Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you had to blow the whistle on someone could you?
Would you pick up a stranger?Cathy had no choice,Victor was a hunted man desperate for help.Having her best friend murdered put Cathy in danger,with only three Cathy Weaver's in the phone book ,was she listed and would they find her before she had a chance to help Victor blow the whistle on why their lives were in danger?Would and could she trust this man,this stranger...
Published on 31 Aug 2001 by liz Bentley

versus
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blown out
An early attempt at fiction writing by Ms Gerritsen and it shows. This very short flacid book has been repackaged by the publishers to fool the public into believing it's a new work. The characters are lightweight, flawed and the plot improbable. The typeface has been enlarged to give the book some bulk. You can read it at arm's length - which is about the right...
Published on 8 May 2008 by Ian Bain


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blown out, 8 May 2008
By 
Ian Bain (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Whistleblower (Paperback)
An early attempt at fiction writing by Ms Gerritsen and it shows. This very short flacid book has been repackaged by the publishers to fool the public into believing it's a new work. The characters are lightweight, flawed and the plot improbable. The typeface has been enlarged to give the book some bulk. You can read it at arm's length - which is about the right distance to keep away from this offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars maybe an interesting story - very badly written, 21 May 2008
By 
APE "Emma's Mama" (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Whistleblower (Paperback)
I read one other book by Gerritsen before, which I liked, so looking for a read I picked up this one - what a mistake. I totally agree with the other 1-star rating reviewers (and can't but wonder about the 2 5 star reviews it got). The underlying story may be a good idea (if improbable), but the writing is incredibly bad. If you expect a decent book like those of Kathy reichs or the early Patricia Cornwell (which is what I was hoping for), stay away from this one. The lines in this book are incredibly cheap, and the simplistic love story between two of the main characters take precedence over the actual thriller. After this, I will not buy another Tess Gerritsen book again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If I wanted a romance novel......, 26 May 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whistleblower (Paperback)
I usually love Tess Geritsen's books, which are filled with horror and suspense. The surgeon and the apprentice were mind blowingly great. This one was a great disappointment. If I had wanted a romance novel, albeit a Barbara Cartland esk one at that, I would have ordered one. Where was the suspense that usually characterise her books?

I would now think twice before buying another one of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A note from Tess's publisher, 28 Jun 2007
By 
S. Walker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As the publisher of Tess's more recent thrillers at Transworld, I wanted to advise fans that these are both romantic suspense novels reissued by Mira / Mills & Boon, and were first published in the 1990s. Despite the fact that Mira claims on the covers of their books that they were Sunday Times bestsellers, and uses Harlan Coben's endorsement, these books are not thrillers, and were never intended as such.

The Jane Rizzoli and Maura Isles novels started with The Surgeon,which Transworld published in 2002, The Apprentice, The Sinner, Body Double, Vanish and The Mephisto Club.

If you have any comments / queries, you can talk to Tess directly via her website, [...] or her blog. Or you can see her in person when she tours the UK in Jan 08 with her new book, The Bone Garden.

Selina Walker, Transworld Publishers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Infinite improbability, 30 May 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whistleblower (Paperback)
A very disappointing book if you have enjoyed titles like The Surgeon. Cardboard-cutout characters, lightweight scenarios and every cliched utterance a writer can produce.

A pity, because the theme sounded promising. Frankly, awful - I couldn't struggle through more than half of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Total waste of money, 3 May 2008
By 
S. Cox "szcox" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Whistleblower (Paperback)
I usually enjoy Tess Gerritsen's books but his one was a total waste of time. The characters were rather dull and the plot was so predictable...I felt that I had read several books with very similar (and not very thrilling) plots. In the end I skimmed towards the anticipated ending in order to avoid time wasting. I hope that her next offering is an improvement .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you had to blow the whistle on someone could you?, 31 Aug 2001
This review is from: Whistle Blower (Audio Cassette)
Would you pick up a stranger?Cathy had no choice,Victor was a hunted man desperate for help.Having her best friend murdered put Cathy in danger,with only three Cathy Weaver's in the phone book ,was she listed and would they find her before she had a chance to help Victor blow the whistle on why their lives were in danger?Would and could she trust this man,this stranger with her life?rivetting from beginning to end,will Cathy make it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of My Favourite Suspense Writers, 6 Sep 2007
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Tess Gerritsen left a successful medical practice to bring up her children and concentrate on her writing. She lives in Maine, with her family. There has been some confusion with one or two of her earlier books being re-issued and they seem to be more for the Mills and Boon market (nothing wrong with that), but they are not the type of books that reader's of her current offerings have come to expect from her.

This is one of the books that Tess Gerritsen has become famous for, a suspense thriller. She is definitely up there with the best of them when she writes this type of novel. This particular book was written in 1992, so it is among her earlier writing, but is still well worth reading.

Cathy Weaver has dug a hole for herself and now she is wondering if she can get out of it. As She was driving along a man emerged from the mist, right in front of her car. If that was not a big enough shock the man Victor Holland tells her that he is running away from killers who are closing in on him. His story sounds like the ravings of a mad man, but the frightened look in his eyes and more importantly the bullet hole in his shoulder confirm that he is running away from something.

As each hour brings the pursuers closeer, Cathy begins to wonder if she is giving her trust to a man in danger or trusting her life to a dangerous man? Either way she is in for a rough ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An early Gerritsen - romantic suspense novel, 24 Mar 2012
By 
Avid reader "Janet" (North Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This book is really a Mills and Boon of the 1990's, and seems to follow a predictable and recognisable M&B formula. If you are a Mills and Boon fan, I am sure you will like this book, as it is a well-written example of the genre. However, if you mistakenly expect it to be a post-2000 medical thriller you will be disappointed. It seems to me that the cover of the book maybe misleads the uninitiated as it doesn't suggest the strong romantic element. The romance is wrapped in a clever tale of the illegal development of bio-weapons, but the romantic plot is predictable and despite the misunderstandings and obstacles that seem to be in the way, you really always know (very M&B) how its going to end.

It is worth looking at the Tess Gerritsen website to determine which series of books you are looking for, and then you won't be disappointed.

To be fair, I have given this book a 4 star rating, as I reckon it is a good book of its type, but I will stick to the Rizzoli and Isles series and one-off thrillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very average, 25 April 2008
By 
Andrew Halket "buchanan17" (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Whistleblower (Paperback)
Not that well written, and Gerritsen's style has improved in the intervening years. Very shallow, and full of so many cliches - like the hero and heroine never thinking they'd see each other again about a dozen times in the book. Moves fast, but extremely routine thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad0ac294)

This product

Whistleblower
Whistleblower by Tess Gerritsen (Paperback - 1992)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews