Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful follow up to a superb debut novel.
I had previously read Alex Kava's 'A Perfect Evil' which I thought was a great piece of work for a debut novelist. Her gendre is very much akin to that covered by the like of James Patterson, Jeffrey Deaver etc, and although it is a well-trodden ground, she still brings a refreshing feel to her writing getting very much into the killer's mind. A Perfect Evil hypes up the...
Published on 2 Mar. 2002 by keyser@soze.freeserve.co.uk

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Split Second
I think Alex Kava is a talented author and the 1st novel A Perfect Evil was a good read, but this follow up, oh dear. Thin plot, extremely irritating heroine, characters and references from the previous book artificially inserted into the book for no good reason other than to make this part of a 'series'. Kava is good but her prose needs editing. The soap-opera aspect...
Published on 22 Jun. 2008 by Rich


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a little slow in getting going. Can get a bit tedious in places. Still enjoyed it. Would recommend if reading the whole series, not as a stand alone book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 12 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this and much better than the first, I was on edge at times and found myself checking all doors locked. Found myself warming much more to Maggie and now onto the third.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star rating, 17 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
just like Alex Kava's work. have read most of her books and have enjoyed them all.Looking forward to more soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 3 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Edge of the seat stuff for sure! Couldn't put it down once I started! Looking forward to reading her next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like alex kava books with Maggie 0'dell great story leaves you
wanting more would recommend to anyone who likes crime novels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OOOH!, 27 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gotta love these books, everything you could want from a suspense thriller and more! Need this author to write more and soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good tense thriller., 28 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Second in the series, quite gripping definitely built up the tension. I enjoyed it but did get a bit fed up with how tired several of the characters were, yes they probably do work long hours with a serial killer on the loose but it got a bit tedious in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars split second, 8 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed this book immensely! I like this author and would recommend trying some of the other books which feature maggie o dell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great thriller, 21 May 2007
This review is from: Split Second (MIRA) (Paperback)
I couldn't put this book down, it had me on the edge of my seat. Really good read and I enjoyed it thoroughly except for the regular references to Maggie pushing her hair out of her face. Apart from that it is really well written and an excellent thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars gripping, 13 Mar. 2011
fantastic follow on. is there a next maggie o dell thriller ready? the only thing i find is after such a gripping story the end just seems to happen so quick and sudden. i would still read more though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Split Second (Maggie O'Dell Novels)
Split Second (Maggie O'Dell Novels) by Alex Kava (Mass Market Paperback - 29 Jun. 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews