Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, lacking in photos
Good book, worth buying, but dont expect many photos. It is mostly line-drawings an dth info is for the US market
BUt dont let that put you off, this is the best book if you are thining of building your own cabin and are still open to how to build it, and what shape etc as there are lots of choices. I thought I knew what I wanted until I read this and it opened my...
Published on 19 Nov 2005 by G. Stevenson

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite good, but too much recycled content from other Stiles' books
As I already own a copy of Stile's excellent 'Rustic Retreats' 'Rustic Retreats: A Build-it-yourself Guide' I was keen to get a copy of 'Cabins'. However, I was very disappointed with the amount of material that was recycled from 'Rustic Retreats'.

Yes, there was some unique content and if you don't already own any of Stile's other books, then you'll be very...
Published on 1 April 2009 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, lacking in photos, 19 Nov 2005
By 
G. Stevenson (West Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cabins: A Guide to Building Your Own Nature Retreat (Paperback)
Good book, worth buying, but dont expect many photos. It is mostly line-drawings an dth info is for the US market
BUt dont let that put you off, this is the best book if you are thining of building your own cabin and are still open to how to build it, and what shape etc as there are lots of choices. I thought I knew what I wanted until I read this and it opened my eyes to new ideas etc.
Lots of good technical info on things likehow topole build, stick build, log build etc. I designed an dbuilt my own cabin after reading this and am now considering a second!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful guide, 23 May 2006
This review is from: Cabins: A Guide to Building Your Own Nature Retreat (Paperback)
This book not only gives lots of inspiration with pictures of different cabins, but describes loads of different building techniques. It is written very much as a manual of how to build one, with simple step by step instructions. Very clear, easy to follow diagrams. After purchasing this book I bought a couple of other book by David Stiles which speaks for itself. Looking forward to building an authentic log cabin in the back garden using the techniques described in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - convert dreams to reality, 26 Dec 2001
This review is from: Cabins: A Guide to Building Your Own Nature Retreat (Paperback)
This brilliant book is full of sensible and practical advice on designing, building and furnishing your dream countryside cabin, right down to the sanitary arrangements. Lots of beautiful photos and detailed drawings make this an wonderful book, and excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite good, but too much recycled content from other Stiles' books, 1 April 2009
By 
This review is from: Cabins: A Guide to Building Your Own Nature Retreat (Paperback)
As I already own a copy of Stile's excellent 'Rustic Retreats' 'Rustic Retreats: A Build-it-yourself Guide' I was keen to get a copy of 'Cabins'. However, I was very disappointed with the amount of material that was recycled from 'Rustic Retreats'.

Yes, there was some unique content and if you don't already own any of Stile's other books, then you'll be very pleased with this one, but personally I was very disappointed and ended up sending it back to Amazon.

Such a shame as I had high expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hollys retreat ..., 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabins: A Guide to Building Your Own Nature Retreat (Paperback)
It is a good read and exciting with all its illustrations and photos - definitely a good guide for me and what I would like to build on my land in Devon UK ... Still enjoying and using it ! Fantastic stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Planning to build, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabins: A Guide to Building Your Own Nature Retreat (Paperback)
What a great step by step book on how to build your dream hideaway. Planning the exact spot to build in my secret woodland!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great Pictures, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabins: A Guide to Building Your Own Nature Retreat (Paperback)
This might be a good coffee table book but it felt a bit short of usable information. All big picture and lacking in detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. Ms. Keighley "Mart" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cabins: A Guide to Building Your Own Nature Retreat (Paperback)
Not just a coffee table book of nice pictures. Full of good advice and simple drawings. If you really want to build a comfortable, warm beautiful place to relax or work then this is the book for you. It really inspired me and answered many of my questions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cabins, 27 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cabins: A Guide to Building Your Own Nature Retreat (Paperback)
A good all round guide to log cabins, but lacks a little on some of the techniques for full scribe log cabins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cabins: A Guide to Building Your Own Nature Retreat
Cabins: A Guide to Building Your Own Nature Retreat by Jean Stiles (Paperback - 28 Jun 2001)
12.25
Usually dispatched within 2 to 4 weeks
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews