Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gives you a different perspective...
Ok, so this is a book with 203 pictures, virtually all taken with a scanning electron microscope. These devices can produce pictures in extreme closeup and the images are all the more alien because of it.

The book is broken into six sections:

1 - Microorganisms (e.g. virii, phytoplankton, bacteria)
2 - Botanics (e.g. fungi spores, pollen,...
Published on 7 Jan 2011 by Emmster

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars This is a beautiful book of pictures and ideal for any person not ...
This is a beautiful book of pictures and ideal for any person not wanting to get involved with looking down a real microscope for themselves. The images with the most impact are taken with a Scanning Electron Microscope which costs hundreds of thousands of pounds brand new. For anyone who wishes to buy a book to accompany a gift or acquisition of a real optical...
Published 5 days ago by Maurice W. Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gives you a different perspective..., 7 Jan 2011
By 
Emmster (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Microcosmos: Discovering the World Through Microscopic Images from 20X to Over 22 Million X Magnification (Paperback)
Ok, so this is a book with 203 pictures, virtually all taken with a scanning electron microscope. These devices can produce pictures in extreme closeup and the images are all the more alien because of it.

The book is broken into six sections:

1 - Microorganisms (e.g. virii, phytoplankton, bacteria)
2 - Botanics (e.g. fungi spores, pollen, leaves, stems, seeds)
3 - Human Body (e.g. lots of cells, spine, bone, muscle, blood vessels, blood clots, kidney stone)
4 - Zoology (e.g. everyday insects, spiders, tiny mites)
5 - Minerals (e.g. snowflakes, vitamin C, folic acid, mescaline)
6 - Technology (e.g. velcro, nylon, toilet paper, cigarette paper, knife and razor blades)

(note - there more subjects than i've listed. I just wanted to give a flavour.)

Each section has a set of full-colour glossies that will blow your hair back. The images have been cleaned up and coloured using digital techniques; and hence are stunning. A small amount of text summarises each image and an indication of the required magnification level is given.

There are some really though-provoking shots; the one with neurons being grown on transistors (and mutually activating!) springs to mind.

I think it's a great coffee-table book: it has lots of pictures and not much text, it will cause comment and discussion regardless of the audience, and if all else fails, you can use the close up of a hair-louse (one ugly hombre) to scare your kids senseless.

I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Microcosms - Discovering the world through microscopic images, 31 Dec 2012
This review is from: Microcosmos: Discovering the World Through Microscopic Images from 20X to Over 22 Million X Magnification (Paperback)
Unlike his older sister I have had difficulty getting my 10 year old son to read anything meaningful. However I spotted him looking at a book in the shop in the city gallery, Manchester. He was transfixed by the images that the electron microscope can give. I took this as a sign, barcoded the book and here we are. Having just spent his Xmas £'s on more books than I could have hoped for I am amazed at how this book kick started his reading head. Filled with wonderful Images and bytesized chunks of text that don't overwhelm his reading he has stunned his teacher and won an award for doing a class discussion on the world that is before us but unseen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book of Amazing Images, 22 Aug 2011
This review is from: Microcosmos: Discovering the World Through Microscopic Images from 20X to Over 22 Million X Magnification (Paperback)
I am a fibre artist and often use microscopic images as reference points. I'm currently working on a series of small sculptures about bacteria and viruses and this book has been inspirational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microcosmos: Discovering the World Through Microscopic Images from 20X to Over 22 Million X Magnification (Paperback)
Really good book. I bought this for a male friend and he found it to be extremely interesting - . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This is a beautiful book of pictures and ideal for any person not ..., 20 Dec 2014
By 
This review is from: Microcosmos: Discovering the World Through Microscopic Images from 20X to Over 22 Million X Magnification (Paperback)
This is a beautiful book of pictures and ideal for any person not wanting to get involved with looking down a real microscope for themselves. The images with the most impact are taken with a Scanning Electron Microscope which costs hundreds of thousands of pounds brand new. For anyone who wishes to buy a book to accompany a gift or acquisition of a real optical microscope, forget it - this one will not help you at all. You will not be able to see anything like many of the pictures inside. If you just want a coffee table book: great - go for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microcosmos: Discovering the World Through Microscopic Images from 20X to Over 22 Million X Magnification (Paperback)
very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews