Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read!
The story is set around two central characters; Christian, the LA pretty boy, who is seen as 'perfect' by everyone around him, and Aaron, a Mormon missionary who moves in near to Christian.
The twist being that Aaron is gay, but because of his upbringings, and his religious beliefs he won't act on any feelings. Christian, not been someone to be turned down, and a $50...
Published on 25 Mar 2004

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice, but was it any good?
I didn't realise when I brought this book that it was a movie tie-in, with a film of the same name. Therefore I spent the first couple of chapters wondering why it had been written like a movie script, jumping around between characters and events. Even the language was 'script-ish'.

Overall, I enjoyed the book. It was a nice sweet story about two guys -...
Published on 4 Mar 2008 by R. L. Judd


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read!, 25 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Latter Days : a Novel, Based on the Screenplay (Paperback)
The story is set around two central characters; Christian, the LA pretty boy, who is seen as 'perfect' by everyone around him, and Aaron, a Mormon missionary who moves in near to Christian.
The twist being that Aaron is gay, but because of his upbringings, and his religious beliefs he won't act on any feelings. Christian, not been someone to be turned down, and a $50 bet riding on him, pushes Christian to keep trying.
Without spoiling the story, I'll just say that things progress quickly.
A lot of the large story arcs are packed into a relatively short book. The interesting characters, and the basic yet enthralling plot are the reasons I've given this book 5 stars.
The only real drawback for me was that there were a lot of plots that seemed to be only looked at briefly before being left behind. This book could have been three times as long, if the major dramatic parts of this story were explored in greater depth.
Still a worthwhile read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Magic, 25 Feb 2006
By 
Ian Fox-williams (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Latter Days : a Novel, Based on the Screenplay (Paperback)
Few books that I have read have been able to illustrate the saying "opposites attract" than this insipred novel. We are introduced to brother Aaron who is a mormon missionary; a gentle soul who wants to do nothing more than bring happiness to others lives through the teachings that there is a higher power...but one who should love all.
Then comes Christian, the original party boy, self centred and hot! hot! hot!. Their worlds collide when Aaron moves into the same apartment building as Christian, on first sight sparks fly. Aaron becomes introvert rejecting the feelings that he has for Christian....another man and abhorrent to what he has been taught. Christian cannot understand why he is drawn to Aaron (apart from the obvious!) in so much as wanting to become his friend and get to kmow him as a person.
Both guys realise that they have lessons to learn from each other and soon they can no longer hold back their feelings...however for one of them this leads to a dramatic and heartwrenching twist.
Christian's life is changed for ever, he who could play any man he wanted like a fiddle has had the tables turned - falling for a man that he might lose forever. This book is wonderfully written and the reader somehow gains a real vested interest in the outcome of what happens to Aaron and Christian and whether they will have a future together.
A touching love story for all proving that opposites do really attract!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutly best book i've ever read., 3 Sep 2004
This review is from: Latter Days : a Novel, Based on the Screenplay (Paperback)
wow i recieced this book yesturday morning and finnished it this afternoon. i loved it so much that ive started to read it again. which i've never done with any other book. it was funny enough to make me laugh, sad enough to make me cry and just sexy enough without being sleezy.
you have got to buy this book. i'm really not kidding. i've been waiting to see the film for about three months now but cant get any info as to when it will be on dvd in the united kingdom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reading This Book of the Same Title Deepens Appreciation & Understanding of the Film, "Latter Days", 13 Jan 2009
By 
Gerald Parker "Gerald Parker" (Rouyn-Noranda, QC., Dominion of Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Latter Days : a Novel, Based on the Screenplay (Paperback)
Others already have said much of what I would say (or not say, for that matter!) about this story. I wrote, in another Amazon user's review, what I in all humility think is a probing analysis of the film and of the reality of the religious and social milieu which it depicts, so I would direct those who consult Amazon to refer to it for more detail.

I wish mostly to point out how I appreciate the added dimension to character portrayal the book brings to the film. As one who spent time while growing up (for some years) as a L.D.S. Mormon, one from a family (on my mother's side) for several generations steeped in Mormonism, I appreciate the realism of Latter Days in portraying what the L.D.S. Mormon sect really is like, down to so many details. The book gives more profile especially to the secondary characters in this tale. The personality, background, world view, and ideals of the runtiest of the Mormon missionaries, Ryder, with whom Aaron works and comes into conflict, especially benefits from Cox' added detail and depth of portrayal. Ryder has his own aspirations and his own yearnings for love (in Ryder's case, heterosexual) to be reciprocated that go far in the book to make Ryder to be more than the shallow little conformist and (backed by his and Aaron's fellow missionaries) bully, too, that he rather too solely is in the film.

The film and the book really do cease the atmosphere and ethos of L.D.S. Mormonism realistically, for better as well as for worse. Get the book, see the film on DVD or when it comes back to a local theatre for another screening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice, but was it any good?, 4 Mar 2008
By 
R. L. Judd (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Latter Days : a Novel, Based on the Screenplay (Paperback)
I didn't realise when I brought this book that it was a movie tie-in, with a film of the same name. Therefore I spent the first couple of chapters wondering why it had been written like a movie script, jumping around between characters and events. Even the language was 'script-ish'.

Overall, I enjoyed the book. It was a nice sweet story about two guys - Christain (out, loud and proud) and Aaron (Mormon missionary, trying not to be out). The two meet, flounder and eventually fall in love.

The story is very short and touching, moving along at a quick pace. However I wish I'd simply watched the movie instead as I'm sure that the events wouldn't have seemed so rushed as they were in the novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Latter Days : a Novel, Based on the Screenplay
Latter Days : a Novel, Based on the Screenplay by T. Fabris (Paperback - 1 April 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews