Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars FAN-wait for it-TASTIC!
was expecting a book of locks and holds, but i got so much more. the interviews ane informative and offer an insight into a bygone age.

deffo worth a buy, even if you keep it as a toilet book. definately kept me sat on the bog longer than needed
Published 20 months ago by lee

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting subject but not terribly well written
AS a grappler I'm interested in hearing about the history of this branch of grappling and the book starts off pretty well, giving you a short but interesting general introduction. But the bulk of the book is s series of interviews with some prominent figures. This is where the book is let down IMO. The interviews appear to be written out verbatim. The interviewer's input...
Published 24 months ago by Splossy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting subject but not terribly well written, 1 Jan 2013
This review is from: Say Uncle! (Paperback)
AS a grappler I'm interested in hearing about the history of this branch of grappling and the book starts off pretty well, giving you a short but interesting general introduction. But the bulk of the book is s series of interviews with some prominent figures. This is where the book is let down IMO. The interviews appear to be written out verbatim. The interviewer's input for much of it is often just "yeah" or "right!" which doesn't add anything but takes up page space and reads awkwardly. And the interviewees, because they're not writing this stuff down, don't structure what they say well at times, going off the point, missing the point of the question and using colloquialisms that make little sense. Really I think it needs serious editing or writing in a different way. I'd prefer it if the stories where told as part of a structured narrative or even if the interviews remained but were paraphrased and edited to make them more to the point and more interesting. In contrast, I recently read Big Deal by Anthony Holden which is a book about poker and contains many stories from colourful characters. Holden is pro writer and it shows. He weaves a compelling work out of the disparate material. I wish the same had been done with Say Uncle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FAN-wait for it-TASTIC!, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Say Uncle! (Paperback)
was expecting a book of locks and holds, but i got so much more. the interviews ane informative and offer an insight into a bygone age.

deffo worth a buy, even if you keep it as a toilet book. definately kept me sat on the bog longer than needed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!!, 23 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Say Uncle! (Paperback)
Having read various books on different fighting styles I was desperate to find a book on Catch. I was not dissapointed. From start to finish I was gripped. Every interview had me hooked (no pun intended!) Whether a serious player, or an enthusuiast this book is an absolute must. Say Uncle!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The bible for catch wrestling, 3 Jan 2012
This review is from: Say Uncle! (Paperback)
Having met Jake and Billy at the CACC seminar in Doncaster last year, I was eager to get this book and expand my knowledge of Catch Wrestling. From the first page, "Say Uncle" is an incredible book about a sadly forgotten art!

Jake has written an incredible book full of depth, knowledge and history of catch wrestling - it makes for facinating reading. If you're a BJJ player, wrestler, pro-wrestling fan, grappler - whatever - buy this book!! You won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating book on a Western Martial Art, 31 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Say Uncle! (Paperback)
My grandfather Tommy McCarthy was 'Catch as Catch Can' 9st 7lbs wrestling champion of England before WW1, so I was fascinated to read and understand the combat sport he excelled in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Say Uncle!
Say Uncle! by Jake Shannon (Paperback - 21 July 2011)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews