Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best guide for buying and using a telescope
Simply a wonderfully written book. It explains complicated issues with sublime simplicity. I often take a long time to read such books but I finished this in 3 days. I recommend this as your first buy, and it may well remain your last.
Published on 21 Dec 2008 by J. Garvey

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed.
Firstly this is a book primarily for visual astronomy not astrophotography.
Although there is a small section on using digital cameras.
I believe this book has only been updated once since 2003, and this edition (2008) is often way out of date.
It's very heavily American, so all in all I found it to be a disappointing book.
Published 5 months ago by Southcoaster


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best guide for buying and using a telescope, 21 Dec 2008
By 
J. Garvey "Knowlegde Seeker" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Backyard Astronomer's Guide (Hardcover)
Simply a wonderfully written book. It explains complicated issues with sublime simplicity. I often take a long time to read such books but I finished this in 3 days. I recommend this as your first buy, and it may well remain your last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Can't LIve Without This, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Backyard Astronomer's Guide (Hardcover)
I exaggerate for effect, of course but this publication is the DBs. It's written by Americans and the products mentioned and recommended are primarily aimed at the American market but most are available in the UK and those that aren't have equivalents (I think SkyWatcher products go by the name of 'Synta' in the 'States, for example).

If you're thinking of taking up astronomy, your first purchase should be this book. You should then read the chapters on telescopes and eyepieces before spending a penny more - I kid you not; it'll save you from making expensive mistakes and buying something which is too cumbersome or complicated to see regular use. If you've already bought your 'scope and are thinking of adding more eyepieces or other accessories, again, buy this first and you'll discover that a larger finder scope or red-dot finder will enhance you viewing pleasure more than any fancy optics.

If you're concerned that it might be out of date, fret ye not as it's been updated. It is, without question, the best amateur astronomy book I've ever encountered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lavishly Illustrated Stupendous Value Book, 18 Jan 2013
By 
R Young (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Backyard Astronomer's Guide (Hardcover)
Easily the most comprehensive and clearly written practical primer on astronomy and star gazing. All the sections are laid out with intelligence and clarity, and the accompanying illustrations and photos are outstanding. Added to this there are bold recommendations and critiques of available equipment rather than bland comments seen in other astro how-to books. I appreciate that. Everything you need to know is here, not only to get you started but if you are rusty and making a return to star gazing this gem updates you on gaps since perhaps you last looked skywards, with a really good contemporary look at equipment and techniques, from observing planets to clusters to deep space objects. This book anticipates your yearning to learn and uncannily knows the kind of questions you want answered, whether you are simply star hopping, or getting deeper into the basic physics of astronomy. There is a very impressive guide to astrophotography too. This is an outstanding book in every way and super value. Highly recommended without reservation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent introductory volume for novice astronomers, 31 Oct 2011
By 
G. Gilpin "Geoff" (Northamptonshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Backyard Astronomer's Guide (Hardcover)
When it arrived, I was surprised at the size and weight of this book. It's published in Canada by Firefly Books but the style and format remind me a bit of Dorling Kindersley. What I like about the book is its hands-on, practical and advisary style. The authors have definite views in terms of equipment and techniques and don't hesitate to give you their opinions (eg Canon DSLR cameras are preferred for astrophotography over Nikon, a view which might not go down too well with everyone). But as I say, it is an extremely good reference book for the newcomer to the hobby of astronomy. Note that there are no star charts so you will need to buy something like the Cambridge Star Atlas in order the find your way around the sky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book for Newbies, 22 Aug 2010
By 
E. McGlynn "E McGlynn" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Backyard Astronomer's Guide (Hardcover)
I rally enjoyed ths book. It contains a lot of up to date information on all aspects of Astronomy, equipment, photography and of course the night sky. If you have a medium to detailed knowledge this book probably is not for you. I would recommend it to a friend though, and have no regrets about buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book., 5 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. R. Matthews "BORDER" (NOTTS. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Backyard Astronomer's Guide (Hardcover)
This is the best astronomy book that I have bought As I novice.I would recommend it to anyone interested in this subject.and I found it most helpful and interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very practical advice, 1 Oct 2013
By 
T. Shepherd (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Backyard Astronomer's Guide (Hardcover)
Great for a complete beginner! You need to get a star guide as well. takes time to read, but well organised sections
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Backyard Astronomers Guide, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Backyard Astronomer's Guide (Hardcover)
This is the only book to buy if you are an enthusiastic amateur or even a more advanced astronomer. The information in it is first rate and will answer most questions that are likely to arise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent starter's guide, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Backyard Astronomer's Guide (Hardcover)
This book takes you through everything you need to know about all aspects of telescope buying before getting into astronomy.

It is well laid out and has many examples of telescopes, accessories and so on. It also lets you know what you can expect to see with the different instruments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zigs, 25 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Backyard Astronomer's Guide (Hardcover)
Bought this as a stocking filler for my partner who's just discovered astronomy. The book is a huge hard backed copy which is amazing for the pictures alone! Great for the beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Backyard Astronomer's Guide
The Backyard Astronomer's Guide by Alan Dyer (Hardcover - 31 Aug 2008)
20.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews