Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars17
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 January 2013
Two years ago I set out to drop two stone in weight and tighten up some old muscles by going to the gym for regular cardiovascular and weight workouts. I soon found out that it was going to take more than sweat and tears to get rid of the excess weight I'd gained after spending 2 years sat around recovering from an injury.I bought this book along with another on nutrition after a good friend recommended them.
I knew how to train and gain muscle as any serious sportsman should but have to admit I'd never thought much about the scientific reasons for my muscle gains or why I'd gained 12.7kg of lard.
This book gives a fascinating insight to doing exactly what it says on the cover.I must admit its not the easiest book to read,neither is it your average slimmers bible.This is a book for those who are deadly serious about transforming their bodies into a lean mean fat burning machine.A must have for any athlete.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
I did enjoy reading this book, although at times I wished the author had skipped some of the very in depth explanations around hormonal reasons behind weight loss and muscle gain. It does become at times a very dense reading, where unless a medicine student or professional, it can be easy getting lost or confused.

Sadly there are no real examples of how to apply the science to the every day life of an athlete. Yes the author talks (briefly and with little detail) about type of workouts to do during under eating phases, yet it is not detailed enough. Same when it comes to the diet itself. For all the detailed explanations on insulin-resistance and insulin-sensitivity, there is not one example of how to go about creating an effective diet plan for an athlete, so the reader is left to their own devices to come up with practical applications of the theory explained on the book.

Last point, at all times the author keeps repeating that the theory described in the book on combining phases of under eating with strength exercises "may" result in fat loss and muscle gain. For a book that has numerous pages of what it looks like medical and scientific references, and claims to develop a revolutionary new way of approaching body transformation, it all seems that in the end the author does not want to assume full responsibility of what he seems to claim.

In summary, I have enjoyed reading the book, yet it lacks some fundamental practicalities most readers would have appreciated.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2015
Did not enjoy this book. Immediately starts talking about meal timings (and intermittent fasting) and the use of steroids which for most people is not relevant. The book occasionally uses technical terms without explaining them, meaning I had to research them before continuing reading.

There is however a thorough scientific look at different fitness phenomenons but it is not explained clearly how to benefit from them and it doesnt give a clear guide.

To be fair I only read the first 50 pages or so of the book, but it just wasn't engaging so I did not continue
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2012
This is a marvelous book which distills into a short 133 pages the science behind building a fit, lean and strong body. I learned about this book from reading Rob Regish's "The Blueprint" (a fantastic book in its own right). Extremely convincing and laid out in a positive logical manner. This book is fairly technical but if you are a skeptic like me, its a must read after "The Warrior Diet". After reading these two books you will be in a position to treat your body like an F1 car - with extreme precision. It is also good that I have seen much of what he writes he backed up in other sources. This book will change your perception on what food and exercise does to your body. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2011
I am a personal trainer and I read many books on training to learn new training methods and always be aware of the best to use me and my clients. If you want to have a lean body this is a must have book...Very scientific, for that is very good.Do not talk about training, assumes that you know how to train to maximize your results. Talk about feeding and fasting.If you want to know more about the type of training reads the Warrior Diet by the same author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
Extremely informative book about how the body and its hormones work, some people may disagree with the man but he backs his statements up well, this book is really up there with the top books i've read on nutrition and physiology, although i wouldnt recommend it to a beginner
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2015
Rather technical but a interesting read, should read because you're interested in the area and biological reason's. Not a alternative to hard work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2015
Very good. I do recommend this book to everyone interested in this subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2009
This is a great book and gives some excellent knowledge on why things work and don't work. It can be heavy on the science stuff but that just shows how well researched it is. There are some things it that go against the common line of thinking but they do work. I would suggest using some of teh methods in this book with those in "Better than Steriods", i.e. mix up you diet and you will get great results.
Also mix up your work outs use HIT, HIIT, and all that good stuff.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2014
Great speed of delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)