancient roots of modern yoga, yoga's journey to the west, subtle energies, body structure an movement, techniques and tools in teaching yoga, teaching asanas, teaching pranayma, teaching meditation, planning classes, specialised teaching and yoga as a profession. There are instructions on how to construct a basic practice 'arc' and sample plans based on all the major branches of yoga such as Iyengar, Bikram, Sivanada, etc.

The aspects I liked best were his clear honest style of writing, his obvious experience and knowledge, his immaculate referencing of facts and figures and his obvious love of yoga. Suitable as a text book for new teachers and a reference work for the more experienced.

I'm already virtually living with this book and I expect to do so for a long time to come.

It's clearly set out and the illustrations are particularly clear - suitable for anyone with a visual disability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive reference book, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching Yoga: Essential Foundations and Techniques (Paperback)
I am doing my yoga teacher study at the moment and most of it is home study so this has helped me immensely with teaching techniques, cues etc. A very comprehensive book. Would have been 5 star if illustrations were better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching Yoga: Essential Foundations and Techniques (Paperback)
This is a brilliant resource book, particularly for yoga teachers, although it would also be very useful for yoga students who would like to know more about yoga in detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching Yoga: Essential Foundations and Techniques (Paperback)
A complete teaching yoga book. I find it very useful. Clear and concise. Gives good tips for somebody who starts teaching, either a small group or in a yoga studio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 29 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teaching Yoga: Essential Foundations and Techniques (Paperback)
A really interesting and comprehensive overview, which as a yoga teacher I find myself frequently referring to. The book is suitable for those who are less knowledgeable about teaching yoga, because it really goes back to basics - but it's equally enlightening for those whose knowledge is advanced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Teaching yoga, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Veryinteresting summary of yoga roots and traditions. Well written, without the hindi jargon usually present in this type of books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Teaching Yoga: Essential Foundations and Techniques
Teaching Yoga: Essential Foundations and Techniques by Mark Stephens (Paperback - 1 Jun 2010)
14.28
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews