Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny
Funny merciless send up book of some of the worse gimmicks ever and some terrible Hogan movies, (embarrassingly we actually own No Holds Barred but have yet to have done something bad enough to be punished by watching it), but if you own Wrestlecrap: The Worlds Maddest Wrestlers then you already have this book, just a different cover and black and white photos.
Published on 18 Nov 2006 by Hisame

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Fanboys wet dream....
While a decent enough read and a good starting point for anyone wanting to look into the often ridiculous history of pro wrestling, this was written with such an obvious wwf bias that it hurts.
Every chapter concerning wcw is written in a disgusted, 'how-dare-they' attitude, whilst every bad wwf booking decision is laughed at as if to say 'oh you guys, at least you...
Published 5 months ago by nemesis prime


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 18 Nov 2006
By 
Hisame (I am the Dragon from the desert who appears from nowhere and leaves no trace) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Funny merciless send up book of some of the worse gimmicks ever and some terrible Hogan movies, (embarrassingly we actually own No Holds Barred but have yet to have done something bad enough to be punished by watching it), but if you own Wrestlecrap: The Worlds Maddest Wrestlers then you already have this book, just a different cover and black and white photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For those who can't remember, 10 Nov 2004
By 
A. Ashwell "warlock200" (Nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is definitely written from a fan's perspective and as such is a very easy read. I finished it within 2 days (but I was familiar with many of the entries). If you've read Hogan's or Foley's books then some of this stuff will be familiar, and a lot of the Monday Night War stuff is better presented in Sex, Lies & Headlocks, but on the whole this is a well researched and entertaining read. More on the older gimmicks (pre-1980) would have been nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wrestlecrap, 1 Jan 2004
By A Customer
After slowly becoming a weekly ready of the website i was glad to hear the book was coming out, after much waiting i became very much into the book, it's well written and went well above expectations.
This book is great for any wrestling fan it not only highlights the gimmick side of wrestling but also backstage interaction that manipulated what we see each week, Wrestlecrap is a great insight and is well worth a look in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Laugh, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having been a regular site visitor and read the Death of WCW, I finally got around to reading this one. If you've a basic knowledge of wrestling in 80s/90s and know the Wrestlecrap site, theres nothing new here, but its a good overview of the stupidity that occurred. If you want a more in depth read, get Death of WCW, and please do check out the hilarious Wrestlecrap website, but this is a funny, interesting introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 10 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
having purchased The Wrestlecrap book of lists a few years ago I decided on try the original. well written and witty all the way through. if you're not familiar with the subjects being wrote about prepare to laugh, if like me you were there for them at the time be prepared to have memories come back and smile from cover to cover. can only hope a wrestlecrap follow up can be done as this goes up to 2003
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Fanboys wet dream...., 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While a decent enough read and a good starting point for anyone wanting to look into the often ridiculous history of pro wrestling, this was written with such an obvious wwf bias that it hurts.
Every chapter concerning wcw is written in a disgusted, 'how-dare-they' attitude, whilst every bad wwf booking decision is laughed at as if to say 'oh you guys, at least you won in the end'.
I honestly lost count of how many wwf-centric sections were justified by using 'but they signed Steve Austin, Mick Foley and hhh from wcw', like wwf knew what they were doing. Austin became a star in spite of the wwf system, not because of it, and the others got over on their own merits as well.
Not a great book, written by an obvious wwf fanboy in the style of most wrestling journalism at the time of wcw' s demise.
Hard to recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 26 Mar 2013
Reminded me of old angles and wrestlers I remember and enlightened me to stuff I had no idea about. Some of the stuff described in the book is so ludicrous I was laughing out loud
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For those who missed The Shockmaster first time around, 13 April 2012
By 
A. Stimpson "Rabid Consumer" (Hullborea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is my favourite bathroom book. I never tire of reading about the strangest, lamest and most downright demented 'angles' to be dreamed up by the minds behind american professional wrestling. The style of the authors has made their website a must-visit for many years and it translates well to a paperback. It's a shame the colourful layouts and stories that characterise the website aren't present but they have adopted a conversational style that works well, although the final product is a little lightweight when compared to the sheer volume of their prior output. Still, if you're a fan of the weird and wacky world of wrestling, or just want to read something light and entertaining while dropping the kids off at the pool, this should be right up your alley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 10 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it's difficult to believe that people come up with the ideas that they do and put them on tv. this makes for an entertaining read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great wrestling book......funniest thing ever, 11 Jan 2005
By 
HBK Shawn Micheals (Glasgow, Lanarkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
this has to be the funniest and best wrestling book i have read. Its nice to see a different prospective on wrestling and this does a great job of talking about the worst gimmick wrestlers (their characters) and the worst storylines ever. Many wrestlers over the years which had the finniest / stupidest gimmicks ever are present such as tugboat, goboldy gooker, kamala, papashango , giant gonzalez etc.
a great read and a fantastic insight into the worst wrestlers ever
all wrestling fans shud buy it now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WRESTLECRAP
WRESTLECRAP by RANDY BAER (Paperback - 1 Oct 2003)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews