Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 78 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The author's personal collection of family recipes from around the world.
This delightful tome takes the reader on a worldwide journey, experiencing the cuisine of the author's best-loved places.

'Finland still remains a dream; a faraway land where Father Christmas lives and glides here and there with his sleigh, ducking through falling cloudberries and past my mother ice-skating to school.....'

'Falling Cloudberries, A...
Published on 9 Aug. 2006 by A Customer of AMAZON-UK!

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful but not the most exciting
This book is beautiful and the collection of recipes diverse but not necessarily anything new. Cookbook enthusiasts are likely to already have other versions of these recipes and although the family history was endearing, it isn't a book I will be regularly dipping into. Perhaps a good buy for those new to cooking.
Published on 17 April 2012 by Shem


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 78 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The author's personal collection of family recipes from around the world., 9 Aug. 2006
This delightful tome takes the reader on a worldwide journey, experiencing the cuisine of the author's best-loved places.

'Finland still remains a dream; a faraway land where Father Christmas lives and glides here and there with his sleigh, ducking through falling cloudberries and past my mother ice-skating to school.....'

'Falling Cloudberries, A World of Family Recipes' is Tessa's second book, a personal collection of family recipes from around the world.

The exquisite cover opens up to reveal a recipe mix of unusual, exotic tastes and familiar, family favourites.
A family tree introduces Tessa's family members and the book is further enhanced by old family photos. This gives the recipes a sense of place and history as they have been handed down through the generations.

399 thick, high quality matt pages, split over main chapters:

1. Falling Cloudberries (Finland) page 14
2. Oregano, Oranges & Olive Groves (Greece) page 70
3. Cinnamon & Roses (Cyprus) page 144
4. Monkeys' Weddings (South Africa) page 218
5. Washing Lines & Wishing Wells (Italy) page 276
6. Suitcase of Recipes (World) pages 334-385

sandwiched between an introduction entitled 'Food from many Kitchens' and a concise index, concluding with a charming acknowledgment page, entitled 'from Tessa'.
A thin blue satin ribbon keeps your page when you have to put this book down, a book that is arguably 'just a recipe book' but almost demands to be read like a novel, at any time in any place!

The first glimpse of Tessa's unique writing style is captured in her introduction:

'These are the recipes I grew up with; the recipes that have woven their way through the neighbourhoods of my mind, past indifference and into love. Those that have stayed while others might have fluttered away with a gentle spring breeze. These are the ones I choose to share; the ones that special people have taught me and that I have recorded, sometimes over a pot of coffee at my own kitchen table, and sometimes struggling to understand through the barriers of a language on a journey somewhere....
I have always kept my favourite recipes in journals and I hope you will find a place for them among your own tablecloths. Here are the recipes that I love'

and is present throughout at the head of each chapter and within each recipe.

Recipes include:

Fresh Salmon, Dill and Potato Soup
Moussaka
Beef Casserole with Carrots, Onions and Cream
Pork Schnitzels with Sautéed Potatoes
Cranberry Sorbet
Salt Baked Fish with Lemon and Parsley Salad
Lemon & Oregano Chicken
Stuffed Egg-Plants
Spinach Pilaf
Baklava with Nuts & Dried Apricots
Filo Millefeuille with Oranges
Chicken Wings with Blue Cheese Dressing
Barbecued Spare Ribs
Milk Tart
Lemon Crème Brulée
Champagne Risotto
Veal Loin with Mustard, Pancetta & Cabbage
Coffee Granita with Whipped Cream
Couscous Salad
Crème Caramel

'I always long for those lunches that begin anywhere between noon and 5 pm and end only when the owner decides it's time to drag the tables off the beach.................On our way back we are twice blessed - with the haphazard washing lines of octopus silhouettes and a Greek sunset.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful present!, 13 Aug. 2008
By 
Sabine Zimmermann (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I got this book as a christmas present from my sister and brother in law and loved it immediately. It still is one of the most beautiful cookery books I own and I've got about 300 - 400, roughly estimated. But it is not only extremely beautiful, it's also interesting to read (and no, it's not supposed to be a memoir, it says " a world of family recipes" on the front, so it will obviously be mainly about cookery) and the recipes are just great. I'm the queen of cheesecakes at work now, just because of Tessa's marvellous "Ricotta Tart with a Chocolate Crust". The ricotta makes a wonderfully light cake (but if you can't get any just use full fat cream cheese) and the added orange juice and rind give it a fresh moreish taste. People will definitely leave nothing on the plate and ask you for the recipe! Another good thing is that this book offers recipes from quite different parts of the world (due to Tessa's family history): Finland, Greece, Cyprus, South Africa, Italy and some other countries she travelled. Buy it for yourself or as a wonderful present for someone who likes stories and cookery! For me, it's one of the books I'd never part with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fall in love with "Falling Cloudberries"., 18 Jan. 2005
I have loads of cookery books, I'm something of a cookery book addict. I could not resist this one because the photos and overall presentation of the book was mouth-watering. I bought this book just before Christmas and used it all over Christmas. Every recipe I have tried from it has worked beautifully! I made the pineapple upside-down cake for my in-laws and it was fantastic. I have made pineapple cakes in the past but Tessa's recipe includes a caramel sauce that you cook into the cake so that when you turn it upside-down, it makes the cake beautifully moist.
One of my favourite foods is candied yams (sweet potatoes) which I always used to cook in the oven. Tessa's recipe cooks them slowly on the stove top in orange juice which moistens and caramelises at the same time - gorgeous.
Apart from the recipes, what I love about the book is the way the reader is drawn into Tessa's own family history. You are introduced to the members of her family through her family tree and the book is beautifully illustrated with old family photos. This gives the recipes themselves a sense of place and history as the recipes are handed through the family. The author has travelled widely and collected recipes along the way. The food takes the reader on a worldwide journey, experiencing the cuisine of the places she loves.
Tessa says in her introduction, "These are my favourite recipes". They are fast becoming mine, too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Exquisite Find : ), 8 Sept. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have fallen in love with this enchanting book. Just on the basis of a collection of recipes this is still a fantastic book, but this is far more than just a collection of recipes. In Tessa Kiros's Falling Cloudberries she has created an immensely personal journey through different lands and experiences and the resulting eclectic mix of foods and approaches to recipes.

It is an exquisite book both visually (it is of an exceptionally high quality) and through the generosity of Tessa's fascinating biography allowing the recipes she has chosen to really come alive.

I look foward to getting to know this book well. What a treasure and what a treat. You will want to share this book with everyone who is dear to you, as Tessa shares her memories of those who are dear to her.

Thank you Tessa for the wonderful gift that is 'Falling Cloudberries'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!, 9 Oct. 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a gorgeous book packed full with interesting things to try from varoius parts of the world. As the author has mixed parentage and has lived in several places around the world it makes this book an ecletic mix of food. All the recipes are easy to follow and so far I have had great results.
This book is a must if photos inspire you to cook as the photography is brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, 15 Jun. 2010
By 
M. Kirk - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love this cookery book for many reasons, not least of all because it is a very beautiful and charming book from cover to cover.

I enjoyed the fact that Kiros is not just sharing some recipes she has accumulated through researching the cuisines of other countries and blandly presenting them as her own, but that she has lovingly chosen those recipes which have informed her childhood and her present and that show us who she is. This is an autobiography through food and one that gives me a warm sense of nostalgia every time I thumb through its pages deciding what to cook next and where in the world I feel like dining!

If you are a cook book fan, then this one is a must have for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and tasty, 1 Feb. 2007
By 
Gorgeous book - lovely to look at even if you don't intend using it to cook with - if you do, even better. The recipes are simple, you don't need a trolley full of ingredients, very easy to follow and wonderfully tasty rather than simply following the latest food fad. My favourite so far is the vanilla ice cream which beats anything you can get in the shops - and you don't need an ice-cream maker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Floating on a cloud of bliss, 28 Oct. 2004
This book is divine.
I love the intermingling of family history with food and glorious pictures. I love knowing where everything comes from. You will want to read the book from cover to cover as well as making most of the recipes for your friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful mixture of cultures and memories, 2 Nov. 2013
Tessa Kiros, daughter of a Finnish mother and a Greek Cypriot father, recounts the various flavors of her childhood and adult life (Finland, Greece, South Africa, Italy and beyond). Stories are interwoven into the simple yet delicious recipes and sprinkled with vintage family photographs and luminous photos that highlight the character of the faces and places that make these recipes memorable.

Falling Cloudberries opens with a pencil sketch of Tessa's family tree, complete with a Russian great-great-grandmother, her mother's Finnish relatives, and Tessa's Italian husband. The first chapter is dedicated to Finnish comfort foods such as marinated herrings, smoked salmon, Finnish meatballs with lingonberry jam, and cinnamon and cardamom buns. From Greece we have dolmades, baklava, tzatziki, avgolemono, octopus, and numerous lamb and seafood dishes. Cyprus is the most Middle Eastern of the cuisines, featuring airani (a chilled yogurt drink), grilled haloumi, hummus, lachmajou, tabouli, and koupes.

The chapter on South Africa is a mix of culinary influences that feels right at home in the United States: garlic bread, chicken wings with blue cheese dressing, barbecue, and carrot cake. Italy offers a divine champagne risotto, several pastas, and numerous elegant salads. The final chapter, A Suitcase of Recipes, features influences from farther abroad, including Thailand, Peru, and Morocco.

Tessa's style, both in the memoirs and the recipes themselves, is simple yet elegant. The ingredients and steps are clearly laid out, making Falling Cloudberries approachable even for beginning cooks. Most of the Greek and Italian ingredients should be fairly easy to find in any large supermarket (if you're lucky enough to have a Middle Eastern market in your city, you should be able to find rose water, haloumi and semolina (NOT semolina flour, but sameed, the cracked wheat used in basboosah).

There's a beautiful amount of variety in the endless possibility of mix-and-match dinners borrowing from different regions, or you could plan a theme party (a Finnish dinner, or a Greek one). Vegetarians will find numerous tasty recipes for cold salads (such as the chickpea and feta salad), baked dishes, as well as numerous potato preparations (the stuffed vegetables call for ground meat, but you could substitute rice). I loved the light, elegant desserts in particular, from flaky filo recipes for baklava and bougatsa to elegant shortcakes, chocolate truffle cake and creme caramel. This is a beautiful cookbook with a wealth of recipes that will appeal to cooks of all levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thoughtful and Evocative, 4 Jan. 2012
By 
This book is one of my Christmas cookbook haul (a present from a family member, and it has yet to actually be put on the shelf. More than just a collection of recipes (and they are seriously mouthwatering), this book tells you all the family history and stories behind the food, from child to adult, it is wonderful to read and I can't wait to try out as many of the recipes as possible this year (I did get 7 new cookbooks for Christmas, so it is going to be a full year food-wise!)
There is a wide variety, with recipes from Finland, Cyprus, South Africa, Italy etc, so it is sure to have something foreveryone. I have already been begged to make the fried halloumi recipe (Cyprus) by my partner who remembers enjoying something similar in Greece on a holiday. It does seem to be one of those books that really makes you think about the food you ate growing up as well, and I foresee this becoming a much loved (and probably splattered) member of the 'favourites' shelf at home, if it ever makes it onto the bookcase. It is a rare book where someone else's memories can make you nostalgic, and none of the recipes look to be particularly difficult, just delicious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Falling Cloudberries: A World of Family Recipes
Falling Cloudberries: A World of Family Recipes by Tessa Kiros (Hardcover - Jun. 2007)
Used & New from: £17.24
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews