Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comeau's first proper book is just as good as all his other ones!
Don't read this book if you don't appreciate crazy mixed-up bittersweet humour that doesn't tell you any answers but just leaves you with a wonderful mix of emotions all over the place the moment you put it down. I picked it straight back up again and read it twice more. Basically this is Joey Comeau being as fantastic as usual.
Published on 9 May 2010 by Chiru

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read, but a bit short
My overall impression is that the author manages to create a character through just cover letters, which is an interesting read by itself. But the book is a bit short. I didn't count how many cover letters there were, but the book can easily be finished in a couple of hours. These letters themselves hover between funny, ridiculous and sad and generally leave you with more...
Published on 13 Mar 2010 by D. van Gennip


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comeau's first proper book is just as good as all his other ones!, 9 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Overqualified (Paperback)
Don't read this book if you don't appreciate crazy mixed-up bittersweet humour that doesn't tell you any answers but just leaves you with a wonderful mix of emotions all over the place the moment you put it down. I picked it straight back up again and read it twice more. Basically this is Joey Comeau being as fantastic as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hail to the Job Seeker!, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overqualified (Kindle Edition)
Overqualified is a surprisingly funny, witty and touching collection of job application cover letters written by Joey Comeau himself to various corporations and companies. The letters take unexpected turns when the authors starts sharing life experiences and all sorts of childhood and teenage memories.
The sheers originality of this book is a pure delight. Don't let the format put you off, for Joey Comeau makes the reading of cover letters a pure blast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Startlingly awesome, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overqualified (Paperback)
It took my breath away. It startled me, hooked me, and made me almost cry, and I wanted to know much more. Fantastic concept, really heart breaking, and pulled me into the author's reality immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic and actually moving, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overqualified (Paperback)
I don't know how he does it, but I'm the kind of person who cracked jokes during the end of Titanic and Mr. Comeau can have me smiling and my eyes watering at the same time. Absolutely fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dark and Beautiful, 12 Mar 2011
This review is from: Overqualified (Paperback)
Joey Comeau has a way with words. I've never read a book that's had me nearly crying and then laughing out loud in such rapid succession. There is a sort of honesty to his writing that really hits home for me. It is sad, heartwarming, funny, grim and angry. Simply beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great idea, good execution, but potential remains for more, 6 Sep 2010
By 
S. Thomson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Overqualified (Paperback)
As the other reviewers have stated, this book is rather short. The cover letters, taken on their own, can be quite amusing (though none had me in hysterics) to saddening, and when taken as a whole the emotional range is further exaggerated. However, since the underlying story is only given to you in bits, subtly placed into each letter, I really think that this could have benefited from an increase in length. I felt like Comeau didn't have time to fit everything in, particularly towards the end of the book where the subtlety is lost; the letters seem to be there only to cover the other story and can't stand on their own, which is not in the spirit of the earlier portions of the book.

All in all, though, this is more of a minor complaint. This was an enjoyable, if brief, read. I knock off one star only because I am sure it had the potential to do more. (One more note, fans of a softer world will, I am absolutely sure, enjoy this).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read, but a bit short, 13 Mar 2010
By 
D. van Gennip - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Overqualified (Paperback)
My overall impression is that the author manages to create a character through just cover letters, which is an interesting read by itself. But the book is a bit short. I didn't count how many cover letters there were, but the book can easily be finished in a couple of hours. These letters themselves hover between funny, ridiculous and sad and generally leave you with more questions than answers. I found it an interesting take well executed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Overqualified
Overqualified by Joey Comeau (Paperback - 4 Jun 2009)
9.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews