Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent view including Ki , Techiques and Training tools
Excellent view of Aikido from both a beginner's and more advanced Aikidoka's point of view with aspects of how to start, showing the equipment and weapons that are used in training, through Dojo etiquette and principles of Ki. Then moves on to warming up exercises the principles behind each technique. Each technique is then described and points out what you should be...
Published on 19 Feb 2000

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good if a bit strange
I have mixed feelings over this book. All in all I am pleased to have it but not excited. The diagrams are reasomable if not upto Aikido and the Dynamic Sphere standard. There are no photos. It covers all the basics like techniques, breakfalls, etiquette, warming-up and the exercise used in the Ki Society. Indeed, while there is a definate bias towards the teachings...
Published on 9 April 2003 by R. Strauss


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent view including Ki , Techiques and Training tools, 19 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Aikido Exercises for Teaching and Training (Paperback)
Excellent view of Aikido from both a beginner's and more advanced Aikidoka's point of view with aspects of how to start, showing the equipment and weapons that are used in training, through Dojo etiquette and principles of Ki. Then moves on to warming up exercises the principles behind each technique. Each technique is then described and points out what you should be looking for during your practice, and how varying the technique can change the effort required. Weapons are introduced to show student each basically describing the names and uses and how simple practice techniques can be adopted. Overall I found this book enhanced my own knowledge and allowed me to look further into the techniques that I have been practicing and gave me some hints on how I could enhance my training through some of the suggested training tools and adaptions to my everyday life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Encourages experimentation, 18 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Aikido Exercises for Teaching and Training (Paperback)
This Book has an anecdotal manner and encourages an interactive approach to learning suggesting loads of experiments that can be attempted.It is unlike the usual "Monkey See, Monkey Do" approach of most such books. Its many digressions are informative and entertaining causing one to view aikido in a new light. They keep this book at my bedside when my other aikido volumes gather dust on a shelves somwhere. Highly reccommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good if a bit strange, 9 April 2003
By 
R. Strauss (Wellington, Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Aikido Exercises for Teaching and Training (Paperback)
I have mixed feelings over this book. All in all I am pleased to have it but not excited. The diagrams are reasomable if not upto Aikido and the Dynamic Sphere standard. There are no photos. It covers all the basics like techniques, breakfalls, etiquette, warming-up and the exercise used in the Ki Society. Indeed, while there is a definate bias towards the teachings of Tohei sensei the author never looks down on other teaches styles. This is one of the strengths of this book, the author comes over a really nice guy who is has done a lot of teaching. Some of his ideas of putting things across are very good,some are differant and some are a bit strange. Bet he is good with kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Friendly Book, 12 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Aikido Exercises for Teaching and Training (Paperback)
I am not an aikidoka, though I respect the art and its practitioners. If anything was going to convince me to change style and take up a new art (aikido) - this book would be it.
Much of the essence of the book has been drawn from e-mails sent to one of the aikido lists. In it various people give suggestions on what aikido is, what it isn't, how to do basic movements, the use of weapons, etc. etc. etc. all in a spirit of friendship and co-operation. Co-operation between different 'styles' of aikido - indeed even co-operation between different martial arts. The author has organised, refined and reflected upon these e-mails in a way that enhances their 'message'.
You couldn't learn how to do aikido from this book - but you can get a good feel for the active living spirit of the art - as demonstrated by its practitioners.
Even those martial artists who don't practice aikido would gain much from reading it (for instance there are good examples of how to teach); I would have thought that an active student (or teacher) of aikido would be very well advised to read this.
I enjoy it, and re-read it frequently - one of the 'best' martial arts books ever. (I would give it 6 stars, if that was available!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book now., 25 May 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Aikido Exercises for Teaching and Training (Paperback)
This book covers practicaly every aspect of Aikido, from common
questions, exercises ,ki development,tools and toys for training,
locks and throws,grabs and strikes,weapons,dojo and life etiquette ( how to avoid trouble). plus loads more , excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good reading but doesn't flow, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Exciting information and principles, but it would need more flowing on the writing, like a good aikido technic. Sometimes it looks like a collection of diferent texts on the same topic, just put together on the same chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 Feb 2009
By 
C. Soden - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aikido Exercises for Teaching and Training (Paperback)
Excellent book with good illustrations and usefull exercises a must for any serious martial artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not that good, 4 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is not well written, ore presented book, and the drawings are poor, unless you are seriously interested in the disciplene, you will put this book down and not pick it up again, dust jacket required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aikido Exercises for Teaching and Training
Aikido Exercises for Teaching and Training by C. M. Shifflett (Paperback - Jan 2000)
Used & New from: 0.55
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews